Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Happy Groundhog Day!

We went to a little event at our Metropark this morning for Groundhog Day, which was cute. It was more for kids, but it was still nice to get out and about this morning. We went bird watching out in the middle of this awesome little field, there were just TONS of birds! They all think its spring here! There were a crapton of bluejays, cardinals, goldfinches, and woodpeckers! We stood and watched them for a good 20 minutes, then went on a short walk through the woods. What a great way to spend a morning!

Also, I was going to make myself something packed with flour and sugar for breakfast, but then I didn’t. YAY I made the right choice! And what I made was REALLY good! I’m really proud of myself!

Breakfast:

Banana-apple baked oatmeal

Taken from: http://bethanyactually.com/banana-apple-baked-oatmeal/

    • 1/2 cup butter (1 stick), softened
    • 1/4-1/2 cup brown sugar (I used honey instead, not refined sugar! YAY)
    • 2 teaspoons vanilla
    • 2 eggs, room temperature
    • 1/2 cup applesauce, room temperature
    • 2 ripe bananas, mashed
    • 1 cup milk, room temperature
    • 3 cups old-fashioned rolled oatmeal
    • 1 tsp baking powder
    • 1 tsp kosher salt (or half as much table salt)
    • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
    • 1 large apple, cored & diced

Pecan Topping (optional)

  • 1/2 cup pecans (halves or chopped)
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar (I tried not to use too much, just enough!)
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

Preheat oven to 350F and grease an 8″x8″x2″ pan.

In a small bowl, combine oatmeal with baking powder, salt, and cinnamon. Stir well. Set aside.

In the bowl of a stand mixer, beat butter, brown sugar and vanilla till fluffy. Add eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition. Add applesauce and bananas. Mix well.

With stand mixer on low speed, add oatmeal mixture and milk, half at a time. Add apples and stir till combined.

If you want to make the Pecan Topping, stir together the pecans, 1/4 cup brown sugar and 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon in a small bowl.

Pour the batter into the prepared pan, and sprinkle the pecan mixture evenly over the top.

Bake for 40-45 minutes. Serve warm.

*YUM!!! This was one of the best decisions I’ve made in cooking yet! Using the honey was SUCH a good idea! I have this amazing lemon-honey that gave everything a wonderful little tartness. It wasn’t too dry, which is a problem that I normally have with baked oatmeals, and was just a little healthier for me. I mean, if you could see what I was GOING to make, you’d be proud of me too!

Lunch:

Along the lines of attempting healthy meals, I made this amazing sandwich consisting of liverwurst, tomato, “pineapple” pickles (I dunno, they were in the fridge, they just tasted like sweet pickles to me), havarti cheese, lettuce, light mayo and mustard. (Sorry Nicole, no ketchup! Hehe!) Good stuff yo! I also had a small apple.

Dinner:

For dinner I had that leftover pear sausage quiche that I made the other day. YUM! Everyone at work was jealous that I had such a great dinner.

 

Work was awesome! Got to work all night with my favourite coworker! Though I actually didn’t get to see him much as we were working in exact opposite ends of the store. Bah! That’s ok! We still chatted whenever we had the chance. I didn’t get to go work out at the gym, but at least I was on my feet at work all night, and not ringing register! So it was a good night!  I had a discussion with my co-worker about my weight gain (which he said he couldn’t even tell, which is good, but my pants quite obviously don’t fit me all that well anymore) and he asked me how I felt about it. That was a good question. I told him as long as I didn’t weigh myself I would probably be ok. But if I knew exactly how much I weighed I might go crazy again. So instead, I’m slowing down a bit on the flours and refined sugars and see if that will make me feel better. Also, the fact that my body skipped its period last month is probably not helping. Maybe after I have a period and have had a few more healthy food weeks, I’ll weigh myself. MAYBE.

I might need some moral support for that though.

Leave a Reply

