Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Loooooong Day

Today started well. I got up nice and early and made myself a treat for breakfast (I’ve been working so hard I felt I deserved it). I started on the application for my apartment, realizing I didn’t have a lot of the information it wanted (previous landlord information?…I don’t remember, I’ve been living here for 6 years now…) and didn’t understand some of the other info it wanted (credit grantor? you mean credit cards? loans? doesn’t all that come up in a credit check with my SS?) so it took a couple of hours to fill out, including sending off an email to the guy trying to explain why I filled it out the way I did.

So that was the first annoyance.

I needed to get a major project finished and sent today but due to the application setback I didn’t get started till Noon:30.

Lovely.

Then of course everything that could have gone wrong with said project went wrong. Though it wasn’t nearly as bad as the last “structural nightmare” one, it’s been a nightmare in its own respect. I didn’t even get halfway through it.

Lovely…

I did treat myself to a walk anyway. I walked my application to the post office. It was the only time all day I got to space out for a while and enjoy myself.

Then when I got home I worked for about another hour and a half. Then I was just…tired. Just tired. I knew it wasn’t getting finished anyway so I gave up for the night and made a simple dinner. My customer wrote me to make sure I knew she didn’t need it immediately or anything and not to stress myself out about it. My customers are so nice. I feel bad when I promise them something, such as “I will have it done and sent by Saturday” and then don’t come through for them. 99.9% of the time they are incredibly understanding.

Breakfast:

Don’t fool yourself…I had 4 of these bars. ^_^ One made a prettier picture.

Mango-Oat Cake Bars

Ingredients:

For the crust:
2 cups Graham cracker crumbs
1 stick unsalted butter, melted

For the filling:
4 cups mangoes, chopped
1/3 cup water
2 tsp lemon juice
3 tbsp cornstarch
3 tbsp water
2 tsp mango extract (optional)
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 pkg cream cheese, softened

For the topping:
2 cups quick oats
1 stick unsalted butter, chilled and cut in small pieces
1/4 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup sugar

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees F

Crust:
Mix Graham cracker crumbs and melted unsalted butter well. Press into a buttered 13×9 pan. Bake for 7-10 minutes or until lightly browned. Set aside to cool.

Filling:
In a saucepan, combine mangoes with water, lemon juice, mango extract, vanilla and sugar.
Cook for 10 minutes or until tender over medium heat.
Add softened cream cheese and stir well.
Combine cornstarch water and then stir into mango mixture.
Cook until thickened. Cool slightly and pour over prepared crust.

Topping:
Combine oats, flour and sugar. Using a fork or a or a dough or pastry cutter, cut in butter until it becomes crumbly. Sprinkle over mango layer.
Bake for 35-45 minutes.
Allow to cool before cutting into bars.

*I never seem to use enough butter when making graham cracker crusts and crumble toppings…the crust totally fell apart while scooping it out. Ah well! At least I got one of them out in one piece for a pretty picture! I’ll know for next time. And regardless, this was a HUGE treat. It was creamy on the inside and crunchy on the outside, I love different textures in my food!

Lunch:

For lunch since I was trying to save time and get shit done, I just had a really simple sandwich. I borrowed a slice of turkey bologna and cheese from my husband and added some light mayo, tomato and pickles. I scooped out about half a cup of cottage cheese and topped it with a little light French dressing. I quickly inhaled this so I could get back to work. It’s the best I could do with my limited time today.

In between lunch and dinner I did have a handful of raisins for a snack. I’ve been told I ought to snack a little more and I WAS a little hungry after my walk. I didn’t take a picture of them though, but figured y’all should know.

Dinner:

Chicken, Pepper and Carrot stir fry

Chicken, cubed
Olive Oil for frying
1/2 Green Pepper, 1/4 Red Pepper and 1/4 Yellow pepper, all cut into large chunks
1 Carrot, sliced
1 small Tomato, cut into large chunks
1/4 cup Plum Sauce
Large splash of Sherry
Large splash of Lemon Juice
Cornstarch to thicken
Pinch of Sugar
S&P to taste

I cooked this fast and hot! I threw the chicken in first and flipped them all once and then threw in all the rest of the veggies with a little more oil and cooked for a couple minutes. I added the lemon juice, then sherry, then last the plum sauce. I let it cook down for a couple minutes and added a bit of cornstarch to thicken and a pinch of sugar. No rice, this was all I really wanted. It was REALLY good, it was sort of in the style of sweet and sour sauce. I was happy!

 

I’m hoping tomorrow will be a bit more productive. Yes yes, I realize tomorrow is Easter…I don’t really have anywhere to go though. My husband’s family has made it clear that it would be awkward if I went to his family’s get together (even though neither my husband and I care, we’re only there for the food anyway) and my family is doing mostly church stuff. I don’t…do…church. And I don’t believe they are doing anything in particular afterwards. So…I’ll just hang out here and work. I guess. If someone calls and invites me to something, I may take them up on it. Otherwise it’s back to work for me.

Exercise: 4 mile walk (I skipped yoga since I was under a time crunch)

Leave a Reply

