Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

That’s probably bad.

But I just LOVE baked goods!

I’ll probably take it as some sort of hint that I need to slow down on the flour-packed meals. I LOVE baking and most of the time I do try to use at least half whole wheat flour so I feel like I’m eating healthier, but I KNOW that flour is generally not something I should be consuming a ton of every day. I must admit, I end up having like, half a cup of it (at LEAST) every day. On top of all the sugar I pack into these as well, I’m gonna end up gaining more weight than I want. Which really, whatever, its not like I don’t know how to lose weight. If I have to lose some again, I can lose it. Though I am scared of going back into ED mode…I’m hoping I have a better, more positive attitude toward my weight and body now and it won’t turn into a problem.

Speaking off too much flour…hehe…

Breakfast:

Mango-Blueberry Upside Down Shortcakes

Ingredients (makes 1 dozen)

Fruit
1 mango, peeled, seeded and cubed
1 cup of fresh blueberries (I am sure frozen would work too)
1/2 cup sugar

Dry
2 cups all purpose flour
1/2 cup sugar (I used half granulated sugar, half brown sugar…and used maybe 50% more than was called for…I love sugar)
1 tsp arrowroot (I used cornstarch)
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt

Wet
6 oz non dairy yogurt (I used Honey Greek Yogurt)
4 oz applesauce
1/4 cup non dairy milk (I used 2% milk)
1/4 cup oil
2 tsp vanilla

Directions
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. If you have a really good non-stick muffin pan, use it. I don’t like to use paper cups for these, but you can if you want to. In a bowl, mix the fruit and sugar. Set aside. In a seperate bowl, sift together the dry ingredients. Mix together the wet, seperately and mix into the dry. Divide the fruit into all twelve cups.

Spoon the batter atop the fruit.

Bake for about 20 minutes. Remove from oven and allow to cool for a few minutes. Invert onto another cookie sheet, and allow the shortcakes to naturally fall out of the pan. (20 minutes was perfect, even with my weird oven!)

Top with a simple icing of powdered sugar and soymilk, if desired.

*IT WORKED IT WORKED IT WORKED!!! YAY! My first upside-down muffins that fell out of the pan perfectly without any redistribution of the filling on the bottom! They looked GORGEOUS! I was SO excited! They tasted even MORE amazing! Sure I upped the sugar and used honey yogurt and stuff for all that extra sweetness…but not everyone requires stuff as sweet as I do hehehehe! LOOOOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE!

Lunch:

Pear-Pecan Sausage Quiche Recipe

Taken from: http://www.tasteofhome.com/Recipes/Pear-Pecan-Sausage-Quiche

Ingredients

  • 1 sheet refrigerated pie pastry (I had dough left over from the pot pie I made the other day)
  • 1/2 pound bulk hot Italian sausage
  • 1/3 cup chopped sweet onion
  • 1 medium pear, sliced
  • 1/3 cup chopped pecans
  • 4 eggs
  • 1-1/2 cups half-and-half cream
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1 cup (4 ounces) shredded cheddar cheese
  • 8 pecan halves

Directions

  • Line a 9-in. pie plate with pastry. Trim pastry to 1/2 in. beyond edge of pie plate; flute edges.
  • In a large skillet, cook sausage and onion over medium heat for 4-5 minutes or until meat is no longer pink; drain. Arrange pear slices in crust; top with sausage. Sprinkle with pecans. In a large bowl, whisk the eggs, cream, salt, thyme and nutmeg. Stir in cheese. Pour over sausage.
  • Bake at 350° for 35-40 minutes or until a knife inserted near the center comes out clean and crust is golden brown. Cover edges with foil during the last 15 minutes to prevent overbrowning if necessary. Garnish with pecan halves. Let stand for 5 minutes before slicing. Yield: 8 servings.

*I was actually surprised this recipe didn’t call to pre-bake the crust, but it didn’t! So I didn’t. And it was good! REALLY good! I only ate about half of this and saved the other half for my dinner at work tomorrow because I’m out of money and can’t really afford to buy a sandwich there. But WOW. I was really surprised at how good this actually was! I don’t know why as all the ingredients are something that I love, but the combo was REALLY good!

Dinner:

Smoky Tomato-Bacon Pasta

Taken from: http://dishingitup-columbus.blogspot.com/2010/05/smoky-tomato-bacon-pasta.html

from: The Deen Family Cookbook and “Taste and Tell”

Serves 4 to 6

1/2 pound bacon (about 10 slices)
1 large yellow onion
One 28-ounce can diced tomatoes, drained
salt and pepper
4 ounces cream cheese, cut into pieces
1 pound uncooked pasta

In a large skillet, cook the bacon until crisp and brown. Transfer it to a paper towel lined plate. Pour off all but 1/4 cup fat from skillet.

Add the onion and cook over medium heat, stirring occasionally, until softened, 5 to 7 minutes. Stir in the diced tomatoes, and then crumble in the bacon. Season with salt and pepper; simmer, stirring occasionally, until thick and chunky, about 10 minutes. Stir in the cream cheese until melted.

Meanwhile, in a large pot of boiling salted water, cook the pasta according to the package directions. Drain and transfer to a large bowl. Toss with the sauce and serve immediately.

*Easy, quick, awesome as hell!!! So simple, I normally don’t really do 5 ingredient meals. I used whole wheat linguini and 1/3 fat cream cheese. I also added about 1/8 cup grated Parmesan/Romano mix. So using nice healthy ingredients and whatnot made me feel a ton better about myself and all my flour/sugar intake lately. YUMMM!

 

We’re going to see our local groundhog tomorrow morning!!! EXCITE!! I love animals, so this is going to rule!! I’m also working tomorrow night, which I haven’t worked in a week so that will be fun too! YAY!

Exercise: 1/2 hour yoga, 1.5 hours at the gym

Comments on: "I go through flour REALLY quickly now" (1)

  1. he saw his shadow! for that i am divinely grateful! #LoveColdWeather!!!!!!!!!
    your smoky pasta looks divine. hoping that you added ketchup. 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

