Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

One of the girls I referenced in an earlier post posted about me the other day on her Facebook.

Now mind you, this is a girl who I took one look at and my immediate reaction was “I wish I was as thin and pretty as her”. But as the day progressed, I looked at a reflection of us walking next to each other I realized how GORGEOUS and lean and skinny (whilst still maintaining perfect curvature!) I am! I mean, she’s thin, but that’s all shes got. She has tiny chicken legs, no butt, no muscle, and feels run down and tired all the time due to her bad eating habits.

She’d written how she’s joined a gym, started eating better and wants to learn some simple yoga…all inspired by me.

SHE wants to look like ME.

A year ago, I would have wanted nothing more than to look like her and would have basically stopped eating entirely to do so.

I’ve learned a lot these past 4 months since starting this blog. That first of all being healthy is FAR more attractive than being unhealthy, regardless of your weight. I also hope she realizes that she IS beautiful the way she is, she doesn’t need to look like me to be beautiful. Sure she’s got skinny legs and no butt, but that doesn’t mean she’s unattractive! It means she’s unique and, honestly, MOST women will still covet her shape! She should embrace her body type and even if she doesn’t eventually have my butt or my legs that she still finds pleasure in making herself healthier and leaner! I hope to keep encouraging her to do so!

Breakfast:

Oatmeal and Cottage Cheese Fruit Bowl

My husband had his friend over again, so I was stuck making myself something easy for breakfast. I just made half a cup of oatmeal (with water) in the microwave, added about 1/3 cup cottage cheese, a big squeeze of honey, then topped it with some cubed apple, pear and dried mango. Then drizzled just a little more honey on top. Quick, filling, sweet, packed full of nutrients. I couldn’t ask for anything better!

Lunch:

Tomato Rice Soup

Lets see…I sauteed some onions in oil and a little margarine…then I added 2 cups of canned tomato halves and let that simmer, break up and reduce for about 10 minutes uncovered. I pureed this until smooth. I put it back into the pan and added half a cup or so of milk, 1/4 cup of Romano cheese, 1 T tomato paste, 1 t dried oregano, 1 t dried basil, lemon pepper, a little lemon juice and salt to taste. Then I threw in 1/3 cup rice, covered it and let it simmer for another 10-15 minutes (I can’t remember, whatever the instructions on the rice said ha!). I think I may have thinned it out with a little more milk when it was done. I LOVE TOMATO RICE SOUP! It’s been forever since I’ve had it being that I try to reduce my pasta/rice/flour intake to just once a day. This was FANTASTIC.

Dinner:

Lentil, Mushroom and Zucchini Italian-style Shepard’s Pie with Parsnip “Potatoes”

Ok this was ridiculously good so I’m going to try really hard to remember this one.

1/3 cup uncooked Lentils
2 medium Parsnips
1.5 cups Mushrooms, roughly sliced
2 large slices of sweet onion, roughly sliced
1/2 large Zucchini, sliced and cut in half
2 cloves Garlic plus more garlic powder to taste (I wanted these really garlicy)
1/2 T Margarine
1 T Cream Cheese
1/4 cup Ricotta Cheese
1/4 cup Milk
Dash Lemon Juice
Large dash White wine, probably about 1-2 T
Oregano, Parsley, Basil (to taste)
Margarine, milk, Parmesan or Romano grated cheese (for parsnip potatoes)

Boil the lentils for 8 minutes, add sliced parsnips to the water and boil another 8 minutes. While this is cooking, sautee the veggies in some olive oil for a few minutes, add garlic. Add cream cheese and allow to melt with a little margarine, add milk and let simmer for a while, 5 minutes or so. Add riccota and lentils. Thicken with a little cornstarch if desired. Add this mixture to a small loaf pan. Puree cooked parsnips with a little milk, margarine, 1/8 cup grated romano or parmesan and S&P if desired. Add puree to the top of mushroom mixture. Bake at 400 degrees for about 20-30 minutes or until the “potatoes” become golden.

SO SO SO good! Ridiculously flavourful! Just tons of good stuff for you! Vegetarian and gluten-free. LOVED this!!! Just a really neat spin on Shepard’s Pie!

 

Tomorrow I am going to a girl’s night in party! There will be vegan cuisine, games, mani-pedis and fun! I’m excited about it. I need a night off for once! It’s been so hectic. Work work work all the time it feels like…I just need a tiny bit of time to kick back and have fun! I deserve it!

Comments on: "How I felt good about myself today" (1)

Leave a Reply

