Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

REALLY REALLY excited about this concert! I’m going to see Emilie Autumn with my cousin in Pittsburgh on Tuesday, so I am headed to her house tonight! It’s at our FAVOURITE venue!!! The place is this old church, it’s SO beautiful and intimate! I saw her there once before a couple years ago. ALL the kids dress up in tiny little victorian lingerie. Yes. Yes I plan on dressing up in tiny little victorian lingerie as well. I didn’t last time. It was far too cold (though that did NOT stop these other crazy kids, most of them showed up a mere hour or two before the doors opened…my cousin and I show up usually about 9 to 10 hours before doors…that’s a little long to be stuck out in the cold…). This year though it’s supposed to be BEAUTIFUL all day, and since I know the ins and outs of this venue rather well, I know a little place where I could go change a couple hours before showtime. This show is SO GOOD, and I’ve seen a LOT of shows. I’ve been to so many concerts in my day it’ll make your head explode.

THE BEST PART: Nicole from http://www.nicoleandgwendylon.com and her Sir Edmund are joining us!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! THPPPPPPPP&#*^$)$#(*#@$&#!!! I really really hope they enjoy the show! But then how can someone NOT adore gorgeous women singing and making out in their underwear on stage? COME ON!!! ^_^

Breakfast:

Berry Cobbler
Serves 6

1 C flour
2 T sugar
1 1/2 t baking powder
1/4 t baking soda
generous 1/4 t salt
2 1/2 oz (5 T) cold butter
1/2 C buttermilk
1 t vanilla

5 C blackberries (You can use any sort of berries you want, I used blueberries, raspberries and sliced strawberries)
1/3 – 1/2 C sugar, to taste
1 T flour
1/2 t cinnamon
zest of 1 orange (I used lemon zest)

1 T melted butter for brushing the top (I used small cubes of butter dotted over the top)
1 T turbinado or granulated sugar (I did a half white sugar half brown sugar mixture)

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

For the filling, toss the berries with the sugar, flour, cinnamon and orange zest to evenly coat all the fruit. Set aside.

For the cobbler topping, whisk together flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt in a mixing bowl.

Slice cold butter into small pieces and add to the flour mixture, tossing to coat each piece. Using your fingers or a pastry blender, blend the butter into the flour until the mixture looks like coarse crumbs. Combine the buttermilk and vanilla and add to the flour and butter mixture. Stir with a fork until just combined without any dry patches. Do not overmix. The dough should look lumpy and crumbly.

Toss the fruit and distribute into 6 ramekins or one baking dish. Distribute the dough evenly on top of the berries. Brush top of the dough with melted butter and sprinkle generously with sugar.

Bake until filling is bubbly and the topping is golden brown, about 25 to 30 minutes. Serve warm or at room temperature.

*I baked mine in one large ramekin. I did about a 1/3 recipe of this, it was the perfect amount of food! I didn’t feel like I was gorging and it came out GORGEOUSLY! So beautiful! So perfect! And tasted absolutely amazing! I adore buttermilk, so I’m glad this recipe actually called for it. Perfect start to what’s bound to be an awesome day!

Lunch:

Broccoli Mushroom and Brown Rice Soup

Insanely adapted from: http://thepharmgirl.blogspot.com/2011/11/soup-1-broccoli-and-wild-rice-soup.html

1- 6 oz box chicken-flavored wild rice mix (I used 1/2 cup Brown Rice)
1- 16 oz package frozen chopped broccoli (I used about 1.5 cups of fresh broccoli)
2 teaspoons dried minced onion (I used 1/2 cup fresh chopped onion)
1- 10 oz can cream of chicken soup (Nope! Meatless Monday, so I used 1/3 of a can of Cream of Mushroom soup)
1- 8 oz package cream cheese, cut into small cubes (2.5 T of Neufchatel cheese)
1/2 teaspoon celery salt/seed (I omitted this because I don’t have any)
salt and pepper to taste

Added:

1/2 cup mushrooms, cut into large chunks
1 clove Garlic
Fresh chopped Parsley, maybe about 2 T
Dash of Mrs. Dash Table Blend
Dash Lemon Juice (I think…hehe)

Combine rice, rice seasoning packet, and 6 cups of water in large stockpot.  Bring to a boil, then reduce heat and let simmer for 15 minutes, stirring once.   Stir in broccoli, onion, and celery seed, and simmer for about 5 minutes.  Stir in soup and cream cheese.  Cook and stir on low heat until cheese melts.

Uhhh lets see, I used 2 cups of water I think. I also sauteed my onion and garlic a bit before adding it to the soup. I let it simmer about 40 minutes till the rice was cooked. DAMN! So much soup and it was SO GOOD. I loved it! Luckily it tided me over quite well during my drive out to Hartville. I love Meatless Mondays!

Dinner:

They were of course having pork at my cousins house hehe, but my aunt bought a salad mix and made some hard boiled eggs just for me because she heard about my Meatless Monday thing!! YAY! So I made this gorgeous salad! I also had a couple of croissants and a little chocolate they had in a bowl hehe! Lovely!

The drive was awesome, I tend to take the slightly longer scenic route to save on tolls. But also just because I love to drive. It got to listen to some CDs I haven’t heard in forever because I’ve been driving my husband around for 6 months and usually just let him listen to whatever he wants. So I re-discovered some great music! One of them in particular was Type O Negative’s “October Rust”. How did I forget how great that album is??? It’s a classic! So that was amazing!

Show update to come soon!!!!!!

I missed my chance to work out today, I had too much to finish before heading out, but its ok. I’ll catch up later!

Comments on: "Leaving tonight on this Meatless Monday!" (1)

  1. omg omg omg omg! so excited!!! sir edmund is going to flip his freaking lid when he learns about the lingerie piece!!! i’m half tempted to run to nordstrom to get a “costume,” too. 😉 but i’m not making any promises!!! hahaha! i’ll message you with my number at twitter, and we can text to coordinate! 😀

Leave a Reply

