Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Lazy Sunday

I have a rather time-consuming project to get done today, so I’m forced to avoid the internet as much as possible, so there won’t be much in the way of real content today. I do apologize, I hope tomorrow I’ll be able to give you more insight into how my mind has been working lately (though I got a lot of that in with my last post), but I’m on a deadline with this order and have to get it out first thing in the morning.

Breakfast:

I had to do the bowl of cereal thing this morning due to time restraints and the fact there there were a pile of beer cans on my counter yet again. Nowhere to make breakfast. I forgot to take a pic of my cereal, but you’ve seen it before. Nothing special. I only ever have Honey Bunches of Oats sitting around.

Lunch:

Curried Carrot and Lentil Soup

I did loosely follow a recipe kinda, but changed it so much it doesn’t even resemble it anymore, so we’ll just do it this way instead:

1/4 Onion, diced
Olive Oil
1/2 T unsalted Butter
1.5 large Carrots, diced
1/3 c uncooked Lentils
1.5 cups Beef Stock (I was out of Chicken Stock at the time)
1 t Curry (or to taste)
1/4 t Cayenne Powder
2 T Sour Cream
S&P to taste

Sautee the onions in the olive oil and butter over medium heat until translucent. Add the beef stock and bring to a boil. Add carrots, lentils, curry, cayenne, salt and pepper. Let simmer covered for 15-20 minutes or until lentils are cooked. Take it off the heat and blend in a blender or food processor until smooth. Pour into a bowl and swirl in 2 T of sour cream.

* I like my soups thick, but you are free to add more stock if need be. The beef stock turned out to not be a bad idea with this soup! It brought a certain something different! This was quick and very filling, the lentils brought a lot of protein and the carrots have great vitamins. Really a good and good for you dish.

Dinner:

CHICKEN IN CURRIED YOGURT SAUCE

Taken from: http://www.cooks.com/rec/doc/0,1725,153190-230193,00.html

8 oz. peach low-fat yogurt
1 tsp. cornstarch
1 c. sweet bell pepper strips
1/2 c. chopped onion
2 1/2 tsp. curry powder
3/4 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. pepper
1/2 to 3/4 c. chicken broth
1 1/2 lb. boned and skinned chicken breasts, cut in strips
1 c. frozen peas
2 tsp. lemon juice
Combine small amount of yogurt with cornstarch and return to yogurt container.Place bell pepper, onion, curry powder, salt, pepper, and broth in skillet and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer uncovered until onion is tender, 3-4 minutes.

Stir in chicken and simmer 2-4 minutes. Add extra broth if necessary. Add peas. Cook until chicken is tender. Reduce heat and add yogurt. Stir over low heat until hot.

Sprinkle with lemon juice. Stir gently. Serve over rice.

*I normally follow this recipe exactly. It’s one of my go-to favorites. I didn’t have any actual peach yogurt, but I had yogurt and peaches and so blended them in a food processor. I also often add chunks of peaches to this as well. Though I’ve lately been using canned peaches for all my peach recipes, I really can’t wait until peaches are in season again as I miss fresh ones. They make everything taste better. I went for this because I knew it would be something I would love and it was something I’d made a lot of times before so I could get it done quickly.

Exercise: None. I couldn’t even do my yoga because my husband’s friend stayed the night and was up bright and early.

Leave a Reply

