Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Getting thinner?

Whoops.

Somehow I’m losing inches.

Not weight…I actually, last I checked, still weigh the same. About 143 lbs. Granted, I only check once a month now to keep myself sane. But I could tell when I put my hands on my hips that I felt smaller. So I measured myself today. My waist is back down to 26.5 inches.

What the hell?

I’m guessing it’s my working out that’s doing it. I know I’m gaining muscle as I definitely look leaner. But I’m worried about looking too thin. It’s not my intention to do so. I’m also assuming though that if I look leaner and muscular, I won’t look too thin?

I’m a bit confused. My cousin that keeps me accountable says I’m ok. I eat well and am conscious enough about keeping healthy that I’m clearly taking care of myself. So I shouldn’t worry. What do all of you think? You see what I eat and how much I work out every day. Which really, I go to the gym LESS now than I did in the winter since I do more walking, only about 2-3 days a week, and walk the rest of the time. So what do you think? Since I still weigh the same am I doing ok?

Breakfast:

Mango Breakfast Pizza

Adapted from: http://boutthere.com/2011/05/24/pizza-for-breakfast/

  • 2 cups spelt flour (I used half whole wheat, half AP)
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup organic butter
  • 2 tbs brown sugar
  • 2 tbs white sugar
  • 1/2 cup soy milk (I used 2% milk)
  • 1/4 cup jam (I used strawberry jam)
  • 1/4 cup cream cheese
  • 1 mango, thinly sliced
  • 1/4 cup sweetened shredded coconut
  • As much peanut butter as it takes to float your boat (I made a coconut cream syrup topping)

Preheat oven to 400. Oil a full-size spring form pan (9in I believe). Mix together the (1st three) dry ingredients in a large bowl with the sugars. Pour in milk and softened butter. Mix together to form a dough. I used my hands, it was fun. Use your hands again and press dough evenly into the bottom of the spring form. Mix together jam and cream cheese and spread over crust, I reserved some because I wanted an exposed crust. Arrange your mango sliced over top and sprinkle with coconut.  Throw that baby in the oven for about 25 minutes.  When she’s done and cool, drizzle peanut butter across the top (or pipe with a piping bag if you suffer from some sort of neuroses like I do).

Coconut Cream Syrup topping:

Coconut Milk
About 1 T Cream Cheese
2 T Honey
A little water to thin it out

Melt the cream cheese in a saucepan. Add the rest of the ingredients and simmer until thickened. Add a little more of whatever you’d like to make it to your tastes! Pipe this on top instead of peanut butter if that sounds as weirdly gross to you as it did to me.

*This was ridiculous. Yup. Especially the coconut honey cream on top. Best idea I ever had. TRY IT!!!! Everything else I did just like the recipe. God. Damn. I would make this again in a heartbeat.

Lunch:

Kale, Shiitake Mushroom and Mozzarella Sandwich

A big bag of kale was on clearance at Kroger. YES! I adore kale. It’s been a while since I got a bag! I try not to buy anything thats not on sale anymore. Anyway, I sauteed a little chopped onion, in olive oil, wilted some kale, added the mushrooms, lemon juice, some cilantro, and some garlic salt and pepper. I put this on some Italian bread with cheese and grilled it to melt the mozzerella in a little butter. DAMN! I was really really impressed with how incredibly yummy this came out! I LOVE KALE!

Dinner:

Bratwurst with Apples & Onions

Taken from: http://www.schallerweber.com/recipes/bratwurst-with-apples-onions/

One of the most popular types of sausage in Germany is this delicately seasoned pork sausage. It’s perfect as an appetizer, ideal for breakfast or an entree at a casual weekend brunch.

Ingredients

6 Bratwurst, precooked (I used smoked turkey sausage)
1 Tbsp. butter
1 Tbsp. vegetable oil
1 onion, thinly sliced
1 apple, thinly sliced
2 Tbsp. flour
11/2 Cups chicken broth
1 Tbsp. vinegar (I used apple cider vinegar)
1 Tbsp. honey

Directions

To Cook: Place in a pan of water and bring to boil. Turn heat to low. Simmer for 10 minutes. Both precooked and fresh bratwurst may be heated in this manner. Grill or saute until lightly browned. In a frying pan heat butter and vegetable oil, add bratwurst and brown. Take out and set aside. Add onion and apple, saut6 until lightly browned; add flour. Combine well; add chicken broth, vinegar and honey; stir until it comes to a boil. Simmer five minutes. Return bratwurst to pan and continue simmering for five minutes.

*Uh…YUM! So simple, yet so very very delicious. Less is more! I added a little side of sauerkraut and I only used half an apple and half a turkey sausage because for some reason I wasn’t all that hungry and it was really late. Like, 10 at night. I would absolutely make this again though, especially since it was so quick and easy.

 

Remember, I also have a small bowl of ice cream like every night. And if I ever have a little extra snack or candy I do mention it, but I normally don’t snack throughout the day. It’s just not something I think about or do. I don’t know why.

I’ve got to be the only female on the planet freaking out slightly over LOSING inches.

Exercise: 1/2 hour of yoga, 4 mile walk

Comments on: "Getting thinner?" (2)

  1. I’d say, if you’re the same weight, then I wouldn’t worry about it. I must say, I find it hard to imagine what it must be like not to want to lose weight or be thinner: it’s an intrinsic part of my being. Not that you need to be thinner, in ANY respect, but I just can’t get my brain to view being thinner as anything but a positive thing, regardless of the size I am/was to start with.

    I think because you don’t snack much, your calories are probably on the lower side of ‘normal’ and you are very active, but at the same time this way of eating obviously works for you in terms of managing your emotions with regard to food, and everything you make is so nutritious (and also pleasing to the eye as well as the palate) that I’m sure you are in excellent health 🙂

    xxx

  2. I vote that you’re one healthy mother fucker! 🙂

    *sorry, daddy, i know that you regularly read MissPistachio’s blog, so I am sorry (sort of) for the swear words that MissPistachio brings out in me*

    haha:)

Leave a Reply

