Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Sweet tooth yet again

So I’ve ruined my perfect healthy week with cookies today! Hehe. I made this nice little berry souffle, which was good, but it didn’t EXACTLY cure my sweet tooth! I mean, it was basically berries and egg whites, so it didn’t really fill me up either. So whats my solution? Make cookies. Hehehe! I figure I can eat healthier for the rest of the day and I wouldn’t have totally ruined my streak!

Breakfast:

White Chocolate & Berry Souffle
Adapted from BBC Good Food
Serves 6

butter, for greasing
icing (confectioners’ sugar), for dusting
200g frozen or fresh berries
2 tbsp rose syrup (use rosewater if you cannot find the syrup)

For the crème patisserie:
3 tbsp cake flour
½ tsp corn starch
2 tsp sugar
1 large egg yolk
1 large egg
4 Tbsp milk
5 Tbsp full-fat cream
90g (3 oz) good-quality white chocolate, broken into pieces

For the egg whites:
6 large egg whites
6½ Tbsp (95 ml) sugar

1. Heat oven to moderate 190 ˚C (375 ˚F).
2. Grease ramekins with butter, then tip a little icing (confectioners’ sugar) into each ramekin, tilting it to cover the sides as well.
3. Toss berries with rose syrup, then place a few berries in the base of each ramekin.
4. For the crème patisserie, mix the flour, corn starch and sugar in a medium sized mixing bowl. Beat egg yolk and whole egg together and add to the flour, mixing to a smooth paste.
5. Combine milk and cream in a small bowl and place in the microwave on high heat for approximately one and a half minutes (it should be close to boiling point). Mix chocolate in, stirring until chocolate has fully melted and there are no lumps.
6. Add chocolate mixture to your egg paste, stirring to ensure it is evenly combined.
7. Now prep your egg whites by placing them into a large mixing bowl and whisking until soft peaks form. Gradually add sugar and keep on whisking until stiff peaks form. This is what will give your souffles volume.
8. Stir about 2 tbsp of the egg whites into the crème patisserie. Carefully fold in a third of the rest, cutting through the mixture. Fold in another third (take care not to lose the volume), then fold in the rest. The mixture should look light and airy.
9. Spoon the souffle mixture into the dishes, then place in the oven and bake for 15 – 17 minutes.
10. The soufflés will be firm on top, but should have a slight jiggle when moved. They should have risen by about two thirds of their original height and jiggle when moved, but be set on top.

*First off, I used butterscotch chips instead of white chocolate chips because it was all I had. I was disappointed in the lack of butterscotch flavour. Which I’m sure was another reason I made cookies which I used the butterscotch in hehe. And I mean it was good! Especially for all the effort I put into it, but it wasn’t quite right. I might have overcooked it a little. Ah well. At least I’ve got COOKIES! (Which I took a picture of for a change, I’ll post it at some point.)

Cookies:

Peanut Butter cookies with Butterscotch chips

Cookies are difficult to get just right. I screwed these up a little. I wasn’t impressed, but ate them all anyway because I don’t like to waste food. I prefer a chewy cookie and these came out a bit cakey and crisp for my liking. I’m still learning the fine art of cookies and I’ve got a good cookie base, but didn’t use that on these. Next time I will have to.

Also, I didn’t end up eating a real lunch. I wasn’t hungry. I didn’t want anything. One of my goals is to start eating like a normal person. Well, a normal person eats cookies sometimes. A normal person stops eating when they are no longer hungry and eats again when they are hungry. I’m tired of forcing myself to eat when I am not hungry. My stomach did not growl at all until about 7 at night. I want to listen to my body again. So I did not have a lunch. I ate when I was hungry. Which was dinnertime.

Dinner:

Cauliflower-Broccoli Curry

Ingredients – 

Cauliflower Florets 3 cups
Broccoli finely chopped 1 1/2 cups
Onion chopped 1/2 cup
Tomato chopped 1/2 cup
Sesame Seeds 2 Tbsp
Almonds 5-6
Ginger 1 inch
Garlic 1-2 cloves
Coriander leaves handful
Seasoning (Oil 2 tsp, Cumin seeds 1/2 tsp)(I used ground Cumin)

Added:
1 Avocado, divided
Red Pepper flakes
Lemon Juice

Method Of Preparation – 

For the gravy –
Saute the sliced onions in 1/2 tsp oil in a hot sauce pan and keep them aside.

Roast sesame seeds and almonds and make a paste of them along with the sauteed onions, ginger, garlic, coriander leaves and chopped tomatoes. (I also added 1/2 of an avocado to my paste mixture)

Now for the curry –
In a hot sauce pan, add oil and the rest of the seasoning. Saute them until done.

Add turmeric, mirchi powder and dhania-jeera powder (I don’t have either of these so I just added Garam Masala powder) and a splash of water.  Mix well and then add the gravy paste. Add about 2 cups of water to make it a little runny.

Add the Cauliflower florets and finely chopped broccoli (remember I was sneaking in broccoli) . [I usually microwave the veggies for about 4-5 minutes to reduce cooking time – optional]

(NOTE: I actually roasted my cauliflower ahead of time. Toss cauliflower with a little olive oil, s&p, red pepper flakes and lemon juice. Roast on an oil-sprayed pan at 400 for about 20 minutes)

Also add some salt, cover with a lid and let the veggies cook for about 10 min. (Cube up the other half of the avocado and add it along with the roasted cauliflower about 3 minutes before broccoli cooking time is up!)

Adjust the taste as required and switch off the flame.

Serve it hot with Roti/Naan/Pulao/Biryani or plain rice 🙂 (I ate mine straight up! No rice or noodles.)

*This was INCREDIBLY good! Totally made up for the unsatisfactory meals I had for the rest of the day. And I was proud that everything in it was good for me! The avocado gave the sauce this creamy texture and flavour without having to add milk or butter. I AM a genius! Hehe. Do you like the flour left over on my counter from baking cookies? I liked how it swept behind my bowl, so I added it in the picture. Anyway if you tried this you’d be truly happy! I think it’s even completely vegetarian/gluten-free/MAYBE even vegan? I think so! Correct me if I’m wrong of course.

 

I’ve still got a lot of work to do before this weekend. My husband’s grandpa is dying. So the family is all coming into town till he passes. We will probably have his cousin stay with us. I adore her. For Christmas she gave me a little key on a ribbon with a tag that she hand-pounded “221 B Baker St.” into (which clearly took a lot of effort as shown by how dented it is on the back hehe) and a little houndstooth button threaded onto it as well. HOW FUCKING ADORABLE AND THOUGHTFUL IS THAT? What girl wouldn’t want the key to Sherlock Holmes’s flat? I also don’t mind doing my yoga while shes sleeping in here because she won’t ask me questions about what I’m doing or bug me or watch me at all the entire time. She usually just sleeps through it.

Oh by the way, its ok. Its ok that my husband’s grandpa is dying. He’s got no will to live. His wife died about 2 years ago and he’s been nothing but miserable since she’s gone. His house has been broken into twice. He’s got all sorts of fun health problems. He’s more than ready to go. He’s totally done with this life. So it’s ok. Don’t feel bad for him. He’s going to be ok.

Exercise: 1/2 hour of yoga, 20 min walk outside (to wake myself up in the middle of the morning), 1.5 hours at the gym

Comments on: "Sweet tooth yet again" (1)

  1. omg, before eliminating dairy in october 2010, i became a healthy addict to butterscotch chips from july 2010 to october 2010. i was craving them recently and checked the package, confirming that they contain dairy! BOO. 🙂

Leave a Reply

