Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

No-breakfast Meatless Monday

Yeaaaaah, I wasn’t hungry when I woke up. I told myself I should at LEAST eat a couple of eggs if nothing else…but then I didn’t because the idea of food was incredibly unappetizing this morning. So in an unusual move, I didn’t have any at all. I needed a food break!

Lunch:

Just a veggie sandwich! Something I thought my tummy could handle. Also a banana.

Dinner:

Lentil and Broccoli Casserole
serves 4-6

Taken from: http://veganrecipereview.blogspot.com/2011/12/lentil-and-broccoli-casserole.html

3 cups broccoli florets
1/2 cup rice milk or soy milk (I used 2% milk)
1 cup chickpea flour (I used whole wheat flour)
2 cups cooked lentils, well drained
1/2 cup finely chopped onion
Vegetable oil (I used canola oil)
2 cups tomato sauce

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.
2. Add water to the bottom of a steamer. Place broccoli atop the steamer and bring to a boil over high heat. Reduce heat and simmer for 6 minutes or until almost tender (the tip of a knife should meet with some resistance when stems are pierced). Remove from heat and set aside.
3. Meanwhile, in a bowl, whisk milk into flour. Add lentils and onion. Form into balls 1 1/2 inches (4 cm) in diameter. Pour a thin layer of oil into a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add lentil balls, in one layer with room to turn and cook, turning often, for 1 or 2 minutes per side or until lightly browned all over. If necessary, adjust heat to keep balls gently sizzling without splattering. Using a slotted spoon, transfer to a paper towel-lined plate to drain. Repeat with remaining balls.
4. In a mixing bowl, combine broccoli, lentil balls, and tomato sauce. Scrape into casserole dish and bake in preheated oven for 15 minutes or until bubbly.

*I made my own sauce but just do NOT feel like posting the recipe. I’m already 2 days behind in my postings and just…bah. I’m tired. Anyway, this was good! The lentil balls could definitely use some seasoning and salt and whatnot. I did put some chopped fresh cilantro and dried coriander along with a little salt and pepper into mine, but it still didn’t seem like enough. Even though it really truly did turn out good I don’t see myself making this exact same recipe again any time soon, I’d have to tweak it a lot.

Something thats really starting to grind my gears:

The fact that my stove is not level.

I can’t fry anything properly because all the oil runs to one side of the pan. So whenever something just calls for a ‘thin layer of oil’ I get fucked because my stove is not capable of that. I’m going to have to shove foil or something under the little grate things on the stovetop to get the pan to sit level because I cannot STAND it anymore. I will let y’all know how that goes when I eventually try it!

Exercise: 1.5 hours at the gym

Leave a Reply

