Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Behind

I’ve been busy busy busy the past couple of days. I swear I’m always and forever on the go, always SOMETHING that needs to be done. Relaxing is pretty much impossible. Sitting down in front of the computer for longer than 5 minutes is impossible. I’ve been going out a lot lately due to birthdays and family members that I don’t see as often as I should so I can never turn down a night out with them! So there are a few pictures that I’ve missed! So sorry about that!

Breakfast:

I’m certain I skipped breakfast today. My husband got up early, I still felt like shit (physically and mentally) and had little to no motivation to eat. I hate skipping breakfast as I know it’s the most important meal of the day. Even on my “diet” I would have NEVER EVER skipped breakfast. But I’ve learned that with “normal” eating I shouldn’t force myself to eat if I feel sick. I knew I was going to be going out to eat later too, so it didn’t matter to me if I pushed back eating by a few hours since I was having an earlier dinner than usual and would have little control over the menu.

Lunch:

Tuna Sandwich

One thing I will NOT do is not eat before working out. I could really hurt myself and I’ve learned if I have no fuel in me before exerting myself like that for an hour and a half, it’s very very difficult for me to keep my heartrate up and I feel like crap afterward because I basically just ran the car on an empty tank for miles and miles. Protein I’ve learned is especially important to get into me before a workout. So I made a tuna mixture with a little light mayo and sweet pepper relish. I topped that with big slices of New York Cheddar and Colby cheeses and broiled that for about 8 minutes, until the bread was crispy on the edges and the cheese was melted. Then I put some onion slices, tomato and lettuce on top of that. I failed to put the top on top for the picture, but rest assured it was all nestled between 2 pieces of bread.

Dinner:

Tonight I went out with my family to a place called Burger Bar 419. We never got to celebrate my dad’s birthday last month and he had yet to see my brother for his birthday this month. So we had sort of a joint family party for them both! In an attempt to keep feeling better about me, I decided on a veggie burger with kim chee on the side. PERFECT! The burger was DELICIOUS, it was topped with an apple slaw, no cheese. The kim chee was also like a slaw and was REALLY super spicy! And neither slaw was drenched in mayo! So I felt really great about myself. My brother also treated me to a beer, which was delicious! We went back to my dad’s for cake and I was able to limit myself to one slice. We each took a couple home, I gave one to my husband so I wasn’t stuck eating both (hes not usually into sweets, but he ate it anyway just because he understands my predicament). So all in all it was a GREAT night!

 

I sometimes forget how happy eating healthy makes me. While it definitely makes me happy to indulge occasionally, indulging every day starts to make me feel bad about myself. I WILL find this balance! I HAVE to! I cannot let food control me or control how I feel about myself. It’s not worth feeling like total crap just to have a couple candy bars. It makes me happy at the time, but not in the long run. And I KNOW THIS. I’m not dumb. I’m just….impatient with myself. I need to just slow down and savor and enjoy the smaller servings. I’m working on it!

Exercise: 1.5 hours at the gym (no yoga since husband got up early :<)

Leave a Reply

