Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

I had to wake up a little earlier this morning since I am taking a good friend to get his wisdom teeth removed. His dad had to bail on him for some reason or another and so he last-minute begged me to help him out. Of course! Also, people coming out of anesthesia are HILARIOUS! Was NOT missing that for the world! So I took him and it WAS hilarious. Loved it!!! We spent a little time afterwards watching some Doctor Who and going through all his instructions to make sure he knew what to do for the next few days. It was a good time!

Breakfast:

Blueberry Scones with Melted Peaches

Anna Williams

By: Melissa Clark
From: Dessert Recipes

Ingredients:

  • 2 pounds frozen sliced peaches or 2 1/2 pounds fresh peaches, peeled and sliced
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 3 tablespoons instant pearl tapioca (I used lemon pudding mix)
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon lemon juice
  • 1 2/3 cups flour
  • 3 1/2 tablespoons plus 2 teaspoons granulated sugar
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 6 tablespoons butter, chilled and cut into pieces
  • 1 1/2 cups blueberries
  • 1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons heavy cream

Fast times
Skip the peaches and bake the scones at 350° for about 20 minutes.

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350°. Grease a 9-by-13-inch baking dish. In a large bowl, combine the peaches, brown sugar, tapioca, cinnamon and lemon juice. Let rest; toss occasionally.
  2. In another large bowl, whisk together the flour, 3 1/2 tablespoons granulated sugar, baking powder and salt. Using your fingers, blend in the butter until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Stir in the blueberries, then 1/2 cup cream; combine until the dough just comes together. Turn out onto a floured work surface and pat into a 1-inch-thick round. Cut into 8 wedges.
  3. Pour the peach mixture into the baking dish. Arrange the wedges on top; brush with the remaining 2 tablespoons cream and sprinkle with the remaining 2 teaspoons granulated sugar. Bake until the scones are golden, about 1 hour. Let cool for 10 minutes before serving.

*This was awesome!!! A great way to use all sorts of random ingredients! AND it was like 2 breakfasts in one, scones and cobbler! Hehe! It was also super pretty!

Lunch:

Sausage Mushroom Havarti sauce on Angel Hair

OK this turned out far better than the pasta sauce I made the other day, probably because I actually used a melting cheese this time! I’m sure that makes a difference. ^_^

4 oz ground Sausage
1/2 cup Mushrooms, sliced
1 T Olive Oil
1/4 cup Onion, chopped
1 clove Garlic, minced
Fresh Thyme
2/3 cup Chicken Broth
1/3 cup Cream
1/2 small Tomato, chopped
1 T Sundried Tomato Pesto sauce
1/4 cup grated Parmesan
1/2 cup grated Havarti cheese
S&P to taste (though there’s plenty of cheese, so you really don’t need more salt…but…hehe)

Cook sausage until its no longer pink. Remove meat to a bowl and set aside. Drain fat. Wipe out pan and add some olive oil. Sautee the onions and garlic for a couple minutes. Add mushrooms and saute another minute or so. Add tomato, liquids and spices until sauce starts boiling. Allow to cook down and thicken for a bit. Add cheeses and melt them in. If for some reason the sauce doesn’t thicken with the cheese the way you like it, feel free to add a little flour to thicken it up. Or thin it out more with some cream or chicken broth.

*This was WONDERFUL! SOOO much better than the sauce I made the other day! WOO! I ate a massive bowl of this! I went to go work out immediately afterwards! Haha! This was great for, well…what I would call a quick lunch. I’m weird though!

Dinner:

WHOOPS!!!

I forgot to take a picture of my dinner. :< Which really, I think I know why. I screwed it up REALLY bad! I have a favorite Curry Peach-Yogurt Chicken dinner that U absolutely love. I wanted to try it with greek yogurt this time, so I bought 2 different brands so I’d have some options. I tried one of them and it tasted ok to me! The recipe calls to add a little cornstarch to the yogurt to help thicken the sauce. Well……little did I realize but I accidentally used baking soda instead of cornstarch. I OF COURSE didn’t realize this until I added the yogurt to the pan. It completely changed the taste and consistency of the dish. It was not good. Uhg….so maybe since I knew it would suck I didn’t bother taking a picture? I don’t know. But it doesn’t matter because it was pretty much awful. But I hate wasting food so I ate it anyway. *sigh*

The GOOD parts of the evening:

I watched the last episode of Sherlock. I cried no less than 5 times. And I mean BALLED my eyes out. It was SO GOOD! I’m just on the edge of my goddamn seat for next season! DAMN YOU and your 3-episode series Moffat and Gatiss! DAMN YOOOOU! I may try being in London for next season’s shooting though, that would kick some major ass.

I watched a few more episodes of Who, VERY much looking forward to watching more today! I’m just adoring Matt Smith, though I knew I would. He’s just such a cutie cute cute! (I think I’ve described him as that a couple times now, but it just really does apply!)

I made cuppycakes for myself!!!! Pistachio Cardamom cupcakes with White Chocolate Cardamom frosting and crushed pistachios on top! I made 11 and I ate them all while going crazy over Who. ^_^ It was a great treat! They were SOOOOOOOOOOO good! Amazingly good!!!!!!!! I may change the recipe just a little next time to help fluffen them up a bit. Maybe use cake flour and half butter/half oil. Otherwise, they were SO fucking yummy! I HAD to take a picture because these could no go unseen:

HAD to show these off!!!!!! I might post a recipe after I perfect it for you.

Tomorrow night: Butterscotch cookies of some sort! Hehe. And more Who!!! Life. Rocks.

Exercise: 1/2 hour of yoga, 1.5 hours at the gym (Hey, if I’m gonna be eating this badly all weekend, I’m DEFINITELY still hitting the gym every day!)

Leave a Reply

