Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Super-productivity like WHAT?

How often does this happen? I got an entire (semi-difficult!) project done in one day. I cleaned the kitchen from top to bottom. I finished and folded my laundry. I went to get my jewelry cleaned. AND still found time to work out and make 3 amazing meals! How awesome am I? Come on now…I’m pretty awesome.

It’s always something though, am I right? No time to stop and smell the roses, there’s work to be done!

Breakfast:

Sausage Egg and Cheese Breakfast Bake

I had some bread that was on its last leg that I really wanted to use up. So after getting frustrated with breakfast bake recipes I was finding online, I sort of made up my own.

1 stale Roll
1/4 lb Sausage
1/4 small Onion, chopped
2 Eggs
Scant 1/3 cup Milk
Cheddar Cheese, shredded
Colby Cheese, shredded
1 T Low-Fat Cream Cheese
1 T melted Margarine
1/4 t Garlic Powder
1/2 T fresh chopped Parsley
A little Olive Oil
S&P to taste

I cooked the sausage in a saucepan until browned. I moved that to a paper towel, wiped out the pan, put in about a t of olive oil and cooked my chopped onion with a bit of garlic powder and chopped parsley until translucent. I took the onion off of the heat and mixed in the cooked sausage. I then whisked together the eggs and milk, adding some salt and pepper as I saw fit. I sprayed my large ramekin with a little oil, broke the bread into small pieces and placed them tightly into the bottom of it. I drizzled the melted butter on top of the bread. Then, I added the sausage and onion mixture, threw some cubed cream cheese pieces on top of that, then added the cheddar and colby cheeses. I poured the egg mixture over all of that. I finished it all with a few thin slices of tomato and sprinkled a tiny bit of grated parmesan on top of it all, then let it sit and soak for 10 minutes while I cleaned the kitchen a bit. I baked it at about 375 for 45 minutes.

*This was so filling I couldn’t possibly eat the entire thing! Those savory dishes always really hit the spot when I make them right! I tried offering the rest to my husband, but of course he never takes anything I make. I don’t know why, he’s clearly hungry as I can hear his stomach growl and I KNOW he wants it, but won’t take it. *shrug* So I threw the rest away. (I ate probably 3/4 of it, so I didn’t throw a ton of it out or anything…it wasn’t an amount worth saving in the fridge though). For sort of winging it, this turned out really good! I’m feeling better about my cooking/baking abilities!

Lunch:

Potato Salsa Wrap

I cooked and mashed a potato. Added a little cream of mushroom condensed soup, margarine, salt and pepper. I sauteed some onions, yellow peppers and peas with some cajun seasoning. I mixed that in with the mashed potato, then topped it all with some peach salsa. Quite good! VERY filling, once again. ^_^

Dinner:

Once again something drenched in ketchup for Nicole!!!

Dad’s Stuffed Bell Peppers

Ingredients

  • 4 bell peppers, any color
  • Salt
  • 5 Tbsp extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 medium yellow onion, peeled and chopped
  • 1 clove of garlic, peeled and chopped
  • 1 lb of lean ground beef
  • 1 1/2 cup of cooked rice (I used brown rice)
  • 1 cup chopped tomatoes, fresh or canned (if using can, drain of excess liquid first)
  • 1 tbsp chopped fresh oregano or 1 teaspoon of dried oregano (I also added fresh chopped parsley and basil)
  • Fresh ground pepper
  • 1/2 cup ketchup
  • 1/2 tsp of Worcestershire Sauce
  • Dash of Tabasco sauce

Method

1 Bring a large pot of water to a boil over high heat. Meanwhile, cut top off peppers 1 inch from the stem end, and remove seeds. Add several generous pinches of salt to boiling water, then add peppers and boil, using a spoon to keep peppers completely submerged, until brilliant green (or red if red peppers) and their flesh slightly softened, about 3 minutes. Drain, set aside to cool.

2 Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Heat 4 tbsp of the oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Add onions and cook, stirring often, until soft and translucent, about 5 minutes. Add the garlic and cook a minute more. Remove skillet from heat, add meat, rice, tomatoes, and oregano, and season generously with salt and pepper. Mix well. (You may find it easier to put the ingredients at this point into a large bowl and mix together with your hands.)

3 Drizzle remaining 1 tablespoon of olive oil inside the peppers. Arrange the cut side of the peppers up in a baking dish, then stuff peppers with filling. Combine ketchup, Worcestershire sauce, Tabasco sauce, and 1/4 cup of water in a small bowl, then spoon over filling. Add 1/4 cup of water to the baking dish. Place in oven and bake for 40-50 minutes (or longer, depending on how big the peppers are that you are stuffing), until the internal temperature of the stuffed peppers is 150-160°F.

Yield: Serves 4-6.

*I added even MORE ketchup when I split them open! Mmmmmm! Next time I would split them in half for a bit more ketchup-topping surface area hehehe! Otherwise these were delicious and a great ending to another healthy eating day free of refined flours and sugars!

So I’ve decided that I feel good enough about myself that I am going to weigh myself in the morning. I’m fairly certain that I am somewhere between 140 and 145 (a gain of around 15-20 lbs of my last known weight which was 125). I have been working out for 2 months straight on an incredibly consistent basis, so I’m sure a lot of that is going to be muscle weight (I can feel how much stronger and harder my legs and butt are, I’ve definitely got muscle!) but I’m not sure how to factor that in to my weight…like…I know its not all fat, though some of it obviously is. But its ok. I think it’s a pretty good guess! If it’s any more than that, sure I’ll be a little disappointed, but I’m not going to let it change how I feel about me. It’s more of a general knowledge. I do not plan on starting to weigh myself every day again. I think I know my body well enough to know how much I’ve gained, so my guess couldn’t POSSIBLY be that far off.

Wish me luck!

Exercise: 1/2 hour of yoga, 1.5 hours at the gym

Comments on: "Super-productivity like WHAT?" (1)

  1. FUNNY because I just finished eating some salted, roasted cashews, inspired by Jessica’s WIAW. And, as I scrolled through your post, I spotted KETCHUP just as I dipped a big hunk of tofu into a nice big bowl of Heinz57!!! So flattered that you’ve dedicated your ketchup to moi. :):):) And congrats on the clean kitchen! I’m a clean freak, too! xxx

Leave a Reply

