Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Music day!

I need new workout music. I have a new song here and there, but I really need like, a ton of music. I’m pretty tired of hearing the same songs every day. My other problem is I really need a good beat. There’s TONS of music that I love, but they’re just to slow or too fast to work out to. I need especially need good jogging pace suggestions (6-7 mph jog). If anyone can halp, HALP!

Breakfast:

Coconut Banana Ginger Brown Rice Pudding with Raisins

Taken from: http://www.freecoconutrecipes.com/recipe_Coconut_Banana_Ginger_Brown_Rice_Pudding_with_Raisins.htm

Servings: 6
Preparation Time: 10 minutes

This Brown Rice pudding is sweetened with banana, crystallized ginger, and raisins. Perfect for breakfast or dessert!

Place cooked rice in a pot. Add water, cardamom, vanilla, cinnamon, raisins, ginger, and shredded coconut. Turn heat to medium, make sure to stir constantly.

Once the mixture has come to a simmer, add in the bananas and stir so they become liquefied in the mixture. Keep stirring! Add in the coconut oil.

Once the mixture has absorbed all or most of the water, add the milk. Keep stirring! When the rice has become mushy and absorbed a lot of the coconut milk and has a pudding like thickness to it, your rice pudding is done! Add more milk if/as needed to adjust texture and consistency. Delicious!

*Along the lines of me trying to eat a bit healthier. WOW! I swear I’d forgotten how great these sorts of dishes taste!!! This was nice and sweet and I got to use up the rest of that candied ginger that I made a month back! I didn’t have any coconut milk, so I used half 2% milk, half greek yogurt! I was going to use heavy cream, but opted for the healthier yogurt instead! I’m feeling awesome!!! The brown rice has this nice nutty flavour that goes SO good with the banana! I also added a small handful of walnuts! It tasted like “banana bread” rice pudding! YUM!!!

Lunch:

Chicken Blackberry BBQ Wrap

There wasn’t really much to this so I’ll just write what I did. I sauteed some chicken in a little olive oil, garlic, ginger, salt and pepper. I threw in some blackberries and let them cook for a little bit. Then I added some Cherry BBQ sauce and broccoli and let them  cook until the broccoli softened and the BBQ sauce had reduced and thickened a bit. I spread a little low fat sour cream onto a Flatout wrap and added the chicken/BBQ mixture. Topped it with some lettuce. Then I chowed down! It was really good, it could have used some chopped onion, which I meant to add but forgot. Thats ok! It was nice and fast and I had to run to work out early!

We went out sort of for dinner, except none of us were really all that hungry. I had a bowl of clam chowder soup and 2 pieces of bread with cheese. I was actually really full after the soup and didn’t make anything else to eat when I got home.

I have my cousin staying over for the weekend and will make something cool for both of us for breakfast! I’m excited about it! ALSO Sunday we’re going to visit some close friends for the Puppy Bowl! (Superbowl? WTF is that??) Excited about that tooooo!

Exercise: 1/2 hour of yoga, 1.5 hours at the gym

Comments on: "Music day!" (1)

  1. christina aguilera’s “candy man” ALWAYS got my heart pumping!!!!!!!!! i’d reace the treadmill up to 9.9mph (holding onto the front end, clearly), and I’d race like a maniac! best song for running, hands down! 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

