Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Yeah mine’s alright.

I slaved in the kitchen for hours for him tonight. It sucked. I made manicotti, which was good but not incredible, and rhubarb pie, which I pretty much fucked up completely. I like it, but it’s not right…it’s really sweet (which I have no problem with of course, but my husband isn’t a “sweet” kind of guy) and it wouldn’t bake right and my husband obviously didn’t like it as he took one bite out of his and didn’t touch it for the rest of the night. I don’t blame him on that one. But of course it sucked slaving all damn day for a mediocre dinner. :< It also sucks that like, you spend all day making something and all you get is a “Hey thanks, it’s good.” and that’s it. My husband even had to ask my cousin what she thought of the manicotti because she didn’t even say anything at all. I mean, it DID turn out good, the manicotti was good. I guess I expected more than an “it’s good” after slaving away for 3.5 hours.

I don’t care if its a lie. RAVE about it! Tell me how its the best you’ve ever had! I tell myself that every time I make something! I think maybe I just love food more than other people do. I also REALLY appreciate it when other people cook for me because I know how much work it takes and will thank them over and over and tell them how wonderful it was over and over because I truly DO think what they made was wonderful and they should hear that! But I always am the only one to sit there when we’re at, say, my brother’s house and point out details about what I like about the meal. “This soup is so creamy and delicious! You can really taste the apple!” and everyone nods and agrees heartily with me. But no one else actually SAYS those things except me. I will go “Mmmmm” and “This really is great! Thank you!” throughout the entire meal and I’m always the first one before everyone leaves to say “Well dinner really was AMAZING thank you SO much for cooking!” and once again everyone will nod and vocally agree, but I’m the only one who actually ever bothers SAYING IT.

Why is that?

I’m starting to think other people don’t like food as much as I do. Nor do they appreciate what it takes to prepare GOOD food. My whole life I’ve understood what it takes and how good food is. I don’t know. I feel people are really missing out.

I might try that rhubarb pie again soon.

Breakfast:

Baked Hawaiian Oatmeal

by theUngourmet

2 cups rolled oats
1/2 cup all-bran cereal
1/3 cup packed brown sugar
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
dash of salt
1 large egg
2 tbsp of melted butter, cooled to room temperature
1 tsp fresh grated ginger
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 tsp coconut extract
1 12 oz can evaporated milk
1/4 cup raw honey
1 cup fresh pineapple, roughly chopped
2 ripe bananas, diced
1/2 cup sweetened, flaked coconut

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Lightly grease a 9 inch round (or square) baking pan.

In a medium bowl combine the oats, cereal, brown sugar, baking powder and salt. In a large bowl combine the egg, butter, ginger, vanilla, coconut extract, milk, honey, fruit and coconut.

Stir the oat mixture into the egg mixture. Pour into prepared baking pan. Bake for 35-45 minutes until center is fairly firm and top of oatmeal is golden brown. Allow to cool for a few minutes before cutting. Top with vanilla yogurt or fresh whipping cream if you wish.

*The only thing I wasn’t faithful to in this recipe was the coconut extract…I didn’t have any. Otherwise, it didn’t seem to matter because this was DELICIOUS! I actually bought the pineapple just to make this. Really very good!

Lunch:

Lentil, Tomato, Red Pepper and Feta Salad Sandwich

I just mixed some lentils, chopped tomato, chopped red peppers, a little chopped onion, cilantro, mayo, sour cream a little lime juice and red wine vinegar and sticking it all in a pretzel bun. Actually REALLY good! Really good! I was glad it worked out!

Dinner:

Baked Manicotti

Taken from: http://www.melskitchencafe.com/2009/09/best-baked-manicotti.html

INGREDIENTS:
Tomato Sauce:
1 28-ounce can diced tomatoes (in juice)
1 28-ounce can crushed tomatoes
2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
3 medium cloves garlic, finely minced
1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes, optional
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons dried basil

Cheese Filling and Pasta:
3 cups part-skim ricotta cheese
4 ounces grated Parmesan cheese (about 2 cups)
8 ounces shredded mozzarella cheese (about 2 cups)
2 large eggs , lightly beaten
3/4 teaspoon table salt
1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper
2 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley leaves (or 2 1/2 teaspoons dried parsley)
2 teaspoons chopped fresh basil (or 1 teaspoon dried basil)
16 no-boil lasagna noodles (I use the Barilla brand – apparently they are supposed to be the most similar to homemade pasta and I love them, both in this and in lasagna)

DIRECTIONS:
Adjust oven rack to middle position and heat oven to 375 degrees.

Heat oil, garlic, and pepper flakes (if using) in large saucepan over medium heat until fragrant but not brown, 1 to 2 minutes. Stir in tomatoes, basil and 1/2 teaspoon salt and simmer until thickened slightly, about 15 minutes.

In a medium bowl, combine ricotta, 1 cup Parmesan chese, mozzarella cheese, eggs, salt, pepper, and herbs; set aside.

To assemble, pour 1 inch boiling water into 13 by 9-inch baking dish, then add noodles one at a time. Let noodles soak until pliable, about 5 minutes, separating noodles with tip of sharp knife to prevent sticking. Remove noodles from water and place in single layer on clean kitchen towels; discard water in baking dish and dry baking dish.

Spread bottom of baking dish evenly with 1 1/2 cups sauce. Using soupspoon, spread 1/4 cup cheese mixture evenly onto bottom three-quarters of each noodle (with short side facing you), leaving top quarter of noodle exposed. Roll into tube shape and arrange in baking dish seam side down. (You should be able to fit 8 manicotti in each row, allowing all 16 to fit in the dish). Top evenly with remaining sauce, making certain that pasta is completely covered.

Cover manicotti with aluminum foil. Bake until bubbling, about 40 minutes, then remove foil. Sprinkle manicotti evenly with remaining 1 cup Parmesan. Bake until cheese is browned and bubbly, about 6-7 minutes. Remove from oven and let sit for 15 minutes before serving.

*Things I wish I would have changed:

A.) More seasoning. Chop more fresh basil and fresh parsley. Use a little more salt and pepper.

B.) Fresh grated Parmesan. I didn’t. I used already grated Kraft stuff. It doesn’t give that nice melty texture. I did use fresh Mozzarella at least.

C.) Need more crushed tomato in the sauce. Needed to be saucier.

Otherwise, these really did taste good! The idea of using the no-boil lasagna was genius (an America’s Test Kitchen idea) and if I would have seasoned everything just a BIT more, it would have been perfect. I will be trying this again soon as well! Sorry the picture is so terrible, this was actually the leftovers. I nearly forgot to take a picture.

Between shopping for all of the ingredients all over town and cooking for 4.5 hours total, I actually DID find time to work out. YAY! It was a good day in the end.

Exercise: 1/2 hour of yoga, 1 hour at the gym (I was STRUGGLING to keep my heart rate up. Some days are so much easier than others, I don’t understand why…but I was WORN OUT completely.)

Leave a Reply

