Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Still waiting…

for that damn period to start.

Trust me, you have to have sex to be pregnant. I’m not pregnant.

My body is just all sorts of messed up from going off birth control. I’m really really hoping that when it starts I’ll stop looking so fat and bloaty all the time. It’s starting to drive me crazy.

We’re supposed to be going to our friend’s house today for the Puppy Bowl and I want to be excited, but I’m not. I’m actually trying to weasel my way out.

#1) I have to drive. I used to love driving. I still do, but I only hate it when I have to cart my husband around. I hate it. I fucking hate it. I don’t want to drive. They live an hour away.

#2) I have no money for gas. I will have to ask my husband if he will pay for it because I am broke.

#3) My husband will be getting annoyingly uncontrollably drunk. I hate that too. And since I have to drive because he can’t he will use this as an opportunity to get plastered because he doesn’t have to drive anyway. Then I have to listen to him complain when I want to leave, but he “just opened a beer” and so I have to wait an extra 20 minutes or so for him to finish his goddamn beer (which he’s already had 12, you wouldn’t think he’d need another one anyway).  Then I have to listen to him drunkenly ramble about shit I don’t care about for an hour alllll the way home. And I have to nod my head and say things like “Yes honey, you’ve already said that 3 times now…” I hate it.

I can’t do this anymore.

Breakfast:

Just a bowl of cereal.

My friend and I are going to bake cookies when we get to their house, so I really didn’t feel like making myself some gigantic, awful-for-me breakfast. Keeping it simple was the way to go!

Lunch:

This was just a wrap with bacon, turkey salami, tomato, lettuce, cheddar, mayo and honey mustard. Once again, just something simple since we had plans.

Welp, our plans ended up falling through. Our one of our friends kinda got into a bad mood so my girlfriend said that maybe it wasn’t the best of days for us to visit. So everything ended up working out for the best! I didn’t get to see the Puppy Bowl though which made me sad, but otherwise I didn’t have to deal with my drunken husband. YAY! So instead I spent the day relaxing, then working out (which for me is pretty relaxing) then making an AMAZING dinner!!!

Dinner:

Gnocchi with Caramelized Buttercup Squash Sage Sauce

For the gnocchi (best I’ve ever had by the way):

Taken from: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/michael-chiarello/potato-gnocchi-recipe/index.html

Ingredients

  • Kosher salt
  • 1 pound russet potatoes
  • 3 to 4 large egg yolks
  • 1/2 cup freshly grated Parmesan
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon gray salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour, plus more for dusting board and dough

Directions

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees F.

 

Spread a layer of kosher salt on a baking sheet and arrange the potatoes on top (see Cook’s Note). Bake until a bit overcooked, about 45 minutes. Let sit until cool enough to handle, cut in half, and scoop out the flesh. Reserve the potato skins, if desired, for another use.

 

Pass the potatoes through a potato ricer or grate them on the large holes of a box grater. You should have about 2 cups. Make a mound of potatoes on the counter with a well in the middle, add 3 of the egg yolks, the cheese, nutmeg, salt, and pepper. Mix in the potatoes and mix well with hands. Sprinkle 1/2 cup of the flour over the potatoes and, using your knuckles, press it into the potatoes. Fold the mass over on itself and press down again. Sprinkle on more flour, little by little, folding and pressing the dough until it just holds together, (try not to knead it.) Work any dough clinging to your fingers back into the dough. If the mixture is too dry, add another egg yolk or a little water. The dough should give under slight pressure. It will feel firm but yielding. To test if the dough is the correct consistency, take a piece and roll it with your hands on a well-floured board into a rope 1/2-inch in diameter. If the dough holds together, it is ready. If not, add more flour, fold and press the dough several more times, and test again.

 

Keeping your work surface and the dough lightly floured, cut the dough into 4 pieces. Roll each piece into a rope about 1/2-inch in diameter. Cut into 1/2-inch-long pieces. Lightly flour the gnocchi as you cut them. You can cook these as is or form them into the classic gnocchi shape with a gnocchi board, ridged butter paddle, or the tines of a large fork turned upside down. Rest the bottom edge of the gnocchi board on the work surface, then tilt it at about a 45 degree angle. Take each piece and squish it lightly with your thumb against the board while simultaneously pushing it away from you. It will roll away and around your thumb, taking on a cupped shape — with ridges on the outer curve from the board and a smooth surface on the inner curve where your thumb was. (Shaping them takes some time and dexterity. You might make a batch just for practice.) The indentation holds the sauce and helps gnocchi cook faster.

 

As you shape the gnocchi, dust them lightly with flour and scatter them on baking sheets lined with parchment paper or waxed paper. Set gnocchi filled cookie sheet in front of a fan on low for 1/2 hour (turning gnocchi after 15 minutes). If you will not cook the gnocchi until the next day or later, freeze them. Alternatively, you can poach them now, drain and toss with a little olive oil, let cool, then refrigerate several hours or overnight. To reheat, dip in hot water for 10 to 15 seconds, then toss with browned butter until hot.

 

When ready to cook, bring a large pot of water to a boil and add salt. Drop in the gnocchi and cook for about 90 seconds from the time they rise to the surface. Remove the cooked gnocchi with a skimmer, shake off the excess water, and serve as desired.

Cook’s Note: Baking potatoes on a layer of salt allows heat to circulate 360 degrees. Scrape the salt into a jar and reuse it again and again. If you do not have time to shape the gnocchi, you can freeze the dough, defrost it in the refrigerator, and then shape it. To freeze shaped gnocchi, line baking sheets with waxed paper and dust with flour. Spread the gnocchi on the prepared sheets and freeze until hard. Remove to individual-portion-size freezer bags. Store in the freezer for up to 1 month. To cook, drop the frozen gnocchi into boiling salted water. Cook for about 2 minutes after they rise to the surface.

Buttercup Squash Sage Sauce:

1/2 buttercup squash, baked in oven for 50 minutes and cubed
About 1/3 large Leek, sliced
1 T butter
1/2 T Olive Oil
1/8 cup Water
About 1 T Brown Sugar
1/3 cup Chicken Stock
1/8 cup (or so) Heavy Cream (or milk would work just fine)
1/2 T chopped fresh Sage
S&P to taste

I caramelized the leek and squash in the butter and oil with a large pinch of sugar. I then added the water, chicken stock, brown sugar and sage. I let that cook through for a couple minutes. Then added the cream, salt and pepper. Then I blended it all in a processor until smooth. Topped my awesome gnocchi with my awesome sauce and eated it.

*WOW! The gnocchi was light and almost creamy in texture. Holy crap were they good!!! Gnocchi usually comes out so heavy, I will be using this recipe from here on out! The sauce was crazy amazing! It was always one of my favorite recipes, but I doctored it up a little this time. I have a little of it left, so I’m looking forward to the next time I make this!

 

It ended up being an awesome day! My awesome dinner totally made it worth staying home. ^_^

OH also! I’ve learned that when one goes off of birth control, one’s cycle may not start at all for 3-12 months. I am NOT waiting that long! So I just went ahead and started taking my birth control again today. So basically, instead of waiting for it to naturally regulate its hormones, I’m just gonna do it for it. So here’s hoping I can have that red food day in about 3 weeks!! ^_^

Tomorrow is Meatless Monday!!! YAY! I’ve already got plans! ^_^

Comments on: "Still waiting…" (2)

  1. i LOVED reading this! i think your blog entries just get more interesting by the day because you increasingly offer more information about your personal life, and it’s all SO interesting to me!!! do you love your husband? do you like him?

    • If I didn’t love him incredibly much, I wouldn’t be married to him because I’d MUCH prefer to live alone.

      So I must like him a LOT.

      Despite all the ways he drives me insane, he loves me more than anyone else in this world could possibly love me. He stayed with me even though I was completely intolerable to be around during my “diet”. He loves me unconditionally.

      I think that once he gets through these classes and has a job and is able to drive himself around, things will be a bit more stable between us. I’m just an incredibly independent person and just because I have problems being around people 24/7 doesn’t mean I don’t love them. I just want them to go away sometimes hehehe.

Leave a Reply

