Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

“Too sweet”.

What does that mean?

Too salty, I understand.

Too hot, well….it’s difficult to do (in my opinion as I LOVE spicy stuff), but I can see how you could make something so hot that you can’t taste anything else.

Too peppery? I get it.

Any spice that overpowers a dish and makes it so you can’t taste any other flavours other than that particular spice, I understand.

But it seems to me you can throw all the sugar in the world into something and it simply can’t overpower other flavours. Seems to me it only enhances them more! I up the sugar in almost everything I make because I just adore sweetness!

It’s only “too sweet” if it’s not a sweet. If its supposed to be a savory dish and its too sweet then yer doin it wrong.

Someone with a different palate other than mine will have to explain this to me.

Breakfast:

Strawberry Banana Yogurt Muffins

Majorly adapted from: http://sweetpeaskitchen.com/2011/05/06/strawberry-banana-muffins/

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted (I used half butter half vegetable oil)
  • 3/4 cup light brown sugar
  • 1 large egg, lightly beaten (Taken down from 2 eggs since I was adding yogurt)
  • 1 cup vanilla greek yogurt (Added ingredient)
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 2 large ripe bananas, mashed (about 1 cup)
  • 1 cup fresh strawberries, cut into bite sized pieces (I also threw in a few small banana chunks as well)
  • 2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour (I used cake flour)
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt


Streusel Topping

  • 7 tablespoons of butter, melted and cooled
  • 1 cup AP flour
  • 1/2 cup sugar (I used brown sugar)
  • 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon of baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon of salt

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Position rack in center of oven.  Line 12 muffin cups with muffin liners or spray with nonstick cooking spray.
  • In a small saucepan melt the butter. Set aside.
  • In a medium bowl whisk together the brown sugar, eggs, vanilla extract and mashed banana. Add the melted butter and stir to combine.
  • In another large bowl combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt. Fold in the berries, making sure they are coated with flour.
  • Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and stir just until combined.
  • Divide the batter evenly among the 12 muffin cups.
  • Mix streusel topping until crumbly. Sprinkle on top of each filled cup.
  •  Bake until muffin tops are golden and just firm, 20 to 24 minutes, rotating halfway through baking time. Cool muffins in muffin tin for 5 minutes, then transfer to wire rack and cool 5 minutes before serving.

*Once again, I can’t go wrong with adding a ridiculous amount of sugar! I dunno, I like my muffins to taste like cupcakes I guess. They’re basically cupcakes without the frosting. But then I replicate a muffin version of icing as best as I can with the crumble topping! Haha! I made a 1/3 recipe. So I made 4 but only ate 3, which is what I normally do. I assume my cousin will eat the last one. They were creamy and fluffy at the same time with a nice crunch to the top! WOW! 20 minutes was PERFECT for these!

Lunch:

Chicken, Potato and Corn Chowder (with Avocado)

Adapted from: http://healthiefoodie.blogspot.com/2010/01/chicken-potato-and-corn-chowder.html
Based off of Cooking Light’s Potato and Corn Chowder(January 2006) I added calories with the olive oil, chicken and broth, but saved a few on the fat-free half and half.

Ingredients

  • Cooking spray (I used olive oil – I have a cast-iron dutch oven and prefer using real oil rather than cooking spray with it)
  • 1 1/2 cups prechopped green bell pepper
  • 1 cup chopped green onions, divided (about 1 bunch)
  • A hefty handful of pre-diced celery and onion mix (I added this in to replace the bell pepper)
  • 2 cups frozen corn kernels
  • 1 1/4 cups water
  • About 1 1/2 cups of low-sodium chicken broth
  • 1 teaspoon seafood seasoning (such as Old Bay)
  • 3/4 teaspoon dried thyme leaves
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground red pepper
  • 1 pound baking potatoes, cut into 1/2-inch pieces
  • 1 cup half-and-half (I used heavy cream)
  • 1/4 cup chopped parsley
  • 1 1/2 cups rotisserie chicken, chopped. (I cubed up an uncooked breast and cooked it along with the onion in step 1)
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup (2 ounces) shredded reduced-fat sharp cheddar cheese
  • ADDED: 1/2 avocado, cubed

Preparation

Heat a Dutch oven over medium-high heat. Coat pan with cooking spray (or about 1-2 tbsp olive oil). Add bell pepper and 3/4 cup green onions (I added the celery / onion mix here) , and sauté 4 minutes or until lightly browned.

Increase heat to high; add corn, (I waited at this step and let the corn do a little bit of roasting with the veggies before adding the liquids – the reviews said roasting the corn gave it a little more flavor.) water, chicken broth, seafood seasoning, thyme, red pepper, and potatoes; bring to a boil. Cover, reduce heat, and simmer 10 minutes or until potatoes are tender (it took about an additional 5-10 minutes since I had added more potatoes and broth). Remove from heat, mash the potatoes down using a potato masher or pastry fork so that the consistency thickens a little. Stir in half-and-half, chicken, and chopped parsley, and salt. Place about 1 1/2 cups soup in each of 4 bowls; sprinkle each with 2 tablespoons cheese and 1 tablespoon green onions

*I added the avocado before mashing the potatoes in the chowder. I let them warm up for about a minute and then took a masher and mashed most of the potato and avocado into the broth. This was ridiculously good and a ridiculous amount of food (I think I made a half recipe, I can’t remember.) This is a tried and true chowder recipe that I just added avocado to. Really creamy and delicious!

Dinner:

For dinner my husband took us out to Chinese buffet…where I ate WAY too much food. Then he took me out for a lantern lit walk in the park where they had bonfires set up around a lake with s’mores and on top of THAT there was a cabin at the end with a gourmet coffee and chocolate/dessert buffet. SHEESH! I once again ate way too much. Like, to the point where I thought I might puke. I had NO IDEA I was that full until I went for seconds and took one bite of a small cheesecake and realized there was no room inside for that one bite. LOL! Totally worth it! I don’t even care, it was so great! And it was part of my Valentines Day present! So I was allowed to eat all I wanted! ^_^

I went straight to bed as soon as I got home with an obvious tummyache hehe. It’s ok! Sometimes people eat too much. It happens. Especially at dessert buffets!! I refuse to beat myself up over it.

Exercise: About a 20 minute walk around a park (totally not enough for what I ate lol)

Comments on: "I’m still confused about this phrase:" (1)

  1. ha! i fucking love your blog dialogue.
    can’t wait to read about valentine’s day at the pistachio house. 😉 xxx

Leave a Reply

