Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

I’m poor

I really don’t like this idea of having to feed and cook for 2 people. I dunno, I’m old. I’m set in my ways. I’m also poor. VERY poor. And I can’t afford to be going to the store all the time because I have someone else here that I have to feed and cook for. I told her already that she needed to help me pay for ingredients and whatnot for foodstuffs, but then she didn’t buy anything while we were out. But then again I didn’t ask her to? Soooooooooo I’m going to to have to take her to the store specifically for her to buy ingredients for herself. I also don’t like that I feel there’s things I can’t make or experiment with because she might not like it? I shouldn’t even be worrying about it. Basically, I can choose to make something and if she won’t like it, my husband can make her something. He eats boring ass food, so she’ll like it. And she’s going to be here for maybe a couple WEEKS, I’m so weird when it comes to food. I’m so weird.

Breakfast:

Strawberry Cheesecake Crepes

Crepe recipe:

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoons salt
  • 1 cup milk (preferably whole) (I used buttermilk)
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 tablespoon melted butter, plus more for cooking crepes
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions:

Put the flour and salt and in a large mixing bowl. Gradually whisk in the milk. Whisk in the eggs, 1 at a time, and then whisk in the sugar, melted butter, and vanilla. Cover and let rest in the refrigerator for about 1 hour.

Heat an 8-inch nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Melt a small pat of butter in the pat and swirl around so that it lightly coats the surface.

Add 1/3 cup of the batter and move your wrist in a circular pattern to coat the pan with thin even layer of batter. Cook for about 1 minute or until the first side browns lightly, then flip and cook 45 seconds to 1 minute longer. Remove to a plate and repeat with remaining batter.

Filling:

Taken from: http://www.closetcooking.com/2008/06/strawberry-cheesecake-crepe.html

Ingredients:
1 (4 ounce) package cream cheese (softened)
1/4 cup icing sugar
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1 teaspoon lemon zest
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 cup heavy cream
1 batch crepes
4 tablespoons strawberry jam
2 cups strawberries (sliced)

Directions:
1. Mix the cream cheese, icing sugar, lemon juice, lemon zest and vanilla in a bowl.
2. Whip the heavy cream and fold it into the cream cheese mixture.
3. Spread 1 table spoon strawberry jam onto a crepe.
4. Add 1/4 cup of the cream cheese mixture and some strawberries in the crepe, roll and serve.

*I loved these! My biggest issue is my cream cheese, I froze it. That doesn’t work. I didn’t realize that doesn’t work. When you thaw out frozen cream cheese it gets all grainy. You can tell if you look closely at my filling that theres little granules in there. It still tasted wonderful! But I did invest in new cream cheese for next time, hehe. This is a tried a true crepe recipe that I have used before, so if you like sweet crepes you won’t be disappointed! I was also out of regular milk and had to use buttermilk, so they were pretty crazy!

Lunch:

Creamy Macaroni and Cheese

Taken from: http://www.squidoo.com/cheesemac

Ingredients:
5 cups cooked macaroni (8 ounces raw)
4 tablespoons butter
4 tablespoons flour
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/8 pepper, or to taste
2 cups milk (This is going to sound insane, but I was out of milk, so I used heavy cream)
3/4 cup shredded sharp Cheddar cheese (I used cheddar and colby for the sauce and then I shredded mozzarella and layered it on top of the pasts and sauce in the baking dish)
paprika, optional

Preparation:

In a saucepan, melt butter over medium-low heat. Stir flour into the butter until smooth and bubbly. Stir in salt. Gradually add milk, stirring constantly. continue to cook, stirring constantly, until thickened. Add cheese and continue to cook and stir until melted. In an 8×10-inch baking dish, alternate layers of macaroni and cheese sauce. Sprinkle with paprika, if desired. Bake in a preheated 350° oven for 20 minutes, or until hot and bubbly.
Serves 6.

*Yup, this was insanity mac and cheese. Especially since I used heavy cream for the sauce. Oh my GOD! I made this for both me and my cousin, she loved it! I also added a ton of breadcrumbs on top, melted about a T of unsalted butter, drizzled it over the breadcrumbs, then tossed on a big pinch of salt. Threw that in the oven and DAAAAAMN! It was ridiculous! Definitely the creamiest mac and cheese I’ve ever had!

Dinner:

I forgot to take a picture of dinner, but it was mostly unimpressive, so its ok. I made a veggie stir fry with potatoes, mushrooms, green pepper, carrots and onion. I tried to make the potatoes fried and crispy and failed MISERABLY. They were cooked at least…but not crispy at all. REALLY disappointing. I threw in a little hoisin sauce, soy sauce, lemon pepper and lemon juice. Eh. Not my favorite. I did a stir fry to make something “quick”, but then the potatoes refused to fry correctly, so I got frustrated and impatient and just said ‘fuck it’ and threw in the rest of the ingredients. Blah. :< I’ll try the fried potatoes again soon I think.

 

I really am happy to have my cousin here by the way. She’ll be able to take my husband out of the house and whatnot. She loves Doctor Who, so we’ve been watching the shit out of that, which is awesome! And she’s pretty easy to please with entertaining in general, she likes the kind of clubs that I like (goth/industrial) and loves antique/vintage shopping. Or, shes also totally cool with just chilling on her computer if there’s nothing else to do. So she’s a good kid. I just gotta get her to buy some fruits and veggies for the fridge for the next week and we’ll be pretty set!

Exercise: 1/2 hour of yoga

Leave a Reply

