Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Ingredient overload! Whoops!

Breakfast was a bit confusing for me today.

I wanted something that wasn’t loaded with sugar, or bread, or butter, etc. But was having a hard time finding a recipe that fulfilled my requirements. So I threw a hodgepodge of stuff together into a breakfast bowl and topped it with 2 eggs. While usually not a bad idea, I did not pull this one off too well because I swear I threw everything into this but the kitchen sink. While the picture looks pretty, I’ll ramble off the ingredients afterwards and you’ll be like “How did she POSSIBLY think all those flavours would actually mesh well together?” I wasn’t thinking. The cat woke me up really early today. That’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it!

Breakfast:

Hodgepodge Breakfast Bowl

Bacon
Onion
Cauliflower
Avocado
Shredded Bacon Cheddar
2 Eggs, sunny-side up
Raisins (I know, it actually sounds pretty good so far…and honestly I should have just stopped here…but…)
Apple (Why? It so totally didn’t need this)
Tomato (Already have 3 fruits in this, did I need more?)
Potato (Really? The cauliflower was a perfect low-carb potato substitute. SO did not need this as well!)
Cinnamon and Nutmeg (Would NOT have added these had I not put in apple thinking it would go well with the apple so it would go well with everything else…just…meh…stupid apple really fucked things up here)
Red Pepper Flakes
S&P

Yeah this was….not really all that great. I HATED the apple in this especially. It screwed up everything. I would have just picked it out, but I hate wasting food. I should have thought this one through more. I mean, the good cook is in there somewhere (hence my train of thought with the other unnecessary ingredients I added) but she was not awake this morning. Blah. I will do something amazing for lunch to make up for it! I have to after this disaster! I’m not even marking the ingredients to this in the categories because it’s not worth referencing later.

Lunch:

Chinese Five-Spice Noodles with Broccoli

Taken from: http://www.seriouseats.com/recipes/2009/06/dinner-tonight-five-spice-noodles-with-broccoli-recipe.html

Ingredients

  • 1/2 pound cellophane noodles
  • 2 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoon sesame oil
  • 2 teaspoons chili paste
  • 4 cloves garlic garlic, minced
  • 1 teaspoon fresh ginger, minced
  • 2 teaspoon five-spice powder
  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup onion, chopped
  • 3/4 cup vegetable broth
  • 1 large bunch broccoli, stems removed and chopped
  • 1 cup shredded carrots
  • 1 cup shredded green cabbage
  • 3 scallions, chopped
  • Salt and pepper

Procedures

1

Bring a large pot of water to a boil. Toss in the cellophane noodles and cook for about 30 seconds. Dump the pot into a colander, and rinse the noodles under cold water. Let drain in the colander.

2

Mix together the soy sauce, sesame oil, chili paste, ginger, and five-spice powder in small bowl.

3

Place a large wok or saute pan over high heat. Pour in the oil, and then add the onion. Cook, stirring often until translucent, about 3 minutes. Toss in the garlic and cook for another minute. Then add the broccoli, carrots, cabbage, broth, and finally the soy sauce mixture. Cook for about 5 minutes, or until the broccoli is very tender.

4

Toss in the scallions and cellophane noodles. Stir well, and cook until the noodles are coated in the sauce. Season with salt and pepper to taste.

*So I pretty much knew I couldn’t go wrong with Chinese 5-Spice and went for that for lunch. Good choice! This was really yummy! I made mine with parsnips instead of cabbage because I didn’t have any. I LOVED these parsnips!! I don’t know what it is about this particular batch, but they were ridiculously sweet! This definitely made up for my crappy breakfast. I have to work tonight so I probably won’t have a very impressive dinner. Meh, I’ll make up for the entirety of the day tomorrow morning with something awesome!

Dinner:

I don’t really have a picture or anything. I did a half sandwich and soup thing at work, actually completely by accident. I meant to get a whole sandwich and a soup but the cafe girl assumed I wanted the half-sandwich because that’s what I used to get all the time. So I had this and a banana that I’m sure ended up costing me 50 cents for one freaking banana. Not too happy about that but oh well. Whats done is done! So I came home at like midnight completely ravenous, so I ate the extra strawberry cheesecake breakfast bar things that I had left from the other day. I’m just glad I actually ATE one of those leftover breakfasts! I hate letting things go to waste!

I was admittedly very anxious about eating that dessert. Why? I don’t know. I really don’t. There’s nothing to be anxious about! I was legitimately incredibly hungry and I usually have a bowl of ice cream for dessert every night anyway, why did it matter? Just old feelings coming back to haunt me I guess.

Work was not bad, we had a really great team tonight with awesome people and so it was more than bearable being there all night. I came home to a very drunk husband, which doesn’t surprise me, but I think the way he often drinks alone is a bad sign. He’s not a mean or violent drunk, he’s actually very jovial and happy when he’s drunk. He’s just ANNOYING. Really really annoying. He made me listen to a bunch of annoying new music he downloaded in my absence even though I was really tired and just wanted to go to bed. I also hate driving home from our friends house when he’s drunk because then I have to listen to him ramble on and on and on about shit I don’t care about and don’t want to talk about and don’t want to hear him repeat the same thing over and over about for 45 minutes. I get embarrassed when he’s clearly drank 3 times more than everyone else in the room. He also doesn’t care if he’s the only one in the room drinking/getting drunk at ALL and will continue to embarrass himself even though he thinks he’s being so incredibly funny and charming. I don’t know, maybe I’m hard on him. I’m just….tired. I want him to grow up. Have some sense of responsibility for himself. For his body. For what people think of him.

Now I’m the one rambling. Sorry.

Exercise: 1/2 hour of yoga, 6 hours at retail job

Comments on: "Ingredient overload! Whoops!" (2)

  1. did you add globs of ketchup to your breakfast? that picture, to me, is screaming for ketchup! :p

    • ANOTHER ingredient? Hehe! I know you’re a big advocate of ketchup! I honestly never put it on anything other than hot dogs and hamburgers! I should try giving it more of the love it deserves!

Leave a Reply

