Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

A friend gave me the crepe suggestion to use up some of my fruit! My stomach actually GROWLED this morning! I was proud of it! I even souped these up to make them just a bit healthier!

Breakfast:

Whole Wheat Strawberry-Banana Crepes

Crepes:

Crepe recipe:

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour (I used a little more than half whole wheat and half AP)
  • 1 teaspoons salt
  • 1 cup milk (preferably whole) (I used buttermilk)
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 tablespoon melted butter, plus more for cooking crepes
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions:

Put the flour and salt and in a large mixing bowl. Gradually whisk in the milk. Whisk in the eggs, 1 at a time, and then whisk in the sugar, melted butter, and vanilla. Cover and let rest in the refrigerator for about 1 hour.

Heat an 8-inch nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Melt a small pat of butter in the pat and swirl around so that it lightly coats the surface.

Add 1/3 cup of the batter and move your wrist in a circular pattern to coat the pan with thin even layer of batter. Cook for about 1 minute or until the first side browns lightly, then flip and cook 45 seconds to 1 minute longer. Remove to a plate and repeat with remaining batter.

Filling:

Taken from: http://www.closetcooking.com/2008/06/strawberry-cheesecake-crepe.html

Ingredients:
1 (4 ounce) package cream cheese (softened)
1/4 cup icing sugar (I used half the amount of sugar since I substituted sweetened greek yogurt for the heavy cream)
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1 teaspoon lemon zest
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 cup heavy cream (Substituted with honey greek yogurt)
1 batch crepes
4 tablespoons strawberry jam (Did not use)
2 cups strawberries (sliced)

Added: 1 banana, sliced

Directions:
1. Mix the cream cheese, icing sugar, lemon juice, lemon zest and vanilla in a bowl.
2. Whip the heavy cream and fold it into the cream cheese mixture.
3. Spread 1 table spoon strawberry jam onto a crepe.
4. Add 1/4 cup of the cream cheese mixture and some strawberries in the crepe, roll and serve.

*My substitutions made this MUCH healthier and better for me while still getting that sweetness that I love! These were actually probably the very best crepes I’ve ever made. I did a half-recipe, but didn’t end up using all the batter or all of the filling…and then I didn’t even eat all of what I did make. I left maybe 3 or 4 bites, I was just so full. So I just threw that out. I’m feeling wonderful!

STILL BINGE-FREE through this entire experience!!!!

Lunch:

HOLY CRAP it’s 1985!!! I needed just a quick protein fix before going to the gym, so I totally went all little kid on myself and made these!!! I also had an apple. Fresh, yummy, really hit the spot actually! My energy was awesome during my workout, my heart rate was not hard to keep up whatsoever.

Dinner:

We took my grandma out to Outback Steakhouse for her birthday. She’s an amazing woman and my inspiration in credibility, accountability and faithfulness. She’s the strongest woman I know. She’d never been to Outback because her husband never wanted to go anywhere but ONE restaurant.  Though she is very very sad that he is gone, she is happy she now gets to try new things and go new places. She always wanted to try a Bloomin’ Onion! ^_^ So we got her one of those, I picked at it a little bit and enjoyed it,  but of course deep fried stuff tends to not really do it for me anymore hehe. I also had a little bread with butter, I LOVE pumpernickel bread, I’m not about to let that sit in front of me and not have any! I ordered the Hearts of Gold Mahi with the mixed veggies. WONDERFUL! Though they put a LOT of sauce on my plate, I was happy that most of the area the sauce was sitting in was a big empty area and wasn’t being soaked up by my rice or veggies, so I was able to eat those without them being drowned in sauce. The fish was FABULOUS! I was so full I didn’t even finish my rice! I very much recommend this dish!

 

Oh you guys, things are going well! They really are. I love being around my family and not worrying about begging my husband to come along only to watch him get plastered and worry about the stupid things he might say. It’s a weight off my shoulders to not have to take care of him anymore. I am very happy.

Exercise: 1/2 hour of yoga (YES), 1 hour at the gym (wish I could do more, but my ankle is STILL a bit swollen)

Comments on: "I ate this morning! Yay!!!" (2)

  1. Apologies for the redundant comment but you are doing *so* well – keep fighting. You have no idea how much I admire you for not bingeing even with such immense stress and upheaval.

    I rarely use the (overused) word ‘inspiring’ but this truly is.

    xxx

    • It’s weird how easy its been…maybe I’m not the emotional eater I thought I was. OR, and this is more likely, maybe in dealing with ex-loser (as Nicole refers to him, I’ve adopted it ~_^) I’ve been unhappy for a long time and didn’t realize that was what was triggering my binges until now. I am happy. VERY happy. And so don’t feel the need to binge. It actually makes a lot of sense.

      My biggest concern for myself is keeping this up while I’m living alone. I’ll have no one to worry about judging me or to hide it from. I’ll be free to eat as much as I please. I think I’ll be alright. I will definitely still need this blog, I’m not going anywhere. None of us ever completely recover.

      Thank you again! God, this support is just so amazing I cannot begin to describe. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

