Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

First of all, YAY I finally got to cook myself some foodstuffs and so therefore remembered to take a couple of pictures! Huzzah!! So today I actually have something to show for!

I also wanted to add that I am SO SO glad that I am much better. I cannot IMAGINE living here and still being disordered. It would be the friggin death of me. Even though they are actually really REALLY good with portion sizes and healthy ingredients, I would still die of constant anxiety attacks. “What did he put in this? Is there milk? Butter? How much of it? HOW MANY CALORIES ARE IN THIS?? How much rice did I just take? Does that look like a cup or a cup and a half? I can’t put some BACK, they’d know something was wrong. Oh no, she put cream in my coffee, she knows I USED to take cream in my coffee…I shouldn’t drink this but I don’t want to be a rude houseguest. He made me eggs and toast, what did he fry the egg in? How much of it? Did he put butter on this toast? I’m sure this bread has twice the amount of calories as my ‘diet’ bread…and he gave me 2 SLICES?” And the inner dialogue would go on and on and on and on until my brain would absolutely explode with anxiety. This was why I started cooking. So I could control every single little minute detail of EVERYTHING that went into my food. When I couldn’t do that, I couldn’t eat something without being INCREDIBLY upset and anxious.

That was me a year ago.

This is me now: “Thank you so much for making me dinner! I really appreciate it! This looks amazing! Why yes,  I would love to share a beer with you! That was absolutely delicious! Thanks again!”

And the inner dialogue matches the outer dialogue perfectly.

I love living here.

Breakfast:

Cheesy Mushroom and Egg Casserole

Taken from: http://www.turkishfoodandrecipes.com/2009/01/cheesy-mushroom-egg-casserole-mantar-ve.html

½ lb mushrooms, brushed and sliced
2 tbsp butter/olive oil
1-2 pairs of green onions, chopped (optional)
3 eggs, beaten
1 cup milk
½ tbsp starch
½ cup crumbled feta/ Mexican cheese
½ tsp any kind of seasoning
½ tsp salt to taste

In a skillet, sauté mushrooms with butter over medium heat, till all the water evaporates. Then stir in green onions and sauté over low medium for 1-2 minutes.
Meanwhile dissolve starch in milk and add salt, eggs and seasoning. Mix them all.
Preheat the oven to 350-375F (180-190 C) and place mushrooms in a Pyrex or baking dish and sprinkle feta/Mexican Cheese over them. Finally pour egg-milk mixture and stir gently with a fork to distribute mushrooms and cheese evenly in egg mixture.
Bake for 25-30 minutes, till the surface turns light brown.
Serve Cheesy Mushroom Egg Casserole warm.
ENJOY

*I used goat’s cheese for the crumbled cheese in this, it was SO good! So so good! For the seasoning I used ground thyme, dried rosemary, s&p. I had no idea rosemary and goat’s cheese were lovers. But they are.

Lunch:

Tomato Goat’s Cheese soup with Carrots and Peas

1 cup Chicken Stock
1/2 cup Milk
I dunno….between 1/8 and 1/4 cup Goats Cheese
1/3 cup Peas
1 Carrot, sliced
1/2 Tomato, chopped
1 T Tomato Paste
2 slices Onion, chopped
1 clove Garlic, grated
A little butter and oil
Coriander
Cinnamon
S&P

Melt a small pat of butter along with a little oil in a pot. Cook the onion until translucent. Add garlic. Add peas and carrots. Allow to cook and brown a little. Add chopped tomatoes, cook until most of the liquid is cooked out. Add stock, paste, and spices. Simmer for about 5 minutes. Melt in goat’s cheese and simmer another 5 minutes or until carrots are tender. Serve up! I apparently have a thing for goat’s cheese today. If you don’t like it, I’m sure you can any kind of melty cheese!

Dinner:

We had leftovers of the tofu, carrot and potato curry from yesterday and I STILL forgot to take a picture! COME ON! 😦 I can’t be any more unreliable right now. Sad.

 

It’s so great to be able to enjoy food with people again. I definitely still eat healthy, as does my brother and sister-in-law. So it makes it easy to eat with them. Their portion sizes are always appropriate. When they serve up ice cream, they serve it in ramekins that only hold about a “standard serving”. They stay thin because they eat right and stay active. Not because they count every single calorie. If they can do it, I can too!

Does anyone out there have to eat with people that are hard to eat with? Like…do they chock everything full of butter? And then give you a WHOPPING plate of food enough for an entire family? I can’t imagine having to eat with people like that, I’d like to hear your family/roommate eating experiences.

Exercise: 1/2 hour of yoga, 7 mile or so walk

 

Comments on: "Living with others and disordered eating" (4)

  1. I know just how you felt! I live with my boyfriend and half the time I’m look “AHH GET OUT SO I CAN EAT WHAT I WANT” but then I flip my crazy switch off and step away from the ledge. It’s a rough road!

    • Whats nice is I didn’t have to cook for my husband when I lived with him. We made all of our meals separately. So I DID get to eat what I wanted. But I realize most couples who live together, it doesn’t work that way hehe. But whenever he left, it gave me opportunity to get bingy because there was no one there to “watch” me. Luckily that didn’t last too long. I do worry when I live alone that it may be harder to control myself, but I’ve been here alone a lot at my brothers for a week and haven’t had an issue yet. So I think I can trust myself.

  2. the comments about eating with your family are so interesting to me!!! i love that you’re having a grand, healthy time with them. question: your breakfast. how do you not eat it all? with ketchup? or do you? 😀 i’d eat it ALL! pardon my stupid questions. i’ve had martinisss. 🙂 x x x

    • Oh that dish is VERY small Nicole, it looks big in the picture, like a full-sized casserole dish haha! But it was teeny tiny. Totally a 1-person serving! And for some reason I’m just not as accustomed to putting ketchup on my eggs as a lot of people are hehe. Next time my bro makes me eggs in the morning I’ll ketchup them up for you!

Leave a Reply

