Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

I am extremely sorry that I haven’t been keeping up very well with all of your blogs lately. I promise when I get out of here and things settle down a bit that I will have more time to read everything and respond accordingly. I feel terrible that I haven’t been able to keep up…I’ve barely kept up with my own. But it’s incredibly important for me to have this, I don’t know what I would do without all of you. If nothing else, it was really nice to wake up to a gorgeous sunny morning as it’s been pretty gloomy here for a few days. Maybe a walk later? That would cheer me up!

Breakfast:

Mango and Blackberry Breakfast Bake

I have made many variations on this before. I generally use this adapted recipe. I threw some greek yogurt on top of it this time and made a little less than usual as I was only mildly hungry. Super delicious as usual! I hope you guys don’t find me too boring when I repeat recipes, but this one’s a keeper! No flour, no egg, and an easy honey substitution along with the addition of oats makes for a good, healthy, yet sweet breakfast.

Lunch:

Peanut Butter and Jelly Soup

Taken from: http://www.foodbuzz.com/recipes/409959-it-s-peanut-butter-jelly-soup-time-

    1. 2 Tbsp Butter
    1. 2 Tbsp Onion, grated
    1. 1 Stalk Celery, diced
    1. 2 Tbsp Flour
    1. 3 cups Chicken broth (try low sodium)
    1. ½ cup Creamy peanut butter (try reduced fat for fewer calories)
    1. ¼ tsp Salt
    1. 1 cup Light cream (used Milk instead)
    1. 2 Tbsp Roasted peanuts, chopped
    1. ½ cup Grape jelly (can use low sugar or fruit preserves instead)

Melt butter in a saucepan over low heat. Add onion and celery and sauté for 5 minutes. Add flour and mix until well blended. Slowly stir in chicken broth and allow to simmer for about 30 minutes. Remove from heat and strain broth to remove the celery and onions. Next, stir the peanut butter, salt and cream into the strained broth until mixed well. Serve hot. Garnish each serving with a teaspoon of chopped peanuts and a dollop of your favorite jelly.
Make 4 servings.

*Today is National Peanut Butter and Jelly day! I had to commemorate the occasion in some fashion, but was out of bread! Soup to the rescue!!! You can see the swirls of strawberry jelly in this. It was DELICIOUS, I even made it exactly as written except of course using water instead of chicken broth as it IS Meatless Monday. ^_^

Dinner:

Some delicious deliciousness I made up entirely. Just an onion, parsnip, carrot, yam and pea stir fry with olive oil, light coconut milk, honey, a little soy sauce, a little unsalted butter, lemon juice, plum sauce, cardamom, nutmeg and crushed red pepper. Also threw in some raisins at the last minute because my husband’s best friend walked in a said it smelled “meaty”. The last time I had a meat dish with cardamom was with lamb and raisins. So I figured they would go well in this dish and MAN was I right! No rice or extra carbs in this one…it already had the yam in it and that was enough. Was really happy with this one! I just adore parsnip.

Oh also, I had 2 small cookies along with my usual ice cream as a friend dropped off some cookies for us. I was happy to see that I was more than satisfied with just a couple.

 

My husband was all upset because I’d posted on my Facebook that I had an apartment appointment tomorrow. He said I was “airing our dirty laundry out on Facebook”. Dude……we’re getting a divorce. If you didn’t want everyone to know we were getting a divorce, you shouldn’t have fucked up as that often leads to divorce. It’s not exactly some private matter. Everyone will eventually figure out you’re no longer together. It’s not like I went on there and said “Hey everyone! My dirtbag husband cheated on me, so I’m leaving him! I have an appointment to look at a new place tomorrow! YES he’s a shithead and I hate him!” THAT would be airing dirty laundry.

He just doesn’t want everyone to know what an idiot he is.

He shouldn’t have been an idiot then.

I also finally got my motorcycle up on Craigslist. If ANYONE knows anyone in my general area (Detroit is very close) that would like it and would want to help out a girl desperate to leave her shitbag husband, please show them this!

http://toledo.craigslist.org/mcy/2936961939.html

My cousin is also doing everything she can to help me, she knows a LOT of people. Thank you all so very much!

Exercise: 1/2 hour of yoga, 4 mile walk

Comments on: "Sunny Meatless Monday! + Craigslist link!" (3)

  1. your dinner creation – oh yes oh yes oh yes! just shared your harley link on my personal facebook page. you are welcome and i hope it brings you business and $$$ 😉

    • THANK YOU dahling!!!!! I hope the appointment goes well! I’m freaking out slightly, but only slightly. I’m just afraid he won’t want to take on someone who is self-employed. :<

  2. I second the love for your dinner creation, and also just about ate my own fingers thinking about the idea of a PB&J soup. If only I could be trusted with nut butter!

    Good for you for standing up to your husband – you were quite right to set him straight.

    xxx

Leave a Reply

