Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Selling my Harley

As a way to get the hell out of here and into my own awesome little place, I’m selling my Harley Davidson.

This makes me EXTREMELY sad.

There’s a million reasons why this is the very best option for me though. If I sell it, I won’t have to shell out extra for garage space in an apartment (a lot of them don’t even allow motorcycles), I can save the money on the insurance, and really I plan on living in an area where I can walk everywhere. Ultimately when it comes down to it, don’t need it. Also, I can pay off a lot of my credit card debt with the money I make from it so I can start from scratch again.

I’m still going to ask my dad if he can help me with a security deposit though. Even if I sell the bike I could really use the help…and he’s rich. I think he’ll be willing to give me $400 for a deposit. I’d even be willing to pay him back if he wanted. I’ve done it before. Actually, I’ve only ever asked my dad for money once before, and even then it was a loan which I have since paid back. I NEVER ask my dad for money. Though I have a feeling that he may feel….obligated to help me in this situation. My mom left him because he had not one, but two affairs. It would be good karma for him to help me right now.

I’m hoping to be out of here within a couple weeks. It was originally planned for maybe a month or two.

Breakfast:

Lemon Ricotta Souffle Pancakes with Banana and Walnuts

Adapted from: http://sweetsavoryplanet.blogspot.com/2011/05/lemon-ricotta-souffle-pancakes-with.html

3/4 cup (75 g) of all purpose flour
1/3 cup (63 g) of sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
4 eggs separated
4 tablespoons of unsalted butter (2 melted and 2 for the pan) (I did not use extra butter on the pan, I just sprayed it with oil)
2/3 cup (165 g) of ricotta, whole or part skim
1/4 cup (60 ml) of lemon juice
zest of a lemon
1/2 teaspoon of vanilla
1/4 cup (42 g) of fresh or frozen berries (I used sliced bananas and chopped walnuts)
Turbinado or raw sugar for sprinkling over the top
Confectioners sugar for a light dusting
A light maple syrup or Lyle’s golden syrup

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees and preheat a 10-inch iron skillet or saute pan.

Mix flour, sugar and salt in a bowl.

Mix eggs yolks, drained ricotta, butter, lemon juice, zest vanilla in a large bowl and mix well.

Place the separated egg whites in a mixing bowl and whisk to stiff peaks.

Add the flour mixture to the wet mixture and combine well.  Add a small dollop of the egg whites and mix in to lighten the batter.  Add the remaining egg whites and fold in with a spatula until combined.

Remove the pan from the oven and put 2 tablespoons of butter it it.  When the butter has melted add batter, sprinkle a few berries across the top and sprinkle on about a tablespoon or 2 of turbinado sugar. Return the pan to the oven.  Bake for 20 to 25 minutes.  When the pancake is puffed and lightly browned on top it is ready.

Serve with a light sprinkling of confectioners sugar and serve with syrup of choice.

Enjoy!

*This was an awesome way to use up the last half of banana that I had! This turned out so much thicker and fluffier than I thought it would. There seemed to be such a small amount of batter, then I folded in the beaten egg whites and it really made a massive difference! DO THIS step!

Lunch:

Black Bean Soup

1.5 cups Beef Stock
3/4 cup Black Beans (I used canned)
1 small Carrot, shredded
1/3 cup Corn
1/4 Onion, chopped
1 small clove Garlic, grated/minced
1/2 t Cumin
1/2 T Chili Paste
1/2 T Lime Juice
1 Bay Leaf
Fresh chopped Parsley
Dollop of Sour Cream
1 T Olive Oil
S&P to taste

Heaven knows I’ve probably missed something! I added the beef stock first along with about 1/3 cup of black beans and let it simmer for about 5 minutes. I took a potato masher and mashed up the beans into the stock. I added the rest of the beans, carrot, corn, garlic, cumin, chili paste, lime juice, bay leaf and parsley. I let that simmer, uncovered, for about 15 minutes. I added S&P. I took it off the heat and threw half of it into a food processor and pureed it. Then added it back into the rest of the soup. Throw in a dollop of sour cream and mix it in. Yeah this soup was ridiculously delicious! I LOVE black beans! GREAT form of protein and an awesome energy boost before working out!

Dinner:

Strawberry Balsamic Chicken

Adapted from: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/strawberry-balsamic-chicken/

Ingredients

4 (8 ounce) containers strawberry yogurt
1/2 cup balsamic vinegar
1 tablespoon white sugar (I only needed half the amount of sugar since I had a honey sweetened Greek yogurt)
1 tablespoon ground black pepper
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon kosher salt
4 skinless, boneless chicken breast halves
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 teaspoon lemon juice
4 large strawberries
2 teaspoons minced fresh parsley
1 teaspoon minced fresh mint leaves
1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar (optional)
Added:
1/2 cup Mushrooms
Fresh chopped Tarragon

I seared strips of chicken in olive oil, salt and pepper until cooked through. I blended together the yogurt, 2 strawberries, balsamic, lemon juice, the cinnamon, sugar and salt in a processor. When the chicken was done, I removed it from the pan, but used the remaining oil, juices to sautee the onions and mushrooms. I also added the parsley, mint and tarragon to the sautee. When the onions were translucent, I dumped the yogurt/balsamic mixture in along with 4 sliced strawberries. I allowed that to cook down for about 10 minutes or so. I added a tiny bit of flour to thicken it up but you don’t have to do that if you like a thinner sauce. When the sauce was done, I took it off of the heat, threw in the chicken and coated them in sauce, then put it all on some brown rice.

*I adore this recipe. I’ve made it a few times in my day and I usually make it just a little different every time. I think strawberries and chicken are a great combo, fruit and chicken tend to be pretty amazing together. I was in a creamy sauce sort of mood tonight and this was delicious!

Well I lost an hour of work today due to the time change. So I’d better get to bed so that I can get up nice and early! Love you all, I’ve got SO much work to do in the next few days. I hope I can get that bike sold quickly…as much as I don’t want to sell it, it’s going to be a HUGE help in the end.

Is it bad that I’m far more sad to part with my Harley and my cat than I am to part with my husband?

Exercise: 1/2 hour of yoga, 1 hour at the gym

Comments on: "Selling my Harley" (3)

  1. I’m sorry you have to sell the Harley, but I hope it helps you get everything in place to get your life in the order you want it. 🙂

    • I am also sorry to be selling it as I worked VERY hard to get it in the first place. Someday maybe I will be able to afford a new one. But for now it’s my most logical option being that I do have another vehicle (thank you, brother!), plan on doing more walking than driving anyway, and need to condense my belongings as best as I can.

      It is a Harley and so the value on it doesn’t depreciate in value quite like other bikes do, so I should be able to get most of what I paid into it back out of it.

      Thank you again Scarlett, your support and kind words are greatly appreciated. ^_^

  2. I think that selling your Harley is a great idea! If you don’t have one already, I recommend that you visit a local thrift store to buy a bicycle! My friend got an awesome 1970s street bike in mint condition for 25 bucks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

