Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Tragedy at the gym!

So I show up to the gym today. I’m getting all my shit together, changing into my workout clothes and whatnot, and I realize something really really really shitty.

I forgot my headphones.

Yeah, this isn’t going to work. I HAVE to have my music to work out to. The beat helps me keep a consistent heart rate and if the current song doesn’t have the right pace, I can just change it to another one. And working out to something I enjoy makes me happy which makes the experience awesome. So no music means I fucked up big time.

I decide that I’ll do the elliptical for half an hour. I mean since I drove out there I should do SOMETHING. I work out mostly miserably for my half hour. I’m thinking I COULD stay on for an extra 5 minutes, it wouldn’t kill me. But I was pretty miserable and wanted to go home. So I then decide that if the next song that comes on the radio in the gym is something that I just adore and couldn’t live without working out to it, I would stay for the extra 5 minutes.

Then Nickelback comes on.

This was THE BIGGEST sign that I could have POSSIBLY gotten to tell me to get the FUCK out of there.

I finished my workout at home on the stair stepper. And I was happy.

Breakfast:

No breakfast. I ate a lot the night before at my brothers for his birthday celebration and so wasn’t hungry in the morning for breakfast. I had coffee. Hehe. But yeah, the combination of cake and beer and cupcakes, potato chips, jelly beans, pita chips, hummus, etc just didn’t make for a hungry girl in the morning.

Lunch:

Tomato Caprese Sandwich

Just some tomato topped with fresh mozzarella slices, basil, salt and pepper on one side with a couple shakes of olive oil. The other side has a tomato pesto sauce with sour cream, grated parmesan and parsley. I threw that under the broiler for about 8 minutes. I also had some leftover lentils that I seasoned with a bit of garlic salt, coriander and pepper.

Dinner:

Peach Cardamom Curry Pork Stir Fry

5 oz Pork
1.5 small Peaches, sliced
Cauliflower
1 cup Mushrooms, sliced
Red Pepper, sliced
Sweet Onion, Chopped
Fresh grated Ginger
1/4 cup Pineapple Juice
1/3 cup Cream
1 T Soy Sauce
1/8 t Cardamom
1.5 t Curry Powder (or more to taste)
Red Pepper Flakes
S&P to taste
Dash Lemon Juice

I think this all sounds about right. I just throw all the meat and veggies in with a bit of olive oil and let that sautee for a little while. Then I add all the spices and liquid ingredients. Cover, let it simmer for about 5 minutes, then let the sauce reduce and thicken (using cornstarch if necessary). Add in the peaches and dash a little lemon juice on top. Let that heat through and serve on top of sticky rice. YUM! This was excellent! Exactly what I wanted. ^_^

Tomorrow I’m going to have to work around things a bit to have my Meatless Monday. I’ll be driving to my cousin’s and would technically be out there by dinnertime, but once again, this is the same family where the dad was judging me for having a salad for dinner. It’s just not what they do. So I guarantee that there will be some sort of meat in dinner. So I’ll try my best to plan ahead and figure out a way to keep true to my one meatless day a week. If I have to pick something up on the way there or make something to take with me to eat there, I will do it.

I’m SO excited about Tuesday!

Exercise: 1/2 hour at the gym, 1/2 hour stair-stepping

Leave a Reply

