Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Feeling better already!

I started up my birth control again yesterday and am feeling SO much better already! I look and feel less bloated, I can tell I’m retaining less water, and I get to work out later, so I’ll feel EVEN BETTER! ^_^ I had one of those workouts yesterday where it was hard to keep my heart rate up, I don’t know why some days are easier than others. Energy level? I dunno. I didn’t have my pot o coffee yesterday so that might have had something to do with it.

I felt like starting this Meatless Monday with something HEALTHY! I’ve forgotten how good I feel about myself when I eat healthier, and everything still tastes great!

Breakfast:

*I can’t make notes in there because the recipe is actually an image! Anyway, I used sugar-free maple syrup instead of brown sugar for the banana topping! This way, I wasn’t using any refined sugar in the recipe! Woo! Also, this uses mostly oats and very little flour, and even then it uses half whole wheat flour, so that was also awesome! GREAT recipe! The only downside was that I should have turned my griddle down just a little as molasses burns rather easily (which it does warn, and I did watch it like a hawk) so one side turned a little dark, but that’s alright! It still tasted great! They came out COOKED (yes!) and fluffy! I felt really good about myself after eating this, I will continue the healthy eating for the rest of the day I think! ^_^

Lunch:

Quinoa and Lentil Pilaf

1/3 cup uncooked Quinoa
1/3 cup uncooked Lentils
1/4 cup Corn
1/4 cup Peas
1/4 cup diced Tomatoes
1 Carrot, shredded
1 Parsnip, sliced
2 slices of a large Vadallia onion, cut into quarters
1 clove Garlic
1 cup Vegetable Stock (I didn’t have any, so I used water)
1 T Olive Oil
Mrs. Dash Table Blend, no salt added
Chopped Cilantro to taste
S&P to taste

Saute onion in olive oil till mostly caramelized. Add garlic and saute about 30 seconds longer. Add uncooked quinoa, uncooked lentils, and corn and let them toast for a couple minutes (until quinoa visibly browns a little). Add stock (or water), the rest of the vegetables and spices. Cover and simmer for about 15 minutes or until all liquid has been absorbed. Stir in chopped cilantro.

*HOW WAS THIS SO GOOD??? Seriously! How was this so amazing?? Its just quinoa, lentils and veggies! It was….SOOOO good! I just SMASHED on this! YAY for Meatless Mondays!!! I am now out of quinoa though. SADFACE! I’ll need more soon!

Dinner:

Buttercup Squash Ravioli with Tofu Ricotta

Adapted from: http://www.neverhomemaker.com/2009/12/sweet-potato-ravioli-with-tofu-ricotta.html

SWEET POTATO RAVIOLI

What you’ll need . . .

  • 1 large sweet potato, peeled and diced (I used squash)
  • 1 cup unbleached white flour
  • 1 cup wheat flour
  • 1 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

Method . . .

  1. Bring a pot of water to boil; add peeled & diced sweet potato to the water.
  2. Once the sweet potato is softened, drain, mash and set aside.
  3. In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with paddle attachment, combine the one cup of flour and salt.
  4. While the motor is running, slowly add in the oil and mashed sweet potato.
  5. This next part is tricky depending upon how much sweet potato you have. Add the second cup of flour (again, while the motor is running) in small heaps — until the dough becomes a ball and isn’t too sticky. You may need to add more or less flour depending on the consistency you observe. Go with what looks right to you.
  6. Flour a work surface and divide the dough in half. Roll each piece as thinly as possible using a floured rolling pin.
  7. Cut 2″ – 3″ circles out of dough using whatever you have to do so. I, in fact, used the top of my baking powder container! You may also manually cut with a knife . . . or cookie cutter. As Tim Gunn would say, “make it work!”
  8. Make tofu ricotta (below these glamorous pasta photos — notice the fancy pasta cutter).

TOFU RICOTTA (From Post Punk Kitchen)

What you’ll need . . .

1 pound firm tofu, pressed
2 tsp lemon juice
2 tsp olive oil
1 clove garlic, minced
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 cup nutritional yeast flakes (I used grated Parmesan cheese)
handful fresh basil leaves, chopped fine (I used dried)
dash fresh black pepper

Method . . .

In a large bowl, mush the tofu up with your hands, till it’s crumbly.
Add lemon juice, garlic, salt and pepper and basil. Mush with hands again, this time you want it to get very mushy so squeeze through your fingers and mush until it reaches the consistency of ricotta cheese. May take 2-5 minutes.
Add olive oil, stir with fork. Add nutritional yeast and combine all ingredients well. Use a fork now, because the oil will make it sticky.

*I’ve made this once before, this time I boiled the ravioli instead of frying it. I also made a simple tomato sauce from crushed tomatoes, onion, green pepper, garlic, milk, grated Parmesan, oregano, thyme, basil, and S&P. Using the squash I had to use a lot more flour to make it not-sticky enough to roll out. I think squash is a better idea to put on the inside of ravioli hehe. While it was absolutely delicious, I wish I could have tasted the squash more. I made a little steamed cauliflower on the side as well! Just incredibly good! I have more of the pasta left over and will be using it in my dinner tomorrow!
Exercise: 1/2 hour of yoga, 1.5 hours at the gym

Comments on: "Feeling better already!" (3)

  1. i think you need to create a “meatless” category on your sidebar!

    • I do have a “Vegetarian” one! Any time I ever have a day with a meal that I don’t use any meat in, I tick it. Though sometimes I forget! I should use that category specifically for my Mondays though! I always look forward to them! ^_^

  2. your lunch is totally up my alley! i will be copying this. mark my words on it! x

Leave a Reply

