Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Finding the time to keep up with this, make as much stuff as I can, have some form of social life, cook 3 meals a day that don’t suck, work out/do my yoga and remembering to do little things like take care of the cat, do my laundry, do the dishes…I can’t right now. It’s all too much. I have to keep up with this blog, but for now if I made something up or can’t remember the recipe I can’t sit here for half an hour trying to remember if I put lemon juice into that sauce or not. I just don’t have the time. :< I’ve also been skimping on my breakfasts lately and must be getting stressed because my sweet tooth is back with a vengeance. I’ve just been going ahead and allowing myself a lot of things because at the moment its just NOT WORTH the extra anxiety. And in the end it really just doesn’t matter.

Breakfast:

Avocado Muffins (Makes 1 dozen)
 

Taken from: http://simplepleasuresinourlives.wordpress.com/2012/01/29/avocado-muffins/

Filling
½ cup softened cream cheese
½ cup mashed ripe avocado
¼ cup sugar
2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice
 
Batter
¾ cup mashed ripe avocado
2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice
1 cup sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup whole milk
2 cups white whole wheat flour
½ cup unbleached all-purpose flour
1½ teaspoons baking powder
½ teaspoon baking soda
½ teaspoon salt
 
Topping
½ cup chopped walnuts


To make the filling: In a small bowl, whisk all the ingredients until smooth. Set aside until needed.

To make the muffins: In a large mixing bowl, beat the avocado, lemon juice, and sugar until smooth and creamy, scraping down the sides of the bowl once or twice. Meanwhile, in a medium bowl, whisk together the flours, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Once avocado mixture is creamy, add the vanilla and milk, and mix until incorporated. Add the dry ingredients, mixing on low speed just until the batter is smooth. Scrape down the sides and bottom of the bowl once more to make sure everything is evenly combined.

Preheat the oven to 400°F. Line muffin tin with paper baking cups, and coat the papers with nonstick spray. Drop 2 heaping tablespoons of batter into each cup. Using the rounded bottom of a teaspoon (dipped in vegetable oil to prevent the batter from sticking), make a shallow well in the center of each cup. Add a heaping tablespoon of filling (I use a level small cookie scoop), cover with enough batter to fill each muffin cup to almost the top, and sprinkle with chopped walnuts. Bake the muffins until a skewer inserted in the center comes out clean, 20 to 24 minutes. Remove from oven and let cool in the pan for 5 minutes, then transfer to a rack to finish cooling.

*These were FANTASTIC! No butter, oil or egg! Came together really fast and were just outstanding. I would DEFINITELY suggest though that you not leave these in the oven for 20 freaking minutes at 400…that’s ridiculous! People’s ovens, I swear, how can they work so differently? Mine would be burned WAY before time was up at that temperature for that amount of time! I did 8 minutes at 375, turned them, then did about 7 more minutes. Done. And they were PERFECT! So really, just do what you know your oven does best.

Lunch:

Just a fruit and yogurt bowl today! Too much to do, too much to do…and had some leftovers to get rid of! It’s strawberry greek yogurt with diced apples, pear and orange and then about half an avocado on the side. Good lunch for energy!

Dinner:

Tonight I went to a friend’s for a little mani-pedi party and dinner! We had vegan quinoa soup where I had a HUGE bowl (YUM!), some veggies and hummus, and whole wheat crust pizza with just sauce and cheese (I had 2 slices). GREAT dinner! I stopped to pick up some ice cream on the way home and had my usual bowl before going to bed. ^_^ I felt I did pretty good today!

 

It was very nice just being with my friends and not stressing too much about work for one night. I miss being carefree. But then I worry I might get bored. Hehe. I am never bored.

 

Leave a Reply

