Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Healthy attempts continue

Maybe I’m anxious because of my weight gain…I don’t know. But I do know that eating healthy lately has made me feel a lot better about myself. Maybe tomorrow morning I’ll have some sugar-flour filled breakfast, but today I stumbled across this recipe while looking for something to use my mango and blackberries in.

Breakfast:

Honey Corn Cakes With Natural Blackberry Mango Compote

Taken from: whiskedfoodie.com/recipe/honey-corn-cakes-with-natural-blackberry-mango-compote/


Yield: Makes 8 small cakes


Cook Time: 1 hour


Ingredients:

  • 1 medium mango, peeled, seeded, and chopped
  • 4 ounces blackberries
  • 1/4 cup apple or other fruit juice
  • 1 egg, separated
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 2 tablespoons oil
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup cornmeal
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder

Directions:

  1. Place mango pieces, blackberries, and apple juice in a heavy-bottomed saucepan on medium heat until bubbling. Reduce heat to low and continue simmering, stirring often, until almost all of the liquid has cooked down, about 30 minutes. Remove from heat and set aside.
  2. In a medium mixing bowl, combine egg yolk, milk, oil, honey, vanilla, and cinnamon. Stir in cornmeal and baking powder. Whip egg white separately until soft peaks form; fold gently into batter.
  3. Heat a large, lightly greased skillet or griddle until a drop of water sizzles and evaporates. Drop batter one tablespoon at a time onto hot pan and cook until cake is beginning to set and bottom has browned, about a minute. Flip and repeat.
  4. To serve, top cakes with a spoonful of compote and drizzle with honey.

*PERFECT! These were delicious!!! And once again, no flour and no refined sugar! I followed it all exactly, the corn cakes came out so fluffy and perfect! Definitely whip the egg whites, it makes a huge difference! They were so gorgeous! This was my first real attempt at corn cakes and I was really happy with them! My tummy is nice and full and I’m ready for all the work I have to do today!

Lunch:

Tuna Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Here I used tuna mixed with mayo and Harry & David pepper relish and topped that with tomato, sweet pickles, Havarti cheese and light honey mustard dressing. Then I greased a saucepan with a little butter and grilled this for about 1 minute on each side. YUM!!!!! One of the best sandwiches I’ve ever made!

Dinner:

Apple Cheese Sausage Meatballs with Apple Brandy Sauce on top of homemade Whole Wheat Linguini

OK bear with me as this meal was ridiculous and contained a couple different recipes.

Apple Sausage Meatballs:

Taken from: http://stolenmomentscooking.com/apple-sausage-balls/

  • 3/4 c. flour
  • 1/2 t. baking powder
  • 1/4 t. baking soda
  • 1/4 t. salt
  • 1 lb. bulk pork sausage (original or maple flavored)
  • 2 c. shredded cheddar cheese
  • 2 T. maple syrup
  • 1 apple, peeled and diced
  • 1/8 t. allspice

1. In a large bowl, stir together the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Add the pork sausage, cheese, maple syrup, apple and allspice.
to my parents’ house when we go for Thanksgiving.

2. Using your hands, combine everything together until all of the ingredients are incorporated. Roll into evenly sized balls, about the size of a golf ball.

3. Place sausage balls on a baking sheet and bake at 375 degrees for 15-20 minutes, until fully cooked.

Apple Brandy Sauce

Adapted from:

Ingredients:

  • 2 Tbsp. Calvados (I used regular brandy and apple cider)
  • 1/4 cup chicken stock (also more apple cider)
  • 1/4 cup heavy cream
  • 1/2 Tbsp. fresh sage, finely chopped
  • 1/2 tsp. fresh tarragon, finely chopped
  • 1 shallots, finely chopped (I used sweet onion)
  • 1 apple, peeled and sliced thin
  • 2 Tbsp. unsalted butter
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/2 T brown sugar

Preparation:

1) Melt butter in skillet. Add shallots, apples, brown sugar, sage, and tarragon and sautee until browned. Add Calvados and chicken stock and deglaze pan. Reduce liquid by 1/3.

5) Add cream and reduce to desired consistency. Divide pork between plates and spoon apples and sauce over the top.

Whole Wheat Linguini

I actually just uses the leftover squash whole wheat pasta from yesterday and rolled it out super thin. Then I took a pizza cutter and cut it into thin strips. Then I boiled them for about 8 minutes with a little salt.

*Yup. This is one of my favorite sauce recipes and the meatballs were RIDICULOUS! I felt a lot better about them since they were baked and I used hardly any sugar in the sauce. There was SO much food and it was SO good! I ate it all, but then had no room for dessert. Ah well! At least I didn’t go and make myself overly full by eating it anyway when I was CLEARLY no longer hungry.

My husband went to stay at his best friend’s house for the evening! YESSSSSSSSSS! I get the house all to myself tonight and tomorrow morning!!!! I can make myself something LOUD for breakfast if I want!!! Like, chop up some nuts or whip up some egg whites or just plain not worry about being quiet. YAY!!!! I can’t wait to make something complicated and fucking amazing in the morning!!! Also: I got a ton of work done today, so life is amazing! I got a ton of orders in this week, so I’ve got a lot of work to do, but on the bright side I made a lot of money. So life is good! GREAT day!

Exercise: 1/2 hour yoga, 1.5 hours at the gym

Leave a Reply

