Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Luckily the boys weren’t up all night this time…but shithead’s best friend was up early this morning and had the TV on. I didn’t get to do my yoga. And I didn’t get to make anything cool because the boys took up all the counterspace with pizza boxes.  *sigh*…At least he was watching 30 Rock. If I had to wake up to anything, I’m glad it was that.

The one and only reason I am not gone yet is that I was oblivious to the fact that my brother would be out of town this weekend. I’m fairly certain they come home Monday and will be making moving arrangements as soon as they are home. I’ve sent my application to the landlord for the apartment which I’m certain he will approve. I have great credit, have 2 jobs and am in a more desperate position than most people. He seemed really willing to help me out.

Breakfast:

Cereal. Once again…no room to cook. 😦

Lunch:

Tuna and Apple Salad Sandwich

I don’t know that I could tell you how I made this, but it was delicious. I used some chopped apple, celery, raisins, walnuts, half a can of tuna, some light mayo, honey and lemon juice till the consistency looked right. Then I split open some french break and served it up along with the extra apple that wouldn’t fit into the mixture. Great for something quick!

Dinner:

Tuna and Quinoa Casserole

Taken from: http://cohokitchen.blogspot.com/2011/10/salmon-quinoa-casserole.html

You will need:
1 1/4 cup quinoa
3/4 cup sour cream
1 cup plain yogurt
3 Tablespoons Dijon mustard
1 cup shredded cheese (cheddar or similar)
1/2 cup parmesan
2 tablespoons butter
18 ounces (3 cans) canned salmon (or tuna)
2 cups frozen peas
2 cups chopped vegetables* (I used onion, parsnips and something else…I can’t remember)
Salt and pepper, to taste (I also threw in a little garlic powder)

Preheat your oven to 425.

In a medium bowl, mix the sour cream, yogurt, mustard, shredded cheese, and about half of the Parmesan cheese together. Add the drained salmon, and (uncooked!) quinoa and mix well. Finally add the vegetables, and melted butter. Season with salt and pepper to taste.

Pour the mixture into an 8x8x2 or similarly sized baking dish and sprinkle with the remaining Parmesan.

Bake for about 30 minutes.

Devour.

*I’d like to remember what else it was I used as this was ABSOLUTELY scrumptious. I raved about how great it was to my cousin the entire time I was eating it, so damn…I hope I can remember what else was in it…but truthfully, put whatever veggies you want in this! That’s the point, whatever you have on hand will work no matter what it is! Oddly enough this was my first tuna casserole. I will be making them again MUCH more often!

 

Today I leave you with hope and love. I end on sour notes so much these days and its a holiday weekend, so remember to love yourselves girls. The minute you learn to do this, the more your life will improve in so many ways. Love is the gateway to happiness.

Exercise: 1 hour at the gym

Leave a Reply

