Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

I’m a computer genius

That’s right! I dropped my computer the other night (because I’m the clumsiest person I know) and noticed that the lid wasn’t closing as tightly as it used to. I took a look and noticed the back of the screen had popped out a little from its frame. I was able to snap it back into place with a butterknife and some patience. Even though I DID buy the accidental warranty, I didn’t see any reason not to try to fix it myself if I could. I’m glad I’m not afraid of fucking around with things and taking them apart and putting them back together. I don’t want to end up like my mother-in-law who calls her son to come over and change a lightbulb. Seriously? Yes, seriously. She does this. Often. Who wants to rely on other people to fix shit for them for the rest of their lives?

This could also be why I didn’t go to a real therapist to fix my ED. I feel like if I can’t rely on myself, the who fuck else can I rely on? I have to trust myself. I have to make a decision and stick to it. I just have to DO it. And its not easy, but “not easy” never ever ever means “impossible”. Remember that.

Breakfast:

Blueberry Cream Cheese Muffins

Taken from: http://www.healthyfoodforliving.com/?p=20618

adapted from Shape magazine’s Better Blueberry Muffins

NOTE: These are muffins… not cupcakes! I honestly view most bakery muffins as cupcakes sans frosting. These are plenty sweet for my taste preference, but if you prefer a sweeter muffin, you might want to increase the evaporated cane juice to 1/2 cup.

yield: 12 muffins

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/3 cup evaporated cane juice, or other unrefined granulated sugar (or 1/2 cup for sweeter muffins, see NOTE above)
  • 1/2 cup old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3/4 cup + 2 Tbsp low-fat buttermilk, well shaken
  • 1 large egg, preferably organic
  • 2 Tbsp canola oil
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1 pint fresh blueberries, preferably organic, washed and dried
  • 1/4 cup neufchatel (1/3-less-fat cream cheese), at room temperature
  • 1 Tbsp pure maple syrup
  • 1 Tbsp turbinado sugar

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375°F. Grease a 12 cup muffin tin, or line with muffin cups.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, evaporated cane juice, rolled oats, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.
  3. In a medium bowl, whisk together the buttermilk, egg, oil, and vanilla extract.
  4. Toss the blueberries with the flour mixture. Add the wet ingredients into the dry and stir just until incorporated.
  5. In a small bowl, stir together the neufchatel and maple syrup.
  6. Divide the batter evenly amongst the prepared muffin cups. Make a small well in the center of each batter-filled muffin cup. Fill each well with 1 tsp of the sweetened neufchatel. Sprinkle each filled cup with a bit of the turbinado sugar.
  7. Bake until a toothpick inserted into the center of a muffin comes out clean (cream cheese sticking to the toothpick is fine, but no raw batter), about 15 minutes. Cool in pan for 5 minutes; transfer muffins to a wire rack to cool completely.

*I made a 1/3 recipe of this, so 4 muffins. I should have realized these wouldn’t be particularly sweet with the description. Not that I need everything packed full of sugar, so that’s fine! I also don’t have any turbinado sugar, so I’m sure it would have been a bit sweeter with it. I would have liked the texture too. I baked mine at 350 for 15 mins because I KNOW my oven and for once these did not come out overcooked! YAY! For someone who doesn’t like overly-sweet muffins, these would be perfect.
Next time I think I’d like to use this recipe: http://www.mrsregueiro.com/2010/10/blueberry-oatmeal-muffins-with-cream.html

Lunch:

Quick Stir Fry

We had a lot of errands to run today so I tried to make something that was just fast and easy. Nothing that was going to take half an hour to bake. All I really did here was grabbed some olive oil and sauteed some sliced onions and minced garlic. Then I added carrots, broccoli, mushrooms and red pepper. I threw in some rice vinegar, soy sauce, lemongrass ginger sauce, crushed red pepper, and S&P to taste. I put it all on a bed of sticky rice. YUM! And look me about half an hour to make and devour! (My meals tend to take around an hour to make, so for me this is really quick!)

Dinner:

AHHHHH don’t kill me! (Especially nicoleandgwendolyn!) I FORGOT to take a picture YET AGAIN of my meal!!! It’s so sad because it was so delicious and I was REALLY proud of how this one turned out! I can at least post the recipe of what I had!

Fried Tofu and Potatoes with Thai Peanut Sauce

Sauce:

Ingredients:
1 tablespoon peanut oil
1 tablespoon panang curry paste or red curry paste
1/4 cup coconut milk (I was out so I literally grinded some shredded coconut into flour and mixed it with cream, this actually worked REALLY WELL!!!!)
1/4 cup chicken stock (I used water since I’m trying to be meatless today!)
3 tablespoons fish sauce
2 tablespoons lime juice
2 tablespoons brown sugar
1 tablespoon chili sauce (or 1 birds eye chili, sliced)
2 tablespoons peanut butter
1 teaspoon sesame oil
2 tablespoons peanuts (roasted and crushed)

Directions:
1. Heat the oil in a pan.
2. Add the panang curry and saute until fragrant.
2. Add everything else and simmer to thicken it a bit, about 2-3 minutes.

I fried the tofu and potatoes in olive oil for a while, until they looked cooked cuz I dunno, I’ve never fried potatoes before! Hehe. So I overcooked the tofu a bit because of that but its ok! I’ll know better for next time! Tofu is really an art, its NOT easy to work with, but when you get it just right it is HEAVEN! I added the onions and allowed those to cook for a little while. I drained all of that on a paper towel, wiped out the saucepan, and tossed in all the sauce ingredients that I had mixed in another bowl. I followed the directions and let that cook until thick. Then put everything on a bed of rice.

*This was by far the BEST peanut sauce recipe that I’ve tried yet. I was incredibly impressed! I need to buy certain ingredients to make it more authentic, but for an easy peanut sauce I was pretty blown away by this one! And I made a ton of it! YES!

 

Sorry again for forgetting twice this past week to take pictures! I feel awful about it! I must have been really hungry or something for me to have not thought about it. Also, I adore peanut sauce, so it could have been my anticipation for trying a new sauce recipe that lead me to forget! I ALMOST got a project completely done today, I will definitely have it done by tomorrow and sent by Wednesday!

Comments on: "I’m a computer genius" (3)

  1. i absolutely adore that you swear like lauren bacall in your posts!
    so real!
    and i fucking LOVE the image of your breakfast. the plump blueberries, hot from the oven, would be so mouth wateringly scrumptious!

    • YES! I LOVE that you used Lauren Bacall in your reference!! You are so seriously awesome and I feel as though you know me well. ~_^
      They were soooooo pretty! I love it when I have pretty food! OMG you’re so going to kill me but I COMPLETELY FORGOT (again!!!! second time this past week!!!) to take pictures of my dinner! I totally did fried tofu and potatoes and it looked gorgeous and FORGOT! :< SO SAD! I swear next time I will remember! I overfried my tofu a little bit anyway hehe…so I will somehow figure out how to make it perfect next time! PROMISE!!! Got any tips for me darlin?

Leave a Reply

