Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Injury advice?

My ankle is still a little swollen today, but not as bad as it was yesterday. I really really want to go to the gym. I could just work out on the stair stepper here, which is great for fat burn, but not too good for cardio. If I stick to the low-impact machines at the gym and don’t do any treadmill running, do you think it’ll be OK on my ankle? I can’t just sit here. I don’t want to injure myself any more though. It really doesn’t hurt that bad, just a little swollen.

I have big birthday party to go to this weekend! Special birthday cupcakes will be made. Oh yes they will. ^_^

Breakfast:

Baked Orange Coconut Banana Donuts

Taken from: http://www.loveveggiesandyoga.com/2012/02/baked-orange-coconut-banana-donuts.html

Makes 8 donuts in this Wilton doughtnut pan

1/4 cup banana, mashed (about 1/3 of a large banana)

1 tablespoon butter or margarine, melted

1 tablespoon orange zest

1/3 cup white sugar

1/4 cup brown sugar

1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 cup buttermilk (you could use 1/2 cup regular milk/cream/nut/soy milk + 1/2 teaspoon vinegar to mimic buttermilk if you don’t keep buttermilk on hand)

1 egg (or flax/chia egg or other egg replacer)

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/2 cup coconut flakes (I used Tropical Traditions unsweetened shredded coconut. They are unsweetened and very fine flakes. If using Baker’s or grocery-store brand shredded coconut, increase to 3/4 cup)

1 teaspoon baking powder

3/4 cup + all-purpose flour* (Note: depending on the type of coconut flakes used and how “runny” your mashed banana is, you may need to add more flour. Batter should be fairly thick. Thicker than pancake or waffle batter, not as thick as cookie dough. Add enough flour to reach a fairly thick batter, possibly 1/4 cup more)

Pre-heat oven to 325F and spray the donut pan with cooking spray, very well. In a microwave-safe bowl, mash the banana and add the butter. Microwave the banana and butter for 20 seconds, or until butter begins to melt, and stir to combine. Add orange zest, sugars, cinnamon, buttermilk, egg, and vanilla and stir to combine. Add the coconut flakes, baking powder, and flour and stir until just combined. Neatly spoon batter into donut cavities (or pour batter into a Ziploc bag and cut the corner off and then pipe the batter into donut pan). Bake 15 to 18 minutes, or until dough is set and spring back when touched. Watch for signs of browning as coconut flakes tend to burn easily and baking times will vary. Allow donuts to cool for at least 5 minutes before removing them from the pan.

Orange Coconut Vanilla Cream Cheese Glaze

1 teaspoon+ orange zest (increase if you like more orange flavor)

1/2 cup+ powdered sugar

1 to 2 tablespoons cream cheese, softened

1/2 teaspoon+ vanilla extract

1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

1 tablespoon+ shredded coconut

1 to 2 tablespoons milk or cream

While donuts are baking and cooling, make the frosting by combining all ingredients except for the cream. Note: All amounts are suggestions and add more or less of certain flavors, to taste and based on how thick or thin you prefer the glaze. Add cream slowly, whisking or stirring, until desired consistency is achieved. Spoon the glaze over cooled donuts or dip them in the glaze bowl. If you glaze the donuts while they are hot, the glaze will run more, and that’s okay, too. Add a final dusting of coconut flakes, orange zest, cinnamon-sugar mixture; sprinkles, or other extras over the top of the glazed donuts, if desired.

To make Gluten Free: Use a gluten-free flour blend. To make Vegan: Replace the buttermilk with full fat coconut milk or almond milk and add 1 teaspoon vinegar as noted in the recipe to mimic buttermilk; increase the amount of baking powder to 1.5 teaspoons. Use melted margarine or Earth Balance, use a flax/chia egg or other egg replacer rather than regular egg, use Tofutti instead of regular cream cheese.

*I made these into “donut holes” with a mini-muffin pan. I rolled them in the glaze and sprinkled a little orange zest and coconut on top. They blew me away! The flavours all balanced absolutely perfectly and the orange in particular really stood out! And they were gorgeous! I wish I had the patience to let the glaze sit and harden a little but alas, I was hungry. Hehe! It’s so hard to find good recipes using orange, so I will definitely be adding that as a category and using more of it!

Also, there was a bunch of leftover glaze. Instead of shoving it down my gullet, I took a queue from Nicole and murdered it in the sink by drowning! Hey, I’m making cupcakes this weekend, I really don’t need all that extra crap inside me! ^_^ Thanks for the inspiration Nicole!!

Lunch:

Leftovers!!! (Rare occasion!!!) Leftover Pork White Bean soup and Mac & Cheese! It helped free up a bunch of my day, so I had time to go supplies shopping and work out!

Dinner:

Crispy Orange Tofu

1 package super firm tofu, drained and chopped into 1-2 inch cubes

3/4 cup panko (Japanese breadcrumbs.  In my opinion, far superior to regular.)

1 egg

1 tbsp water

1/4 cup flour

dash each of garlic powder, coriander and cinnamon

Orange Sauce: 

1 cup orange juice (I used fresh squeezed, because I had oranges)

4 tbsp rice vinegar

3 tbsp brown sugar

2 tbsp sweet Thai chili sauce

2 tbsp soy sauce

1/2 tsp sesame oil

1/2 tsp red pepper flakes

salt and pepper

Added (from a similar recipe, also take into consideration that I did a 1/4 recipe of the sauce above):

Juice of 1/2 of a small lemon
1 t Orange Zest
Ginger
Garlic
1/4 cup Water
1 t Cornstarch
To assemble the sauce, put all the ingredients in a small sauce pan and bring it to a boil.  Let it boil gently for awhile, maybe 10 or 15 minutes, until it reduces.  If it’s still too runny for your taste, whisk in a half a teaspoon of flour, and then cook for another 3-4 minutes.

For the tofu, set up three bowls, one with the flour, one with the panko and the spices, and one with the egg and the water (whisked together).  Spray down a cookie sheet with Pam and set the oven to 375 degrees.  With each chunk of tofu, dredge it in the flour, then the egg mixture, than coat in the panko/spice mixture, and set on the cookie sheet.  Do this for all the tofu.  Spray the tofu again with Pam before you put it in the oven.  Bake it, turning every 10 minutes or so, for about 30 minutes, or until the tofu is golden brown.

*I also sauteed some chopped onion, sliced carrots and broccoli with a little olive oil, salt and pepper. I made some sticky rice while I was sauteing the veggies. I put the small layer of rice at the bottom of my bowl, then added the veggies on top of that, then the tofu. I heated the sauce down until it was the thickness I like, then drizzled that on top of everything! SHIT SON this was amazing! The tofu???? You have no idea! I was so proud that it was baked instead of fried, it was the crispiness I’ve always wanted! It was SO PERFECT and the sauce was FABULOUS on top of it all! SO happy!

 

I did go work out! Only for an hour though to try and be nice to my poor ankle…I’ll take another anti-inflammatory before going to bed and I think it’ll be better by morning! It’s INCREDIBLY windy outside right now, which actually worries me a bit because we have a massive tree in the backyard. Last year a huge branch fell onto my car and crushed it. So I have good reason to worry. Let’s hope a tree doesn’t fall onto my house tonight!

My husband is out for the evening. He’s staying with some friends drinking and whatnot tonight. I stayed in to watch IT Crowd and made my amazing food! Super good evening! I feel bad as this is the second day in a row I’ve not done my yoga even though I had every intention to. I will get to in the morning definitely because my husband won’t be here. I wanted to do it tonight, but I’m worn out. It would be better if I tried the new moves that I want to try in the morning anyway after I’ve rested my ankle a while longer.

I’ve decided what cupcakes I’m making tomorrow: Hot Buttered Rum!

Exercise: 1 hour at the gym

Comments on: "Injury advice?" (8)

  1. ilove icing more than muffins haha

  2. so excited that i could influence a murder!!! 😉

    and seriously? regarding the exercise? i had a very weak ankle from ballet for all of my life until about well into my second year of yoga practice. each time that i’d sprain my ankle during those first two years, i’d show up for yoga class, practicing on a big fat ankle, but making it stronger. and now? it’s been well over one year since my last sprain. so definitely do a hardcore vinyasa flow class – no treadmill running. there are several good classes in cleveland, but i’m not familiar with any in toledo (boo).

    i sometimes do workshops in cleveland in which case i’ll expect you to be there next time with me. it would be so much blog girl fun!!!!!!!!!

    • I would love to go to a workshop! If I can afford the gas out there…I’ve been poor and freaking out about it lately (as you know). I want to try doing a couple leggy balance type things tonight and see if I can hold my leg up behind my back. I’m really nowhere NEAR as advanced as you are. I’d love to be though, I don’t have the room in my house to do the cool crazy things that chick does in that video though…I barely have room to do the beginner crap that I do. 😦

      I did go ahead and go to the gym! I just replaced the treadmill running with a stair stepper and also cut down my workout to an hour just to be nice to my ankle. I also took an anti-inflammatory about an hour ago, so that should help too! I’ll try some new yoga poses just for you to try and strengthen my ankles! I’m excited about it!

  3. These look yummy, might have to make them some day 🙂 xx

  4. Scarlett said:

    My go-to “injured foot” workout is swimming. It’s a great combo of cardio and strength…assuming you have access to a pool. 😉

    • Bah! I used to be a member of a gym that had a cardio movie theatre room, a pool and a sauna. That cost me $45 a month. The place I’m at now is still awesome, has the stuff I like working out on every day, but is only $10 a month. So you can imagine its pool status…:/

Leave a Reply

