Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

I wonder this every single day. And I hate it. Why do I care so much? I used to go MONTHS without weighing myself when I was younger. And the only times I ever DID weigh myself weren’t for any reason other than curiosity. It’s different now. Now I want to know because I want to know if I need to be crazy again or not. I want (I actually typed “need” out of habit, you can tell where my subconscious lies) to know in case I need to diet again. Do I look fat? No. Do I feel fat? Not particularly. Does it MATTER? NO! Am I happy right now regardless? YES.

So why do I obsess so much?

Breakfast:

Broccoli and Cheese Crustless Quiche
recipe courtesy Vegetarian Times

2 tsp. olive oil
1/2 cup thinly sliced onion
1 clove garlic, minced
5 cups broccoli florets
1 1/4 cups 1% milk
1 cup shredded reduced-fat Swiss cheese
2 tsp. Dijon mustard
4 large egg whites, lightly beaten
2 large eggs, lightly beaten
1/2 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. freshly ground black pepper
1/8 tsp. ground nutmeg
1 Tbs. grated fresh Parmesan cheese

Preheat oven to 350F. Spray 9-inch pie pan with cooking spray. Heat oil in large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add onion and garlic, and cook, stirring often, 1 1/2 minutes. Add broccoli, and cook, stirring often, 1 minute. Spread mixture in pie pan.

Combine milk, cheese, mustard, egg whites, eggs, salt, pepper and nutmeg in large bowl. Pour over broccoli mixture; sprinkle with Parmesan cheese. Bake 40 minutes, or until top is golden and knife inserted in center comes out clean. Let stand 5 minutes before serving. Makes 6 servings.

*This was ok. The texture of the eggs was a little weird, I don’t know why. It almost came out…crumbly? I dunno. It was ok. I can do better.

Lunch:

Avocado and Tomato Sandwich with Cottage Cheesse

I broiled a sandwich with smashed avocado, tomato, havarti cheese, mozzarella cheese and mayo for about 3 mins, or until the cheese was melty. I added a few Italian spices and dill. Served that up with a side of cottage cheese with a little french dressing drizzled on top. This was always a treat when I was a kid! It’s been a long time since I’ve had it! So this was a nice healthy lunch!

Dinner:

Pecan Crusted Chicken with Apple Raisin sauce on Arborio Rice

For the Chicken:

Taken from: http://www.thesimpleskillet.com/recipe.php?recipe_id=216&recipe-name=Pecan-Crusted-Chicken-Breast

Ingredients

1 1/2 pounds chicken breast, boneless and skinless

3/4 cup nuts, pecans

2/3 cup Dijon mustard

3 tablespoons honey

2 tablespoons mayonnaise, light or reduced fat

cooking spray

Preparation

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. To make the dipping sauce, mix 2 tablespoons of honey, one third cup Dijon, and the mayonnaise in a small, microwave safe bowl. Place the pecans in a zip lock bag and finely crush them with a meat mallet or a rolling pin. Pour pecans onto a plate. Place the chicken in a zip lock bag and flatten them to one quarter inch thickness using the meat mallet or rolling pin). In a small bowl, mix one third cup of Dijon with one tablespoon of honey. Heavily coat a baking sheet with cooking spray. Brush each piece of chicken with the honey Dijon mixture and coat with crushed pecans. Place chicken on the baking sheet. Spray tops with cooking spray. Bake for 10 minutes, then turn the chicken over and cook for an additional 5 to 7 minutes until cooked through. Microwave dipping sauce for 30 seconds and serve with the chicken.

*I did not make the dipping sauce. I’m still trying to figure out how to crust chicken properly, it never seems to turn out right. All the crusting stuff just sort of falls off. I dunno. It tasted WONDERFUL but I had problems flipping them in the middle of cooking and some of the pecans didn’t stay on the chicken. It was ok, I just added them on top after the fact, but I have yet to figure this crusting thing out…

Apple Raisin Sauce

Taken from: http://christmas.food.com/recipe/ham-with-apple-raisin-sauce-356593 and http://ingredientsofawoman.com/blog/chicken-in-apple-and-raisins%E2%80%99-sauce/

Ingredients

2 garlic cloves
2 apples (peeled and diced)
1 cup of raisins
1/2 cup of Apple Cider Vinegar
2 cups of water (or chicken stock)
1 can of diced tomatoes
2 tbsp. of raspberry jam
½ Onion (sliced)
French tarragon about 2 tbsp.

Added (from other recipe)

Apple Cider
Molasses (instead of brown sugar)
Cinnamon
Preparation
1. Cut the chicken into small pieces and season with salt, pepper and cumin. If you have time let it marinate for thirty minutes.
2. Heat the olive oil and add the sliced onion and garlic cloves, add the chicken and let it cook over medium heat.
3. Reduce the heat and add the tomatoes.
4. Dissolve the raspberry jam in the apple cider vinegar, then mix with the chicken stock and add to the chicken.
5. Add the apples and raisins.
6. Sprinkle the French tarragon and let the sauce reduce.

*I just sort of combined 2 recipes and made a BEAUTIFUL raisin sauce with molasses and it went wonderfully with the pecans on the chicken! Then I made some arborio rice on the side with some chicken stock and butter. I just sort of started with water and a little butter then kept adding chicken stock every time the rice would absorb all of the liquid. It worked out great and came out creamy and delicious! The perfect compliment to my chicken!

 

I’m doing a make-ahead baked french toast recipe for tomorrow. Here’s hoping it turns out awesome!!!

Exercise: 1/2 hour of yoga, 1.5 hours at the gym

Leave a Reply

