Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

So tonight I have an old high school friend in town. We are all quite close and it would be a huge shame for me to miss seeing him simply because I feel I’ve been “going out to eat” too much recently. Its going to be at yet ANOTHER “gourmet burger bar” type place, I’m hoping that once again there is a veggie burger choice!! I know they have turkey burgers, so if nothing else that will be perfect. I’m looking forward to seeing my friend and I really hope that everyone can see that I look a lot healthier and am not having a veggie burger because I’m worried about fator calories and whatnot, I’m just trying to eat healthier due to all the cake and birthdays and junk I’ve been eating lately. I just want to feel good about myself. If nothing else, I know my brother and sister-in-law won’t judge me. They know me.

Is it bad that I’m still worried about what other people think? Does that ever really go away?

Breakfast:

Baked Blueberry Oatmeal Pudding

• 1 cup Coach’s Oats®
• 3 cups water
• 1 cup low-fat cottage cheese
• ½ cup Neufchatel cheese
• 1 egg
• 3 Tbsp. Splenda brown sugar
• 3 Tbsp. pure maple syrup (I used sugar-free maple syrup)
• 1 tsp. nutmeg
• 1 tsp. cinnamon
• 1 cup blueberries (I used blueberries, raspberries, strawberries and blackberries)

Preheat oven to 400° F

In medium pot bring water to boil and add oats; cook as directed on package. Once oatmeal is cooked remove from heat and let cool five minutes.

In large bowl combine oatmeal and cheeses until cheese is evenly spread throughout. Add brown sugar, syrup, nutmeg, cinnamon and egg; mix well. Once ingredients are combined fold in blueberries.
In a well greased 8×11” casserole dish pour in oatmeal mixture and bake for 40 minutes. Let the oatmeal mixture cool and set up for at least 20 minutes before serving.

*This was super healthy and yummy! I should have used 4 T of  Neufchatel cheese (doing a half recipe) but only used about 3.5 T. I didn’t bake ALL of the oat mixture because there was too much to fit into my little pan and then I only ate about 3/4 of it. It was nice and healthy as I used low-fat cottage cheese and sugar-free maple syrup. It was yummy! A great way to get lots of good things into my tummy without adding a whole ton of flour and sugar. ^_^

Pea and Pesto Soup

Taken from: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/nigella-lawson/pea-and-pesto-soup-recipe/index.html

Serves:
enough for 2 hearty bowls (so clearly I did a half-recipe)
Ingredients

3 cups water
3 cups frozen peas
2 scallions (I used chopped sweet onion)
1 teaspoon Maldon salt or kosher salt
1/2 teaspoon lime juice
4 tablespoons (1/4 cup) fresh pesto (recipe below)

Directions

The quickest way to proceed is to fill a kettle first and put it on to boil. When it’s boiled, measure the amount you need into a pan and put on the stove to come back to a boil.

Add the frozen peas, scallions, salt and lime juice and let everything bubble together for 7 minutes.

Discard the scallions (I left the onions in) and blitz the peas and their liquid with the pesto in a blender.*

Pour into a thermos flask that you’ve left filled with hot water and then emptied and make sure you screw the top on securely.

When blending hot liquids: Remove liquid from the heat and allow to cool for at least 5 minutes. Transfer liquid to a blender or food processor and fill it no more than halfway. If using a blender, release one corner of the lid. This prevents the vacuum effect that creates heat explosions. Place a towel over the top of the machine, pulse a few times then process on high speed until smooth.

Basil Mint Pesto:

Adapted from: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/basil-pesto-recipe/index.html

Ingredients

1/3 cups loosely packed basil leaves, washed and dried thoroughly
1/4 cups loosely packed mint leaves
1 T pine nuts
1 T freshly grated Parmesan
1 clove Garlic, roughly chopped
1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
2 T olive oil
Freshly ground black pepper

Directions

In a food processor, combine the basil, mint, pine nuts, Parmesan, garlic, and salt and puree. While the motor is running, drizzle in the oil until incorporated. Season with pepper, to taste. Use immediately or store in the refrigerator with a piece of plastic wrap placed right on the surface of the pesto to prevent discoloration, for up to 3 days, or freeze for up to 1 month.

*This was ridiculously delicious! I was SHOCKED at how creamy it was without using milk. (I ACTUALLY used the water like it called for.) I’m trying so hard to eat healthier and little things like that are helping! AND it was totally good as fuck!

Dinner:

I was so mad because my OTHER friends remember to take pictures of THEIR burgers. And I’m the only one of out them with a damn food blog and I STILL forgot! BAH! Anyway, I had this great black bean veggie burger with goat’s cheese, red onion, and spicy bourbon mustard. I also had a side salad with low-fat ranch dressing (that as usual I only drizzled a little on to taste). I have to say, I liked the actual veggie burger patty more at the other burger bar I went to with my dad…but I enjoyed the toppings on this one better. I did not drink any beer all night, neither at the restaurant nor at my brother’s house later.

I’m feeling so much better about myself. I looked in the mirror yesterday and felt pretty. I’m NOT calorie-restricting or counting. I’m simply just trying to eat healthier most of the time. Sure I’ll have a piece of cake every once in a while or a dinner laden with cheese sometimes….just not every single day. The whole “I can eat whatever I want thing” still applies because I’ve found I genuinely WANT to eat better and healthier most of the time!

You kids are all amazing for following this crazy journey with me.

I know I need to catch up on all of your blogs as well. I will I will. I promise. We’re all in this together.

Exercise: 1/2 hour of yoga, 1.5 hours at the gym

Comments on: "Yet ANOTHER night out! SHEESH!" (4)

  1. I love you your blog. LOVE. The rainbow sprinkles speak to me in a very special way.

  2. It never goes away! But it gets more and more tolerable! I shall be doing this Pea & Pesto soup. Heart you! ❤

Leave a Reply

