Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Bleh.

Having to get up at 4AM to ask my ex-loser to shut the hell up did not put me in the best of moods this morning. The first good thing that happened though was when I wandered downstairs at 8 this morning (late…) there were no lights on or music blaring or TV annoying the crap out of me. It was nice and quiet as everyone had actually attempted some sleep this time around. Thank god.

The second nice part was that his best friend got a ride from his brother nice and early so I was still able to do my yoga! That put me in a much much better mood.

Having eaten badly the night before (cookies for dinner and all) my stomach was pretty upset this morning and I wasn’t in much of a mood to eat. I skipped breakfast. This seems to happen when I eat a bunch of junk on the previous day, so it’s become pretty normal for me and I don’t really feel too bad about it anymore. I figured as long as I ate something before going to work out THAT was the important part.

So I did my yoga at around 11 after shithead’s friend left (I do not consider said friend a shithead, he’s actually quite a nice guy and I will most likely end up taking on his lease at his apartment to get the hell out of here) and then at around Noon ate the Indian sampler my friends gave me last night. I forgot to take pictures of it. This couple eats mostly vegetarian, so the sample was all veg-friendly! It was quite yummy!

I spend the rest of the day working on a project that I needed to get done before 5. I got it about 90% finished (I’ll finish it in the morning) then headed out to go supplies shopping and work out for an hour. I came home around 8.

Dinner:

Indian Spiced Vegetables

Taken from: http://rootwellness.com/post/3627634409/indian-spiced-vegetables

ingredients

  • 1 small sweet potato or garnet yam (with skin), scrubbed and chopped
  • 3 medium carrots, peeled and chopped
  • 3 small parsnips, peeled and chopped
  • 1 head cauliflower, broken down into small florets
  • 1 large yellow onion, chopped
  • 5 cloves fresh garlic, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon coconut oil
  • 1 can no salt added diced tomatoes with liquid
  • 1/2 cup coconut milk
  • 1/2-1 cup low sodium vegetable broth
    (amount depends on your sauce thickness preference)
  • 2 teaspoons garam masala
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon cumin
  • 1/4 teaspoon coriander
  • 1/4 teaspoon ginger
  • 1 teaspoon curry powder dash cayenne pepper and pinch red pepper flakes  (adjust depending upon how spicy you like it)
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • lemon wedges
  • optional: 1 lb boneless, skinless chicken breasts, chopped
  • ADDED: 1 T Brown Sugar

directions

  • heat large soup pot on medium high heat
  • add coconut oil to pot
  • when coconut oil is melted, add onion and saute for 3 mins until soft
  • add garlic to pot and stir for 1 minute
  • add 1 teaspoon garam masala and stir for 1 minute
  • add the canned tomatoes
  • stir in the coconut milk
  • add all spices except cayenne and red pepper flakes
  • add the vegetable broth, starting with 1/2 cup
  • toss in the sweet potato, carrots, and parsnips
  • optional: add the chicken if using
  • simmer, covered, on medium heat until sweet potatoes soften a bit
    (about 8 mins) stirring a few times
  • add a little more vegetable broth, depending upon desired thickness
  • add the cauliflower and continue to cook on medium for another 8-10 minutes
  • when sweet potatoes are soft, remove pot from heat and add cayenne and red pepper flakes to desired spiciness
  • serve with naan, over rice/lentils, or alone
  • top with a squeeze of lemon

*I did not have any cauliflower so I left that out, but otherwise I made this exactly as directed to WONDERFUL results! I didn’t put this on any rice or pasta of any kind since it had a starch in it already (yam) and my shithead husband did allow me to use one of his drumsticks for the chicken (I just yanked off the skin, pulled off all the meat and cubed it) so I’ll give him a tiny bit of credit. I don’t know what it was about this particular dish, probably the 3 different spicy components that it calls for to give it some amazing heat, but this was REALLY spectacular! I would make it again in a heartbeat! I added the 1 T of brown sugar because I think that any time you use sweet potato or yam you ought to add just a little sweetness since they go SO well together.

I’ve been getting a lot of questions for possible custom orders, so here’s hoping I can get those filled this week! I could really use the money! I went around the neighborhood I want to live in taking down numbers in front of any “For Rent” signs, so I will give all of those people a call tomorrow to check out their rates. I’ll let you know how it goes!

Exercise: 1/2 hour of yoga, 1 hour at the gym

Leave a Reply

