Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Last morning to myself :(

I know, it really sounds like I totally hate my husband or something. I don’t! I really don’t! I just really really really like being alone and having time to myself to do whatever I want. I don’t EVER get that anymore.

Anyway, I gotta pick him up (of course….) in half an hour, so I’m going to try to make this fast!

Breakfast:

Sausage, Bacon, Egg and Cheese Biscuit

For the biscuit:

Ingredients

  • 1/3 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon white sugar
  • 2-3/4 teaspoons shortening
  • 2 tablespoons and 2 teaspoons milk

I was ill this morning. I had a terrible headache and slept in till about 8:30 (which for me is very late). So this was all that I wanted. Nothing sweet, I was more in a savory mood. This biscuit recipe was ok…I liked the cheddar biscuits I made before better. But I think that I should have used buttermilk instead of regular milk and probably butter instead of shortening. Maybe next time!

Lunch:

Tuna Pasta Salad

Taken from: http://blog.easygourmetdinners.com/2009/07/creamy-tuna-salad-the-facts-about-my-nutrition-facts.html

255gr (9oz) tuna, packed in water, drained
2 hard cooked eggs, chopped  (130gr, 4.6oz)
100gr (3.5oz)  wholewheat pasta (a generous 1 cup)
2 tbs snipped chives
45gr (1.6oz)  firm goat cheese, crumbled (about 1/3 cup)
1 large, ripe tomato, cut into chunks (250gr, 8.8oz)

Mustard Yogurt Dressing

Cook pasta according to package directions.

Mix all ingredients for salad (except dressing) in a large bowl.  When the pasta is done, drain, rinse lightly in cool water.  Add to bowl.  Add as much of the dressing as suits your taste; Stir and eat. The Nutrition Facts include all of the dressing.

Mustard Yogurt Dressing

1/2 cup Greek Yogurt
2 tbs whole grain mustard
1 tbs white balsamic vinegar
1 tbs good olive oil
1 tbs snipped chives
1 tbs snipped basil

Whisk all ingredients together.  It will be quite thick.

This makes about 3/4 cup dressing and keeps 4 – 5 days.  I use it on pasta, rice, barley salads as well as lettuce and spinach… And as a dip for veggies.

*This felt much healthier and lighter than using mayo or butter or something. My tummy needed something healthy after this crazy weekend! I did completely forget to add the hard-boiled egg and yet it was still totally delicious! I added peas which it did not call for…maybe that made up for the lack of egg! Hehe!

Dinner:

Butter Chicken in a Silky Sauce

Taken from: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/butter-chicken-in-a-silky-sauce/#axzz1ktEAymH5

Ingredients:

  • 4 pounds chicken thighs, chopped into 1-inch cubes
  • 6 garlic cloves, crushed
  • 2 teaspoons garam masala
  • 3 teaspoons ground coriander
  • 3 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon chilli powder
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • 3/4 cup Greek-style (thick) yogurt
  • 7 tablespoons butter, chopped1 tablespoon white vinegar
  • 3 tablespoons tomato paste
  • 4 large tomatoes, peeled and chopped
  • 6 cardamom pods (crush pods slightly to release seeds and more flavor)(I just used ground Cardamom since I didn’t have any pods)
  • 1 cinnamon stick
  • 1 1/2 cup cream or coconut milk
  • 1/2 cup fresh coriander, coarsely chopped
  • ADDED: Pineapple and Peas

Instructions:

Combine chicken, garlic, spices and yogurt in a covered container. Refrigerate for an hour or two.

 

Melt butter in a deep pan. Add vinegar, tomato paste, tomatoes, cardamom and cinnamon. Boil rapidly, stirring until sauce is thick (approximately 20 minutes).

Reduce heat to a simmer and add chicken. Continue to simmer, stirring occasionally until chicken is cooked through. Add cream or coconut milk, simmer a few minutes more, and garnish with chopped cilantro.

*DELICIOUS! Creamy, buttery and full of spices! I added pineapple and peas to this as well simply because it sounded good. And I was very right. ^_^ Simply indulgent! These are the sorts of dishes I shouldn’t be eating…but I do anyway. Because it makes me happy!

 

Tomorrow is Meatless Monday! I’ve got tofu ready and waiting for it! I’m very much looking forward to learning how to fry it properly.

You know what? I’ve gained weight. I’ve gained a fair amount of weight. I mean, not a shitton or anything. A healthy amount. I still don’t know exactly how much. But my clothes fit just a tiny bit tighter. Not a lot. But enough that its noticeable. My thighs touch again. Ever so slightly.

And its ok.

The ONLY POSSIBLY WAY for me to maintain a weight that low would have been to keep to 1,300 calories a day for the rest of my life. I just couldn’t do it. I didn’t want to do it. I never wanted that.

It wasn’t a desire, it was an obsession. I’m so grateful to be free from it.

Exercise: 20 mins of yoga (I had a TERRIBLE headache this morning and couldn’t do any more than that…) 1/2 hour on the stair-stepper

Comments on: "Last morning to myself :(" (3)

  1. my mouth has literally dropped to the table after having viewed your photographs of food! your path away from the eating disorder is so interesting to me! definitely something that holds my interest. can’t wait to see the images of your fried tofu! happy meatless monday! ❤

    • I know right? I’ve gone and completely thrown it out the window! Well I’ve tried to anyway…and cooking just makes me SO happy! I’m really hoping that as long as I stay active and work out in some way every day that I’ll be able to maintain a healthy weight even though sometimes I take in a few more calories than I should. I just got so tired…so tired of counting every single little calorie that went into my mouth…so tired of not allowing myself to enjoy the things that I really love…so tired of ignoring my friends and family because I would be afraid that they would want to offer me something to eat or go out for a beer and I would be forced to refuse every single time because I couldn’t function on spontaneity when it came to food. So tired of the insane amount of anxiety over eating out or going to the grocery store and seeing all these foods that I “wasn’t allowed” to eat and having to pass them all up every single time. The anxiety level increased even more when I would go to work and there would be cookies or a cake on the breakroom table and I would have to sit in there during my lunch and tell myself over and over and over in my head that I can’t have any cake, I’ll get fat, I’ll ruin my diet, if I start on one piece I won’t be able to stop there so I just shouldn’t have any at all, etc, etc, etc for the entire half hour. Tired of going through SEVERE depression due to my restrictions and anxieties, not wanting to leave my room and being so cold due to the lack of fat on my body that I would have a wear a sweater in the summer. So. Tired.

      So the kick in the ass that I needed to stop couldn’t have come soon enough.

      I’m very thankful for tough love.

      • in a way, i was given tough love, too, so i understand completely. tough love from gwendolyn. i haven’t written about it in detail yet, but i hurt her during the last binge and purge. so never again. never ever again. so grateful for you, misspistachio!

Leave a Reply

