Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Springtime in January

The high today is nearly 60! Considering what a harsh and very difficult winter I had last year, I think this year mother nature is apologizing by giving us this incredible weather! The time I would normally use to go to the gym I will be using instead to go on a walk in the park with my husband today! (I do have a lot of work to do, so I have to choose either one or the other. I will ALWAYS pick being outside over being indoors if I can!) I will be certain to let you know if I get all my projects done for the day!

Breakfast/Lunch:

Banana Bread with Crumble Streusel Topping

Taken from: http://www.browneyedbaker.com/2009/07/09/bananas-foster-banana-bread/

Yield: 1 loaf

For the Bread:
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
½ teaspoon baking powder
1 cup granulated sugar
½ cup vegetable oil
2 eggs
3 medium bananas, mashed
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
3 tablespoons milk

For the Streusel Topping:
1½ cups chopped walnuts
1/3 cup all-purpose flour
¼ cup dark brown sugar
½ teaspoon ground cinnamon
4 tablespoons butter

1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Grease a 9×5-inch loaf pan.

2. Combine ingredients for streusel topping in a medium bowl and combine with fingers to create a crumbly topping with the butter evenly distributed. Set aside.

3. Whisk the flour, baking soda, and baking powder in a small bowl to combine. Set aside.

4. On medium speed, beat the sugar and vegetable oil to combine. Add the eggs, one at a time, beating after each until combined. Add the mashed bananas and vanilla extract; beat to combine. Alternatively add the flour mixture and milk, beginning and ending with the flour. Beat just until the flour is incorporated and finish mixing with a spatula.

5. Spread batter into the prepared loaf pan. Sprinkle the streusel topping evenly over the batter. Bake until a thin knife inserted in the center comes out almost clean, about 60 minutes.

*This recipe does have a “fosters” rum glaze that I couldn’t make because I don’t have any rum right now. Alcohol in general doesn’t last particularly long in this house due to my husband. But someday I would definitely like to try it!!! I did alter this slightly because well, I’d never made banana bread before so I wasn’t sure how it should be made. I did half butter half oil instead of all the oil for what I hoped would be a better taste. While it did taste great, it didn’t have that moistness that I like in my banana bread (I’m sure the fosters glaze would help with that too!) so next time I will follow the recipe exactly and see how it turns out! Or maybe I’ll try another one all together, we’ll see!

Also, I had half of this for breakfast, shared a slice with my husband, then had the other half for lunch along with half of a banana left over from making the bread. I finished my previous project, started another, then went to the park with my sweetie! What a wonderful day and gorgeous walk! GREAT day!!!!

Dinner:

Mango Chicken Curry

Taken from: http://www.theweedblog.com/how-to-make-mango-chicken-curry-with-cannabis/

YES I took this from a “cooking-with-marijuana” website. NO I did not add weed! (THOOOOUGH…I do want to add that I can see how it would taste good with weed as an herb/flavouring. No joke.)

Ingredients:

2 grams kief or finely ground dry hash (Did not use, but once again, could be REALLY yummy!)

3/4 cup whole milk plain yogurt
2 tablespoons canola or vegetable oil

1 1/2 teaspoon fenugreek seeds (Don’t have, so I omitted this…)
2 tablespoons grated ginger
1 serrano chile, cored, seeded and finely minced, (to taste)
2 medium onions, diced

3 tablespoons minced garlic
1 tablespoon ground cumin
1 tablespoon ground coriander
2 teaspoons ground turmeric
1 teaspoon ground cardamom
3/4 teaspoon Spanish smoked paprika
2 teaspoons salt

1 teaspoon pepper
4 pounds boneless skinless chicken breasts, cut into small cubes

2 cups diced peeled mangoes (2 large mangoes)

Added:

Cauliflower
Dash of Apple Cider Vinegar
Dash of Soy Sauce

Steamed rice for serving

 

Sprinkle kief or finely ground dry hash into yogurt and stir until well blended. Set aside. Heat a large nonstick skillet or wok over medium heat. Add oil, fenugreek seeds, ginger and chile and cook, stirring, for about two minutes. Increase heat to medium-high and add onions and garlic and cook until starting to brown, about four minutes. Add cumin, coriander, turmeric, cardamom, paprika, salt and pepper and cook for about 15 seconds. Add the chicken and cook, stirring occasionally, until almost done, about eight minutes. Stir in yogurt/cannabis mixture and cook for another two minutes. Stir in diced mangoes and cook for another 30 seconds. Serve over steamed rice.

*I have a tried and true mango chicken recipe. But you know me, I have to try something different as often as possible! This recipe was just as good, if not even better, than my tried and true one! The biggest indicator of an amazing meal is how many times I say “Mmmmm!” while eating it, and this was one dish that had me saying that every other bite! Thank *insert higher power here* for clearance mangoes!!!

 

I GOT EVERYTHING FINISHED! YESSSSS! I finished my first project, and a second one BEFORE DINNER! Alright!!! I love it when I get off my ass and WORK! I still got a couple workouts in too! I went to the park AND did some stair stepping after dinner! What an awesome, productive, gorgeous day!

I accidentally fucked up my birth control in December. I ran out after the first week of my cycle…oops…so I reordered more, had an “extra’ period (only 1 week after my real period ended) and I’m sitting here waiting for my next period before I start taking my pills again. Well, this is the first month in my entire post-puberty life that I didn’t have a period at all. This sucks. I’ve felt bloated and heavy for a month now. I need to get my birth control back on track to balance my body back out again. I’m certain once I get all that fixed, I will stop being all bloaty and I’ll feel a little better about how I look.

When I finally get a period I’ll have a little celebration on here. Maybe I’ll even do an all-red-foods day! HAHA! Actually I totally like that idea, I made myself laugh. Maybe as a treat I’ll even do like a red velvet cupcake! What do you think?

Exercise: 1/2 hour of yoga, 1/2 hour on the stair stepper, 1/2 hour walking through the park

Leave a Reply

