Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Not enough time

There’s just not enough hours in the day for me to be able to ramble about something today. I wish I could, I always feel as though I have SOMETHING to say every day, but today I am desperate to get more work done and am freaking out a little about time being an issue. It’s always an issue but it feels really bad today for some reason…

Breakfast:

Strawberry Pear Clafouti

Taken from: http://blogs.familyeducation.com/blogs/sweet-pea-chef/strawberry-pear-clafouti

1 quart strawberries, rinsed, stems removed and sliced
1 large Bartlett pear, ripe, but still firm, deseeded and diced
1 tablespoon lemon juice
2 tablespoons brown sugar
3 eggs
1 1/3 cups skim milk
⅔ cup all purpose flour
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
¼ cup white sugar
¼ teaspoon salt

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Grease a deep dish pie pan or a 9×9 glass pan.

Mix the strawberries, pear, lemon juice and brown sugar together in a bowl.

Pour into the bottom of the pie or glass pan.

In a large bowl, beat the eggs.  Add the milk, flour, vanilla, white sugar and salt.  Mix until smooth and pour oven the fruit.

Bake for 50-60 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the middle comes out clean.

*I baked mine for about 45 minutes since I only made a half recipe and it was smaller than this one. Really yummy and wonderful!! Only uses a little bit of flour and sugar, I didn’t up the sugar at all this time and it was still perfect even by my high sweet-tooth standards!

Lunch:

Corn and Summer Squash Soup

I made this one up entirely, so I will try to remember what I put in it.

Onion
Carrot
Corn
Zucchini
Chicken Stock
Milk/Heavy Cream
Fresh chopped Mint
Fennel seeds
Paprika
Garlic Powder
S&P to taste

I sauteed the onions, carrots and fennel seeds in some olive oil for a while, then added the broth, milk and a little heavy cream. I chopped up a little mint and put that in as well and let it simmer covered about 8 minutes until the carrots were soft. I then blended all of that in a blender till smooth. I added it back into the pot over the heat and put in the corn, zucchini, paprika, garlic powder and S&P and let that simmer uncovered another 4 minutes or so. Until the zucchini was soft. This was excellent! I’m proud of me when I can come up with something so yummy!

Dinner:

Broccoli, Eggplant and Avocado in a Cilantro Lemon sauce

Once again, totally made up, I’ll list what I used but I have little recollection of quantities.

Broccoli
Onion
Eggplant, cubed
Avocado, cubed
Big handful of Cillantro
Coconut Milk
Chicken Stock
Soy Sauce
Garlic, minced
Fresh grated Ginger
Brown Sugar
Rice Vinegar
Fresh squeezed Lemon Juice
Lemon zest
Pine Nuts
Cayenne Powder

I cooked the onion, eggplant and broccoli in some olive oil for a few minutes and whizzed up all the other ingredients (except the avocado and lemon zest) in a food processor for the sauce. I added the sauce to the pan and let it cook down a little while (feel free to thicken with cornstarch if you feel it necessary), then added the avocado and allowed it to heat through without really cooking it. Added some S&P to taste and a little lemon zest on top. This was so good and I was wolfing it down so fast I nearly forgot to take a picture! I adore cilantro and there was a huge bunch of it that smelled so good I simply couldn’t pass it up!

 

I did get a lot of work done today, I also got to go on a walk which I just love to do. Husband has been depressed lately so all he does is sleep right now. I called a couple of apartments, but the rates were a little unreasonable compared to the one I would be getting if I moved into my husband’s best friend’s place and took over his lease. This will most likely be the route I take. I will keep calling places tomorrow. I would also like to get my motorcycle up on Craigslist/Ebay Classifieds tomorrow. I need out so bad its killing me. I also need to pay off a bunch of this debt. I hate having debt.

Exercise: 4 mile walk

Comments on: "Not enough time" (3)

  1. I cannot believe you have a motorbike. Hang on, scratch that. I do believe. I am just overwhelmed with incredible coveting. I want, very badly. I also relate to how you feel about debt. While I’m not old enough to have adequately submersed myself in it, as do most by the time they hit university, I have certainly rubbed elbows with it, regarding family monetary issues. It ain’t pretty. And it puts me on edge. Yech.
    On another note, I really love your blog. Consider me an avid follower – on certain days. You see, pictures of food and seeing what other people eat tends to set me off on whatever coping method crops up. But when I’m feeling positive, I head down this way. The food looks scrumptious.

    • I’m REALLY really really going to miss my motorbike…and as far as a lot of people go, I really do have very little debt. To be honest, selling my bike will cover most of it. I have very little school debt and while I have some credit card debt, I’ve been rather responsible with them. It definitely ends up putting me on edge, bills and whatnot, I will relieve SO much of that though when I sell my bike! It’s going to be heaven.

      Well thank you! I do my best to keep my meals balanced and healthy, though I cannot claim a lot of them to be low-calorie. Hehe. I was way way WAY too obsessed with counting them, which caused so many of my issues. As part of my recovery I absolutely HAD to stop counting them. So I now focus on making things balanced, using less refined sugars and flours, and giving my body the nutrients it needs to function properly. I’ve maintained a very healthy weight for about 4 months now. My body is far happier and I’m still plenty thin, lean and have curves in all the right places. ~_^ Binging is still a problem for me at times, and I need to maintain my blog to keep myself accountable to what I eat. It’s also a great way to see where I may be falling short in my nutrition.

      Don’t let what I post trigger anything, food is an art! Look at it more like an art piece here! I try very hard to make the presentation pretty, I think about the colors and light balance and all that, though I don’t always accomplish that. The lighting in this house at 10 PM is just horrid hehe.

  2. Your cooking is 49 times more ambitious than anything I’ve ever attempted, very inspiring m’lady!

Leave a Reply

