Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

If we feel we are more educated?

If we are older?

If we think we have more experience?

If we are thinner?

If we are no longer so thin?

Where is the line where we are officially allowed to judge each other based on whether or not that person has an eating disorder?

Please read the comments in this post: My food is jazzy, snazzy, and oh so gorgeous, dahlings! WIAW.

I do not believe that we EVER have the right to judge someone else. I really don’t care if you have 10 college degrees in brain surgery, rocket science, etc etc. Judging someone never helped anyone. When I began to recover from my ED, I thanked all of my family for never once judging me or telling me they knew what was best for me even if they did. They constantly stayed supportive and loving throughout the entire ordeal and showed me what real love and concern was. Real concern is not giving someone a laundry list of everything they are doing “wrong”, but in fact loving them regardless of what you may or may not understand about them and helping/giving a loving perspective or advice only when that person asks for it. That sort of love and concern was what saved me.

I do not claim to be any sort of professional, but this is my personal observation. It could be completely wrong and I am not trying to judge this person myself, but rather give an outsider’s perspective based solely on what I’ve read. The “concerned” individual in these posts does not actually love or care about Nicole at all. She simply wants to prove something, to herself or to others, maybe both…I am not sure. She most likely just wants to feel superior. She wants to talk down to someone and judge them because she feels she knows better. She does not love Nicole. I am saddened for others who may know this “concerned” as her judgements will surely deeply cut someone she truly DOES love someday and I hope that she would NEVER treat someone she loves in this fashion. This person has every right to be happy and feel good about herself for her “recovery”. I think it is WONDERFUL that she was able to overcome this terrible experience through the methods that worked for her. I am glad she has life-standards and opinions and has learned a lot about herself through her recovery. This does not however mean she knows everything about everyone else’s issues. She claims she was in “behavioral therapy” for one year. Well, one year of schooling does NOT a psychologist/doctor/therapist make. And even if it did make her one, she still has no right to speak down to someone else like that.

Feel free to tell me what you think about this as I am genuinely interested in knowing!

Breakfast:

Peach and Strawberry Breakfast Bake

Adapted from: http://chocolatecoveredkatie.com/2011/06/26/peach-breakfast-bake/

(Serves 3)

  • 2 1/2 cups sliced peaches (I also added sliced Strawberries)
  • 1/2 T lemon juice
  • 1/2 T arrowroot (or cornstarch)
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup plus 1/4 cup shredded wheat, crushed (I used a combination of half a cup of crushed Honey Bunches of Oats cereal and half a cup of Old Fashioned Rolled Oats)
  • 2 T brown sugar plus 1 packet nunaturals stevia (Or use 1/4 cup sugar. See note below, for a sugar-free version.) (I used half Honey half Brown Sugar)
  • 1 T melted margarine or oil (I used Earth Balance. If you want a fat-free crisp, double the applesauce and omit the margarine.)
  • 1 T applesauce (For a more buttery taste, replace this with an extra T of the margarine) (I did not have applesauce, so I did in fact use 2 T of Margarine)
  • 1/4 tsp salt (use only 1/8 tsp if using margarine)
  • 1 container non-dairy yogurt (I used SoDelicious plain)

Preheat oven to 350F. Mix the peaches, lemon, arrowroot, cinnamon, 1/2 the salt, and 1/2 the sweetener (I used 1/8 c Honey) in a bowl. Let sit for ten minutes. Meanwhile, stir the crushed cereal, remaining sweetener (heaping 1/8 cup Brown Sugar…I do love my sweeteners!), remaining salt, melted margarine or oil, and applesauce in a bowl until well-blended. Spread the peach mixture in a small baking pan (such as a 4×7), and top with the cereal mixture. Bake for 45 minutes.

Click for notes on a Sugar-Free version.

Mix each portion with some of the yogurt, just before serving. Or, you can opt to be like one of my friends who exclaimed, “This would be awesome with vanilla ice cream on top!”

*My adaptations made this exactly what I was looking for! An easy, crispy, gluten-free, and somewhat healthier crumble topping! I did substitute half of the sugar for honey, so it did make it just that little bit better for me in the end! YUM!!! I will be making this WAY more often! This was always one of my go-to quick way to use peaches, but now that I’ve got the crumble part down, I do believe I will use this for any sort of cobbler/crumble that I want!

Lunch:

I was so incredibly busy today I nearly forgot to eat lunch! I worked hard all morning, took pictures of my motorcycle to post on Craigslist, then I came home from going to the bank and buying shampoo and toothpaste at around 5 PM. So I made a very quick grilled cheese sandwich with gouda and new york cheddar. Then it was back to work!

Dinner:

Parsnip and Carrot “Latkes” with Horseradish and Dill

Adapted from 2 sources:
http://blog.questoutreach.org/2010_09_01_archive.html
http://smittenkitchen.com/2011/12/parsnip-latkes-with-horseradish-and-dill/
Ingredients
(makes about 6)
1/2 lb  parsnips and carrots (I used 1 medium-sized of each), shredded
2 scallions, cut to 2-inch pieces and julienned lengthwise (I just used chopped sweet onion)
1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon black or white pepper, or to taste
2-4 tablespoons vegetable oil
1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
1 teaspoon baking powder
2 large eggs, lightly beaten
2 tablespoons chopped fresh dill

Sauce:
1 cup sour cream
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1/2 teaspoon table salt
1 tablespoon freshly grated or prepared horseradish
1 tablespoon chopped dill

Instructions:
Beat the egg in a medium-large bowl and combine with the rest of the ingredients except for the oil and the dipping sauce.

Heat a tbsp of oil on a skillet over a medium flame until hot.

Using your hands, form the parsnip mixture into roughly 3-inch patties at a time, and place gently onto the pan, keeping each pancake an inch or so apart (you will probably need to work in batches). Cook for 2-3 minutes on the first side before flipping; flip, and cook another 2-3 minutes or until lightly browned on both sides. Remove from heat and serve with the optional dipping sauce immediately.

*This was one of the first times I’ve ever NOT been afraid to really use oil. I didn’t want to use all of my nice, expensive olive oil to do this, so I used vegetable oil. I completely coated the bottom of a large pan and cooked them 3 at a time. I did let them drain on a paper towel a bit to soak up some of the extra oil. These were ABSOLUTELY SPECTACULAR! And once again, gluten-free! I was happy to find a recipe that did not use flour and adapted it accordingly. They were crispy and perfect! I’ve never had latkes turn out so beautifully before!

 

I am excited about tomorrow! I will have a very simple breakfast so I can get a little more work done (I was really hoping to have the day “off”, but us self-employed people don’t get that option if our work is simply not done) and then at 1 my dad is picking me up for lunch. I’m hoping he will drop me off at the Goodwill so I can look at some possible furniture/couches and then I can walk home from there and get some exercise. Then at around 8 my best friend is having a birthday party!! We’re going to see some naked girls and drink some beer! YES!!!

 

Comments on: "When exactly do we have the right to judge someone else?" (1)

  1. Dear Miss Ayn Rand Pistachio, excellent post. Excellent!

Leave a Reply

