Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

I’m going to see a place on Tuesday that is in the perfect area for the perfect price. It’s not big, it’s not terribly classy, but I will make it so! I’ll New York that shit like nobody’s business!! You’d think when you walked in that I lived in a $5,000 flat in Manhattan! Pictures will be taken. Make it work kids, make it work!

I need to get my bike sold though really badly for me to be able to afford this. My uncle cannot afford it, so I’m putting it up on Craigslist. I’ve got all my pictures adjusted and looking pretty. It’s definitely prime riding season right now so anyone who doesn’t have a bike who wants one is going to be getting the itch! I should know, I got it at one point too.

My brother and sister-in-law have invited me to go see The Hunger Games with them today! I just finished reading the book not long ago, so it’s very sweet that they waited until I was finished to go see it. My sister-in-law says its no fun going to see a movie where you’re the only one in the group who’s read the book, hehe. So she was happy to wait.

Breakfast:

Yep. Just some plain Cheerios. I dunno, I think my stomach has finally had enough junk for a couple of days *whew!*. So this was all I was in the mood for. And because of the movie (which is at 3:30 and I’m walking to my brothers and want to be there by 3:00 so I need to leave by 2:00 to be certain) I needed to start my day early. Which means no cooking. :<

Lunch:

Ok ok so I didn’t really have lunch. I worked right up till 1:30 when I had to shower, print postage for some items, get myself organized and get the hell out. The movie itself was 2.5 hours long, which I totally didn’t care because it was outstanding. VERY true to the book (not that that’s something I really care about…I’m not one of those annoying nerds who flips out when they change something) and very emotional. I also adore Woody Harrelson and didn’t even realize he was in this! So that was a massive added bonus for me. The movie ended at about 6. I was home by around I dunno, 6:20. I had an orange. There, that was my lunch. By that time it was sort of dinnertimeish and didn’t need a whole huge lunch. I worked up until husband asked me if I wanted to go grocery shopping (just for ourselves) at around 8. Then when we got back I made this:

Dinner:

Tomato Sauce with Turkey Sausage, Zucchini and Peppers on Vegetable Fettuccine

I made a sauce with canned tomatoes, 1 diced fresh tomato, about 1 heaping T of tomato paste (I like my tomato sauces really tomato-y), 2 T grated Romano, about a T of margerine (I used some to cook the veggies and meat and added a little more to the sauce later), a splash of red wine vinegar, a splash of lemon juice, a generous amount of dried basil, oregano and parsley, grated in a bunch of garlic (1 large clove), crushed red pepper and finally (my secret ingredient of the evening) a pinch of cinnamon and sugar. And of course S&P to taste. I sauteed some diced onions, diced yellow and green pepper and sliced zucchini and turkey sausage in the pan with some olive oil and margarine for about 8 minutes. Then added all the sauce ingredients and allowed it to thicken and cook down probably a good 20 minutes. I served it all on top of some “Garden Delight” Fettuccine and sprinkled some grated mozzarella on top of all of it. It was seriously FANTASTIC, I don’t know how I got the idea to add the cinnamon at the last minute but it went SO beautifully with the sausage. Definitely do this!

 

I am sorry my recipes have been somewhat sporadic lately. Some I can remember ingredients, others I can’t…my format has been funky. My life has been sort of funky as of late, so it’s the best I can do while keeping up with this. I promise it will get better when I am moved out and get everything in some form of order. Through all of this I’m trying to remember to take care of myself and put my body’s needs first. If my body doesn’t work, then I can’t function properly.

Hugs and kisses to you all!

Comments on: "Made an apartment appointment!" (3)

  1. Mmmm! Both the breakfast and dinner look wonderful! I am already thinking toward today’s dinner, and I might do some kind of spin-off from that. Oh how a ‘box’ of Honey Nut Cheerios would be delicious. I know that one bowl would turn into two would turn into three and it would just be a mess – I’m not yet prepared to eat all of my day’s volume at breakfast, so I shall hold off on buying the Cheerios. I’ll just live vicariously through you, Miss Pistachio! đŸ˜€

    • Luckily they’re just plain ol’ Cheerios, no Honey Nut in these puppies! It makes for easier eating and less cravings for more sugar! Always a good thing! I can’t wait until you eventually see what will be my FABULOUS new flat! It won’t look pretty from the outside, but I’m gonna make it work!

Leave a Reply

