Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Decor

One of the things I’m most looking forward to with my new place is decorating.

I didn’t get much of a say in any of the decor in this house. Not that I really cared that much, I like how it’s decorated.

But there is a severe lack of unicorns…

Oh do I EVER have my eye on this puppy…the level of want I have for this, well, we’ll just say it’s turned up to 11. ROCK!!!

Now I only need $100 burning in my pocket.

Breakfast:

Parmesan Spinach Cakes

Taken from: http://www.eatingwell.com/recipes/parmesan_spinach_cakes.html

4 servings, 2 spinach cakes each

Active Time: 15 minutes

Total Time: 40 minutes
Nutrition Profile

Diabetes appropriate | Low calorie | Low carbohydrate | High calcium | High potassium | Gluten free |
View Our Nutrition Guidelines »
Ingredients

12 ounces fresh spinach, (see Note)
1/2 cup part-skim ricotta cheese, or low-fat cottage cheese
1/2 cup finely shredded Parmesan cheese, plus more for garnish
2 large eggs, beaten
1 clove garlic, minced
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground pepper

Added:
1 T Pine Nuts

Preparation

Preheat oven to 400°F.
Pulse spinach in three batches in a food processor until finely chopped. Transfer to a medium bowl. Add ricotta (or cottage cheese), Parmesan, eggs, garlic, salt and pepper; stir to combine.
Coat 8 cups of the muffin pan with cooking spray. Divide the spinach mixture among the 8 cups (they will be very full).
Bake the spinach cakes until set, about 20 minutes. Let stand in the pan for 5 minutes. Loosen the edges with a knife and turn out onto a clean cutting board or large plate. Serve warm, sprinkled with more Parmesan, if desired.

*I missed the part in this recipe where it said it only made 8 cakes, so I accidentally only made 2 meaning to make 3 or 4.  It’s okay as in the end after eating them, they were SO delicious I was completely satisfied and didn’t need any more. The pine nuts are simply a MUST to add! They bring a certain something  in taste and texture and go incredibly well with the spinach. These are super healthy, gluten-free and don’t take long to make!

Lunch:

Spinach Salad with Chickpeas, Raisins and Carrots

Quick quick quick!! I needed to get a project finished, walked to the post office, and then walk to my brother’s! He and my sister-in-law were taking me to Sonic for dinner (yup…we wanted to try the new sweet potato tots!) so I just needed something REALLY fast, but high in nutrients, to get me through the afternoon! I also threw some walnuts and a little low-fat sesame ginger dressing on top of this. YUM!!!

After working my ass off and finishing my project, I begin my trek to the post office. I had precious little time to get there as I left SLIGHTLY late and needed to make it before they closed!

So I ran.

Then it began to rain. Soft. Hard. Then VERY hard.

I ran nearly the entire 2 miles there in the rain. With a backpack on.

I dramatically open the door SOAKING wet and out of breath. They were JUST about to close. I loudly inquire, “DID I MAKE IT??” to which all the ladies laughed at the pathetic state I was in. They of course allowed me in to drop off my package and dry off a little.

THAT was fun.

If I didn’t make it, it would not have been fun. But I DID. So it was a fucking blast.

I can RUN now!!!!!

Dinner:

Oh you fuckin’ better BELIEVE I treated myself to these bitches after that ordeal! I also had:

Their Chicago-style Hot Dog! It’s very much not bad at all! AND not bad for you! I also had a diet cherry lime-aid per recommendation of my sister-in-law. What a great day!!!

My only disappointment was that I saw no rainbow. Don’t fret! There will be plenty more next-times for running through the rain!

Exercise: 1/2 hour of yoga, 3 miles running/walking

Leave a Reply

