Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

I desperately needed to sell SOMETHING either today or by tomorrow so I could pay my bills. Luckily, I sold JUST enough stuff to cover them! I can sleep soundly tonight knowing that once again I’ve cheated the Money Gods and am able to survive a couple more weeks! Now I need to make about $300 in 2 and a half weeks to cover my credit card bills…I can do this!!!

Breakfast:

Goat Cheese Quiche with Hash-Brown Crust

Taken from: http://www.delish.com/recipefinder/goat-cheese-quiche-hash-brown-recipe-mslo0810

Ingredients

  • 2 tablespoon(s) butter, softened, plus more for pan
  • 1 package(s) (1-pound) frozen hash brown potatoes, thawed
  • 12 large eggs
  • Coarse salt
  • Ground pepper
  • 1 1/2 cup(s) reduced-fat sour cream
  • 1 package(s) (4- to 5-ounce) soft goat cheese, room temperature
  • 4  scallions, thinly sliced

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Brush a 9-by-2 1/2-inch springform pan with butter. Line the sides of the pan with strips of waxed paper (the same height as pan); brush paper with butter.
  2. Squeeze excess moisture from hash browns. Mix in a bowl with butter, 1 egg, 1 teaspoon coarse salt, and 1/4 teaspoon pepper. Pat into bottom and up sides of prepared pan, using a moistened dry measuring cup. Place on a rimmed baking sheet; bake until set, 15 to 20 minutes.
  3. In a large bowl, whisk sour cream, goat cheese, 1 1/2 teaspoons coarse salt, and 1/4 teaspoon pepper until well combined; whisk in 11 remaining eggs. Pour into crust, and sprinkle with scallions. Bake until set, 45 to 50 minutes. Unmold quiche, and peel off waxed paper before serving.

*I do not own a springform pan unfortunately, so I just made this in a large ramekin. I don’t have frozen hashbrowns, so I grated a potato and boiled it for about 5 minutes, till the potatoes were soft but not so soft that they were falling apart. This worked VERY well! This quiche was about 3 times the height you see here when it first came out of the oven! I thought maybe I’d done something wrong! HA! It was absolutely heavenly and creamy! The potatoes cooked nicely and had the perfect little crisp to them. I didn’t finish the whole thing, I put it down about 3/4 of the way through it to type on here, then picked it back up to eat more but it just sat in my hands and I realized I wasn’t eating because I was no longer hungry. So I just threw out the rest. Crazy how our bodily cues work, right? This was just a ton of food though, I can see why I wouldn’t want this much.

Lunch:

Spinach, Gouda and Tomato Grilled Sandwich

OK so this doesn’t look like much, and it was in fact a pretty small sandwich, but I made a cream cheese/sour cream/mint/oregano/balsamic vinegar/parmesan spread that was OUTSTANDING! I don’t know what it was about it but it was so good I wanted to kick someone in the face! I grilled this on both sides in a saucepan with a little margarine just to melt the gouda. Oh there was also some chopped onion on top of the spread. I ate my little sandwich thinking that if I was still hungry, I could always have some celery with peanut butter or something. But oddly enough, this was fine. I didn’t need any more.

Dinner:

Quinoa Risotto with Mushrooms, Spinach, & Goat Cheese

Adapted/Inspired by several sources, including Daily Garnish and Skinny Chef

Serves about 2-3 as a main course or 4-5 as a side-dish

Ingredients:

4 cups vegetable stock (I used beef stock as it was pretty much all I had)
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 small onion, diced
8 oz package of sliced white or crimini mushrooms, chopped
4 cloves garlic, minced
1 cup uncooked quinoa
1/2 cup dry white wine (I used Sauvignon Blanc)
6 oz baby spinach
2 oz (about 1/4 cup) goat cheese
Salt and pepper

Directions:

Add vegetable broth to a medium saucepan and bring to a gentle simmer. Keep it gently simmering as you make the risotto.

Heat olive oil in a large saucepan over medium-high heat. Add the onions and mushrooms and sauté until softened and lightly browned, stirring often, about 5-7 minutes.

Add the garlic and the quinoa and cook for another 1-2 minutes, stirring often, until quinoa is lightly toasted and fragrant.

Add the wine and stir until all the liquid has been absorbed.

Begin adding vegetable broth to the quinoa, a small ladle at a time, stirring constantly. When each addition of liquid is absorbed by the quinoa mixture, add another small ladleful. Continue adding broth and stirring for about 25-30 minutes total, until quinoa is cooked through and no longer crunchy.

Add spinach to quinoa and stir until spinach is wilted. Add goat cheese and stir until melted and completely mixed in.

Remove from heat, taste, and add salt and pepper if desired. Serve warm.

*This seemed to take forever to make, but was completely worth it. I don’t know what the secret was, but this was ridiculously tasty and filling! It didn’t look like a lot so I was shocked at how full I felt afterwards! I also added some pecans right before serving per another recipe’s suggestion and added a little broccoli too. DAMN! I’d like to say this was Meatless Monday Part Deux, but I did use beef stock in this, so I can’t really say that. I am too poor to buy meat at the moment though, so I’ll be eating mostly vegetarian for the next few days!

My dad wants to take me out to lunch on Friday. Here’s hoping we go to that AMAZING Indian place with the buffet! But really, I realize it’s to discuss my options with the whole divorce/moving out thing and how he plans on assisting me. Financially or otherwise. We shall see how this goes. I hope he doesn’t plan on talking about the past. The past is the past. My parents got divorced due to my dad’s infidelity. There’s nothing that can be done about it now and our family’s issues didn’t in any way affect my marriage. (Though it did help me see the signs a lot quicker than my mom saw them.) I’d really just rather talk about what will hopefully be my amazing future and how I’ll surely find someone who will treat me right and love me unconditionally.

I’ll let all of you know how it goes.

I need to sell my bike.

Exercise: 1/2 hour of yoga (finally!), 1 hour at the gym (a very frustrating hour as it had been a long time since I’d run on a treadmill and I kept getting this INCREDIBLY painful stitch in my side preventing me from doing so…I was very sad)

Comments on: "*WHEW!* Sold stuff today!" (1)

  1. yahoo! congratulations on your sales! 😀 i love making money! in fact, i might change my smileys to look like this moving forward: :$

    :):):) :$

Leave a Reply

