Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

I <3 Healthy Eating!

It’s been a good week! I feel great, I look great, I’m happy!

My husband passed his bartender test! He’s an officially licensed alcoholic beverage artist now!

He went out again last night, it’s really nice that he has friends now who are willing to drag his ass around. I also really like having the bed all to myself! I sleep MUCH more comfortably by myself. I dunno, I can just stretch out all the way across the damn thing and its so much more comfy than jamming your knees into your significant others back all night (or really, trying to AVOID doing so). So my morning has been very relaxing and uneventful. I got the chance to comment in some of the blogs I follow, responded to a couple of potential customers, and squeezed in my yoga. I will soon be off to get some work done!

It’s Meatless Monday!

Breakfast:

Strawberry and Pineapple Brown Rice Pudding

1/2 cup uncooked Brown Rice
Scant 1 cup Water
1 cup 2% Milk
1/2 t Cinnamon
1/2 t Vanilla extract
3  mashed Strawberries
1/3 cup Pineapple, roughly chopped
1/3 cup sliced Strawberries
1.5 T Molasses
1/4 t Salt
1/8 cup shredded unsweetened Coconut
Half a handful of Pistachio Nuts

Heat the water to a boil and add the rice. Reduce heat and simmer for about 20 minutes, until the rice has absorbed most of the water. Add the milk, cinnamon, salt, coconut and mashed strawberries and simmer, uncovered this time, another 20 minutes until a creamy consistency. Add molasses and fruit. Take off of the heat and allow to cool and thicken for 5 minutes. Throw the nut of your choice on top (I of course have a penchant for pistachios!) and a little extra shredded coconut!

*Great for people who don’t want their breakfasts “too sweet” (whatever that means), there was still just enough for someone like me! Nice and creamy, filling, lots of great nutrients  and good things for you! And since it was sweetened with molasses there were no refined sugars! YAY! If I made this again I would probably add a little honey drizzled on top, I can’t help it! I just love things sweet!

Lunch:

Ok I’m SO sad because I took a GORGEOUS picture of my beautiful soup with cute little sliced almonds on top and bright green chopped cilantro and it was pretty pretty pretty! Then I accidentally deleted it off my camera as I was moving pics onto my computer. GAAAAAH! :< So I’m using the picture off of the website I took the recipe from. SAD!

Butternut Squash and Almond Butter Soup

¼ cup water
1 onion
2 teaspoons minced fresh garlic
4 cups peeled and chopped butternut squash
½ teaspoon ground cumin
¼ teaspoon ground coriander
4 cups vegetable broth
½ cup almond butter
2 Tbsp tomato paste
1 Tbsp braggs liquid aminos
½ tsp crushed red pepper
¼ cup chopped fresh cilantro

Pre-preparations include peeling and chopping the butternut squash, so it’s assumed that part is already completed. Place the water into a large pot. Add the onion and garlic and cook stirring frequently for about 2 minutes.

Add the squash, cumin and coriander. Cook stirring frequently for another 2 to 3 minutes.

Add the remaining ingredients except the cilantro and bring to a boil. Reduce heat, cover and simmer for about 15 minutes or until squash is tender, stirring occasionally to make sure ingredients are well combined.

Puree in a blender, Vitamix or food processor. Add any additional water so that it’s at a consistency that you like. Garnish with cilantro before serving.

A common practice with any soup is to make a double batch of it and freeze the left over portions for another day.

Options:

I like this soup recipe quite spicy, so frequently add cayenne pepper, fresh ground black pepper and a very special Habanero oil garlic sauce I have access to here locally. Ginger would also add a nice kick in the colder fall and winter months. Experiment with your flavors. Turmeric would be a great addition to this recipe as well.

If you like, add 2 Tbsp of ground chia seeds before blending for additional fiber, nutrients and Omega 3 fat’s.

*GOD I love soups! This was wonderful, filling, amazing! I didn’t have any vegetable broth (you’d think I’d learn to keep some on hand at all times by now) so I just used water. I did in fact make mine spicy as well with crushed red pepper and Habanero sauce. Just sooooo good! AND I’m pretty impressed with my almond butter if I do say so myself.

Dinner:

Butternut Squash and Tofu Curry on Zucchini Noodles

Ingredients

2 tablespoons canola oil
1 small onion, thinly sliced
1 pound cubed butternut squash (I’d already roasted mine)
1 cup sliced mushrooms
5 cups vegetable or chicken stock
1 pound extra-firm tofu, dry-fried or deep-fried
2 tablespoons soy sauce (to marinade the tofu)
1 tablespoon rice vinegar (also for the marinade)
1 14-ounce can coconut milk (I didn’t have any so I used low-fat evaporated milk)
2 tablespoons jarred green curry paste (I used a sweet red curry paste)
1 tablespoon brown sugar
2 tablespoons fish sauce, plus more for adjusting seasoning
1 cup thinly sliced basil (I chopped mine)
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 tbsp grated fresh ginger
1 tbsp curry powder
1/2 tsp cumin
pinch cayenne (to taste)
1/2 tsp sea salt (more to taste)

Okay this took a few steps. I had to fry my tofu, which I did in just enough olive oil to cover the bottom of the pan. After they were done I let them drain on a paper towel and then soak in a marinade of soy sauce, rice vinegar and a little salt & pepper.

After that, I sauteed the onion, garlic, ginger and mushrooms together. After they were done I took them off the heat and put them aside.

Then I mixed together the evaporated milk, curry paste, brown sugar, fish sauce, basil, curry powder, cumin, cayenne powder and salt. I poured the sauce ingredients into the pan that I sauteed the onions in and let it reduce and thicken a little. Then I added the veggies back in, then the tofu with the marinade. And allowed it all to reduce and thicken. Add some cornstarch to thicken if you’d like. I added the roasted butternut squash (that I had already cooked earlier) and let it warm through.

Zucchini Noodles

3 small zucchini
1/2 t salt

If you have a mandolin/slicer, julienne the zucchini into small strips. If not, take a peeler, slice them with that, then julienne them by hand from there (which is what I had to do). Place them in a colander and toss them with the salt. Let them sit as long as you can, half an hour at the very least. Take a paper towel and lightly squish as much liquid out as you can. Then I just warmed them up in the microwave before putting the squash tofu curry on top.

*Pretty impressive! I would probably not put this on top of zucchini noodles again, those should be used for more Italian-type dishes. But I had zucchini that I needed to use up, so I used it anyway. And since I’ve been trying to keep things light lately, it made me ultimately feel better about myself to use them. The curry turned out WONDERFUL despite the fact that I didn’t have any coconut milk. You can never go wrong with curry and butternut squash! FAB!

 

I actually did not go to the gym today. I took that time out to take my husband out to apply at some places and go grocery shopping because he was out of food. Also, I had gone 5 days in a row. I know that the body needs rest to repair itself and build muscle and etc. Normally I would have at least done some stair stepping, but I figured a good full day’s rest would be good for me. I DID get to do a little shopping for myself as well, so it was still a good day!

Exercise: 1/2 hour of yoga

Comments on: "I <3 Healthy Eating!" (2)

  1. you should start a new brand of nuts!
    the MisPistachioNuts
    i think this would look great on the ingredient list:

    *Half a handful of MissPistachioNuts

    don’t you? 🙂

    congratulations to your hubby! i look forward to the day of when he’ll concoct me a dirty tangueray martini with extra regular olives 🙂

    i know you’re not a drinker – but do you have a favourite drink???

    • Oh no I totally drink! I’m just an overly responsible drinker, so if I’m in any situation where I have to drive, I won’t drink. My husband hasn’t had a license in 6 months and is somewhat of an alcoholic. So it’s more that I don’t get the opportunity to drink. Ever. Because I ALWAYS have to drive. I’m also the only one responsible enough to see that everyone else around me is drinking too much and so I stop drinking early so I can drive safely. I had to DD my own birthday party at a club once because I could see my entire entourage was getting plastered (including the one who was supposed to be driving).

      I love a good gin and tonic! I had my first dirty gin martini at my brother’s house the other day! And I love rum, I am a pirate after all. And I love beer, GOOD beer, I love nice dark stout and a caramely hopsy IPA. I’ve also a weakness for pumpkin beer. I like girly drinks too, because of course we all know I have an unhealthy hot ‘n heavy relationship with sugar. I love a good bourbon. A nice red wine from Chile. Basically who the hell am I fooling? Anything with a good quality alcohol is awesome by me!

      I should make a MissPistachio Nut Butter!!! That sounds amazing!!!

Leave a Reply

