Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

RED DAY!!!

I got my period today!!!!

FINALLY!!!

In celebration of my womanly parts all functioning properly again after a birth control pill mishap 2 months ago, as promised, I will eat RED food all day!!!

ALSO: I weighed myself.

143 lbs.

EXACTLY in the middle of what I thought it would be. (140-145lbs).

It’s going to be a really great day!

Breakfast:


Red Velvet Waffles

Ingredients:
1 1/2 cups Cake Flour (I used half cake flour half AP because I ran out of cake flour)
1/4 cup Unsweetened Cocoa
1 Tablespoon Sugar (I used the recipe equivalent of 1 1/4 cups sugar)
1/2 Teaspoon Salt
2 Teaspoons Baking Powder
1 Tablespoon Red Food Coloring
1 Teaspoon Cider or White Balsamic Vinegar
1 Teaspoon Vanilla Extract
6 Tablespoons Melted Butter (I used oil)
1 1/2 Cups Milk
3 Eggs, Separated
preparation
Sift together the dry ingredients into a large bowl, In another bowl whisk together the Egg Yolks, Food Coloring, Vanilla, Milk, Melted Butter and Vinegar. With a few brisk strokes mix the Egg mixture to the dry ingredients (the mixture should have small lumps and pebbles) Beat the egg whites until stiff but not dry and with a spatula incorporate them into the batter without losing their loft. Cook according to the manufacturers instructions in a waffle iron. Serve with warm Maple Syrup.

*LOVED these!!! I did not use quite enough red food coloring, I don’t know how I screwed that up…you can tell that they are red, but BARELY. Ah well, they tasted great!!!! It’s my first chocolate breakfast! It was a celebration day, so I didn’t mind sort of upping the sugar a bit (as some other recipes suggested). I used a Smucker’s Strawberry syrup to sort of save time, I was hungry! It’s ok, it tastes sort of like jam though without the chunks of strawberry. I like my homemade syrup better. Otherwise these were totally worth me breaking my week-long healthy eating streak! ^_^ CELEBRATIONS ALL AROUND!

Lunch:

Roasted Tomato and Basil Soup

Taken from: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/ina-garten/roasted-tomato-basil-soup-recipe/index.html

Ingredients

  • 3 pounds ripe plum tomatoes, cut in half lengthwise
  • 1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons good olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon kosher salt
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 cups chopped yellow onions (2 onions)
  • 6 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1 (28-ounce) canned plum tomatoes, with their juice
  • 4 cups fresh basil leaves, packed
  • 1 teaspoon fresh thyme leaves
  • 1 quart chicken stock or water

Directions

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F. Toss together the tomatoes, 1/4 cup olive oil, salt, and pepper. Spread the tomatoes in 1 layer on a baking sheet and roast for 45 minutes.

In an 8-quart stockpot over medium heat, saute the onions and garlic with 2 tablespoons of olive oil, the butter, and red pepper flakes for 10 minutes, until the onions start to brown. Add the canned tomatoes, basil, thyme, and chicken stock. Add the oven-roasted tomatoes, including the liquid on the baking sheet. Bring to a boil and simmer uncovered for 40 minutes. Pass through a food mill fitted with the coarsest blade. Taste for seasonings. Serve hot or cold.

*I roasted my tomato (1 small one that I just cut in half) directly on the open flame of my stovetop. Heck of a lot quicker! Got a nice char on the outside of them then chopped them up and threw them into the pot (that I had already sauteed my onion and garlic in) with 1 cup canned crushed tomatoes and about 1 cup water, some salt and pepper, and I threw in a dried red chili pepper for a bit of extra heat. I let it simmer for about half an hour or so, I honestly didn’t pay super close attention. Then I threw in the rest of the spices and tossed it all into the blender. I didn’t puree it too smoothy, I like chunky soups sometimes. Roasting the tomatoes was a GREAT idea!!! I never knew the difference a nice char can make in flavour! YAY!

Dinner:

Red Wine Steak with Garlic Potatoes

For the marinade: http://providentpotato.wordpress.com/2010/06/28/shoulder-cuts-and-the-art-of-tenderizing-with-marinades/

Taken from:

3/4 cup reasonably fresh red wine (if you wouldn’t drink it, don’t marinate with it.)

2 TBSP olive oil

2 TBSP Worcestershire (or 1 teaspoon of brown sugar or honey)

4 cloves of garlic, minced

Approximately 1 TBSP fresh thyme, minced (1 teaspoon dried)\

Approximately 2 TBSP fresh oregano, minced (1 TBSP dried)

7 good cranks of freshly ground black pepper

1 teaspoon table salt

Wisk the ingredients together, then add jaccarded meat to the mix.  Let the steak marinate in the refrigerator for at least 3-4 hours, but no more than 24.

Garlic Potatoes

Taken from: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/alton-brown/creamy-garlic-mashed-potatoes-recipe/index.html

Ingredients

  • 3 1/2 pounds russet potatoes
  • 2 tablespoons kosher salt
  • 16 fluid ounces (2 cups) half-and-half
  • 6 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 6 ounces grated Parmesan

Directions

Peel and dice potatoes, making sure all are relatively the same size. Place in a large saucepan, add the salt, and cover with water. Bring to a boil over medium-high heat and then reduce heat to maintain a rolling boil. Cook until potatoes fall apart when poked with a fork.

Heat the half-and-half and the garlic in a medium saucepan over medium heat until simmering. Remove from heat and set aside.

Remove the potatoes from the heat and drain off the water. Mash and add the garlic-cream mixture and Parmesan; stir to combine. Let stand for 5 minutes so that mixture thickens and then serve.

*Good old fashioned meat and potatoes! My southern grandparents would be proud! I cooked my steak as directed out on the grill after it marinaded for about 4 hours. The steak itself wasn’t of the best or freshest quality (as I had frozen it a long time ago), but grilling it was a good option to force some extra flavour in there. ^_^ I made the potatoes as directed but added a bit of margarine as well. I sauteed a little onion and some sliced mushrooms and then added the marinade to the pan along with a pinch of allspice. I allowed that to cook together for a little while and added just a little cornstarch to thicken it up to more of a gravy consistency. Then put most of this on top of my potatoes and a little of the gravy on the steak. This was fantastic! If the steak were a better cut, I would have thought I was eating in a restaurant!

 

This concludes my red food celebration day! Don’t be shy, let me know what your favorite red food is and how you like it prepared!

OH also I was invited to a party in the later hours of the night and had a nice glass of wine there as well, RED wine of course!!! ^_^ I also had 2 Airheads for a mid-day snack (left over from the treacherous car ride 1 week ago), but all in all still did really well with my food today I think!

Exercise: 1/2 hour of yoga, 1.5 hours at the gym (a difficult one though, I don’t think I had any protein packed food for either breakfast or lunch so it was hard to keep my heart rate up)

Comments on: "RED DAY!!!" (3)

  1. whew! no baby pistachios. 😉

    (although i know you already said there’s no chance of you being prego – haha). 🙂

    • That’s always the OTHER big plus of having a period. A Wee Pistachio is not appealing to me, and confirmation of its non-existence every month is AWESOME!

  2. Congratulations, I think!

    That waffle is incredible, and not totally ‘unhealthy.’ Strawberries=antioxidants, after all 🙂 They seem like gothic waffles to me – there’s something about the colour, shapes and patterns that it quite eldritch. Hence, I love them!

    Glad that you reacted well to weighing in too – I can’t estimate my weight for toffee…even when I go a week and then weigh myself I’ve felt ‘lighter’ and gained and (well, this hasn’t happened for a while now!) felt piggy and lost. All I know is that in your photos you look awesome, and there isn’t an iota of flab on you.

    xxx

Leave a Reply

