Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Cupcake Day!!!

It is, my friends, that time again!!!

A very close friend of mine is having a birthday and therefore, he gets cupcakes!

He is a pirate. FROM the Caribbean and everything! So I am making him Hot Butter Rum cupcakes!

Because I mean, what’s a pirate without his rum?

For now though I try to choke down some breakfast. For some reason I have absolutely no appetite this morning. None. The girl who loves food doesn’t want any. This makes me sad. But if nothing else I need to get some breakfast into my system as I do plan on working out later!

Breakfast:

Scrambled Eggs with Broccoli, Orange Bell Pepper and Mozzarella Cheese

Tummy couldn’t handle anything sweet…I left this one pretty light on the cheese and spices. Just a little Italian mix and a basil chiffonade.

Lunch:

Peanut Butter and Banana Wrap

Well, I of course had no appetite for lunch. But I HAD to eat something before working out, and something quick because I was extremely short on time. This wrap was the PERFECT protein and potassium-packed punch in the face! And it was GOOD. I mean REALLY good! Just a layer of peanut butter on a low-fat wrap, drizzle a little honey on top of that, add sliced bananas and a few raisins and BAM! You’ve got all the energy you need to kick your workout in the ass!

Dinner:

You guys, don’t be mad at me. I didn’t have any dinner. I tried, I really did! I went to a bar with friends and had EVERY intention of buying food there…but when I looked over the menu there was simply NOTHING appetizing on it. I was disappointed in myself but wasn’t willing to waste money on food that I didn’t want. Every time someone brought food past me and I smelled it, it made me a little queasy. What is WRONG with me? I guess some days normal people just aren’t hungry? I’m very confused.

On a lighter note I DID make these fucking amazing cupcakes! I DID try one, you have to for quality control you know? Gotta be certain you’re not giving your friends crap right? SO I guess in a way I had a cupcake for dinner and that was it!

Hot Buttered Rum Cupcakes:

These contained no milk as my friend is lactose intolerant. The cake itself contains rum, butterscotch schnapps, molasses and even a little white pepper in the spices! Then I brushed a layer of rum directly on top of the cake. Next was a butter, sugar and rum glaze. Then to top it all off a browned butter and rum frosting with gold piratey sprinkles all wrapped up in a gold piratey cup! The first thing that hits you when you smell them is the browned butter! SO nutty and delicious! Then when you bite into it you get that warm rum flavour that follows you all the way down into your tummy! Just like taking a shot of rum! SHEESH!!!!! So very very good! And they rose beautifully even though there was no milk in them!

In case you are curious, I took most of the recipe from here: http://cupcakerehab.com/2009/12/hot-buttered-rum-cupcakes-for-all-your-drunk-relatives/

I substituted some oil, cake flour and added more rum than it called for.

I got the glaze recipe from here: http://www.food.com/recipe/drunken-butter-rum-cupcakes-385925

And the browned butter frosting recipe from here: http://cupcakevillains.wordpress.com/2010/10/18/hot-buttered-rum-cupcakes-totally-a-keeper/

I also added more rum into the frosting than it called for.

Hopefully I’ll do better tomorrow on the whole food thing. I really hope my appetite comes back, I miss it so very much!

Jack Donaghy the cat is snoring.

Exercise: 1 hour at the gym (ankle is still bothering me)

Comments on: "Cupcake Day!!!" (1)

  1. Scarlett said:

    Yes, sometimes normal people just aren’t hungry, from what I hear. :p

    and those cupcakes! they look amazing!!

Leave a Reply

