Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

What day is it?

The days are just flying by. I want nothing more than more time right now. I just need some time. I wish I was 10 different people so I could get things done faster. I’m going to be spending the day today getting more stock into my online store. I wish I didn’t take on projects that I know are going to be more difficult and yet charge the same price for them. I shouldn’t only make $36 for an entire day’s work. And even then, I don’t make that. I have to buy supplies. I feel a little stuck right now. It will be ok. I will get this project into my store and sell it relatively quickly. I always do. I tend to sell what I make within 1-3 days.

And the cat keeps using me for a springboard. Glad to know I’m useful.

Breakfast:

Peach Bread Pudding with a Strawberry Compote

Adapted from: http://fishfoodblog.com/2009/06/bread-pudding/#comments

 

INGREDIENTS:

1 pound of challah or french bread
1 cup of buttermilk
1 cup of half and half
5 eggs, beaten
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 teaspoon of cinnamon
1 teaspoon of nutmeg
1 teaspoon of cloves (if using ground cloves, use half the amount)
1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
1 29oz can of peach halves, chopped

Strawberry compote:

4 pints of fresh strawberries
1/2 cup of granulated sugar
2 tablespoons of lime juice

DIRECTIONS:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees
2. Spray each ramekin with cooking spray, set aside.
3. Cut the bread into 1/2 inch cubes
4. Mix together eggs, milk, half and half, sugars, spices, and vanilla.
5. Add the bread to the egg mixture and combine until the bread is
soaked thoroughly.
6. Add the chopped peaches, and stir until combined.
7. Fill each ramekin with the bread and peaches until it reaches the top.
8. Set all the ramekins in a roasting pot, and fill with water so it
reaches half way up each ramekin.
9. Bake for 30 – 40 min, or until top is golden brown.

For the Strawberry compote:
1. Combine strawberries, lime juice, and sugar in a blender. Blend
until smooth and serve over top the bread pudding.

*The original called for a raspberry compote, I only had strawberries so that’s what I used. Worked just as well! I used up a lot of stray ingredients in my fridge with this. It was wonderful, although I insist on eating things when they are far too hot. I would have enjoyed this a lot more had I waited an appropriate time for it to cool. Otherwise it was top notch! LOVED the strawberry compote (although its not a real compote, we won’t judge the author too harshly ^_^) and did in fact eat all of it. I used a bit less bread than I should have, so I didn’t feel too bad about eating it all.

Lunch:

Tomato, Almond and Tarragon Soup with Corn and Celery

Once again, a lot of the amounts I put into this elude me, I cannot remember. But I can try!

1.5 cups canned crushed Tomatoes
1/3 cup Coconut Milk
1/2 T Honey
1/4 cup sliced Almonds
1 Roma Tomato, chopped
1/3 cup Corn
1 stalk Celery, sliced
Fresh chopped Tarragon
1 T Tomato Paste
1 t ground Ginger
Crushed Red Pepper to taste
S&P to taste
Uhh…probably other things I am forgetting…

I simmered the crushed tomato, chopped tomato, tomato paste, corn, celery and seasonings for about 15-20 minutes. I blended the coconut milk, almonds and honey with a little olive oil in a food processor until the almonds were well chopped. I added that mixture into the soup and allowed it to warm up and cook through another 5 minutes or so. This was really good! I’m sometimes impressed at what my head can come up with given what I have left in the fridge. I have to get used to using up everything and allowing nothing to go to waste since I will soon be living on my own and probably somewhat poor.

Dinner:

Pistachio Asparagus Pesto Pasta

Taken from: http://www.closetcooking.com/2009/07/pistachio-asparagus-pesto-on-penne.html

(makes 4 servings) Printable Recipe

Ingredients:
1 pound pasta
1 cup pistachio asparagus pesto (see below)
parmigiano reggiano to taste (grated, optional garnish)
asparagus tips (optional garnish)
pistachios (chopped, optional garnish)
Added:
1/2 Zucchini, sliced
1 cup Mushrooms, sliced in half

 

Directions:
1. Cook the pasta in well salted water as directed on the package.
2. When the pasta is cooked to al dente drain the pasta water reserving some of it.
3. Pour the pasta back into the still hot pan, add the pesto and enough of the pasta water to make a smooth sauce that coats the pasta.
4. Serve garnished with parmigiano reggiano, the asparagus tips and some chopped pistachios.

Pistachio Asparagus Pesto

(makes 1 cup pesto)

Ingredients:
1 cup asparagus (cleaned, trimmed, blanched and chopped)
1/4 cup spinach (optional, helps keep the pesto nice and green)
1 clove garlic (chopped)
2 tablespoons pistachios (toasted)
1/4 cup parmigiano reggiano (grated)
3 tablespoons olive oil
lemon juice to taste (optional)
salt to taste

Directions:
1. Place everything into a food processor and blend.

*I put this all on whole wheat penne. I tossed all of the veggies with some olive oil, lemon juice and salt and roasted them in the oven for around 20 minutes at 400…a bit long…15 minutes would have sufficed. I made the pesto exactly as directed (perfect way to use up just the little bit of spinach I had left!) and topped it all with a little extra grated cheese. HOLY SHIT! Yup, this was one of those REALLY impressive recipes! Incredibly fresh and tasty! I finally re-stocked my fridge if you couldn’t tell. I don’t know how, but I managed to eat all of this! It was a TON of food, but it was SO good!

For some reason, my husband bought me chocolate. So I had  a few pieces of that for dessert in lieu of my usual small bowl of ice cream. I don’t ask questions when given free chocolate.

Tomorrow is yet another day of working my butt off…another day where it’s gorgeous outside and I don’t get to go on a walk because I have so much work to do. Another day where I don’t get much farther in the money department…sorry. I don’t mean to be so down. I just want to get out of here so badly and its such a slow process. Maybe I can get some pics taken of my Harley today so I can get it up on Craigslist and whatnot.

P.S. I had a HUGE bag of that chocolate too and didn’t binge on it. I will take my small victories where I can get them!

Exercise: 1/2 hour of yoga, 1 hour at the gym (running went really well today!!)

Leave a Reply

