Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

My husband ACTUALLY CALLED and scheduled his bartending classes. I think the threat of working fast food finally got his ass in gear! He starts next Saturday. So he’ll take classes for 6 weeks and then he gets placed in a job! OH GOD finally! Can I wait 6 more weeks??? Well, the thing is he MAY be able to get driving privileges for a class, so I might not have to drag him out there and back for those 6 weeks! THAT would be completely amazing! So I’m willing to give up some of my day to take him out to the courthouse  to see if they’ll be willing. I know, I know, I see the irony too. Asking for driving privelages from his DUI for BARTENDING class…yes, yes…so really come on. Chances are slim. But my GOD will I be ecstatic if they will!

He needs to realize though that he cannot fuck this up. HE CANNOT fuck this up. If he gets fired from where he’s placed from being drunk on the job, I will divorce him. Because he will officially have a massive problem. And I can’t handle that. I can’t handle not knowing if he’ll be able to hold a job because he has a problem that he refuses to admit he probably already has. And I will be discussing this with him thoroughly so he realizes what’s at stake here. I know this sounds harsh…but I’ve given him chance after chance after chance for the past 6 years to turn himself around with his drinking and he has not yet proven to me that he can do it. Instead, I’m forced to drive his ass around for 6 months because he was driving drunk like a complete moron which I’ve told him NOT to do 100 times. And he did it anyway. And he’s paying the price.

He’s going to DUI school this weekend, so I get the WHOLE WEEKEND off…to myself…to do whatever I want. And watch whatever I want. And cook whatever I want. I can use loud appliances because there’s nobody here sleeping until fucking 2 PM to wake up. I’m so excited I can hardly stand it!

Breakfast:

Blueberry, Blackberry and Peach Cobbler

Taken from: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/alton-brown/individual-berry-crisps-recipe/index.html

Ingredients

  • 12 ounces frozen berries (blueberries or raspberries)
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 2 teaspoons cornstarch
  • 1/2 cup plus 2 cups crisp topping, recipe follows

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Place the frozen berries, sugar, cornstarch and 1/2 cup of the crisp topping into a medium mixing bowl and stir to combine. Divide the mixture evenly between 4 (7 to 8-ounce) ramekins. Top each ramekin with 1/2 cup of the remaining crisp topping. Place the ramekins on a sheet pan and bake on the middle rack of the oven for 30 to 35 minutes or until the fruit is bubbling and the topping is browned. Allow the crisps to cool for 15 minutes before serving.

Crisp Topping:

5 ounces all-purpose flour, approximately 1 cup

2/3 cup sugar

1 1/2 cups chopped nuts such as; walnuts, pecans, or almonds

1 1/2 cups crushed crackers, gingersnaps or cereal

4 ounces unsalted butter, cubed and chilled

Place the flour, sugar, nuts and crackers into a large mixing bowl and combine. Work the butter into the dry ingredients with your hands until it is crumbly. Store in the refrigerator for up to a week. Use as topping for crisps, cobblers or grunts.

Yield: 4 1/2 cups

*I made a half recipe of this and it was a MASSIVE amount of cobbler!! Did I eat it all? Fuck yes. It’s not realistic for me to keep leftovers and I was plenty hungry this morning! It’s not like I kept eating when I was no longer hungry. And really, I’m not even all that full. I mean I am, but it was the PERFECT amount!! It was crunchy and sweet and tangy and amazing! VERY yum! Totally makes up for the sub-par breakfast I had yesterday! Now I just have to work out like crazy tonight hehe! ~_^

Lunch:

Tomato, Avocado and Cheese Sandwich with Caramelized Onions and Mushrooms

I cut the bread in half and put 2 slices of American cheese and some shredded cheese onto the top half and a little butter onto the bottom half and baked them for about 10 mins at 350. During this time, I threw the onions and mushrooms in a pan with a little oil, butter, salt and a pinch of sugar and let that caramelize. While I waited for THAT I sliced some tomato and avocado and made a little french dressing/lemon juice mayo to drizzle on top. I don’t know how, but it wasn’t too much! It was REALLY good! Very filling, good for me, and perfect for a light lunch before hitting the gym!  I’ve been enjoying doing meat-free meals for lunch lately! It just feels right to do in-between a sugar-heavy breakfast and meat-heavy dinner.

Dinner:

Blackberry Chicken

I’ve used this recipe before. Blackberries were on sale so I decided I wanted this dish again! Here’s the recipe! The only difference here is that I used couscous instead of rice this time!

Night one was a huge success! I watched the second episode from season 2 of Sherlock (which was BRILLIANT!) and even figured out how to hook the TV up to my laptop! YESSSSSS! And I STILL got my working out in tonight! Awesome!! In the middle of Sherlock though I had a cookie craving!! So I made white chocolate cherry walnut cookies! I didn’t get a picture because I’m still working on making cookies look as good as they taste hehe. They’re HARD! Cookies are honestly the hardest thing to get JUST right! Everything else I have no problems with! Ah well! Next time.

Exercise: 1/2 hour of yoga, 1.5 hours at the gym

Leave a Reply

