Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

New shoes

I’m pretty sure I mentioned that I got new trainers the other day. $123.00 shoes for $30. CANNOT beat that. And while they are AWESOME shoes, they are also new. New shoes always come with a hidden price…breaking them in. It absolutely blows because I want nothing more than to walk everywhere and go work out and every time I do my 6 mile walk, I get blisters and tear up the back of my feet until they bleed. I threw out my old trainers like an idiot, not thinking that maybe I’d still need them until I could break these new shoes in. Great. So now I’m stuck dealing with really hurty feet for a while.

I just want things to not be so complicated, but that’s always far too much to ask. I understand this.

I also had problems purchasing the supplies I needed as one of the major components was “defective” and I have to wait another week for the store to get a new one in. Lovely. Luckily, my customers don’t need their items immediately. Otherwise I’d have to drive a half an hour to the next closest store.

I was able to purchase some of what I needed and get one order done. I started on a new one, not for anyone in particular, just some stock for my store. I was invited out by my brother. I had to turn it down to get work done. I was also invited out by 2 of my best friends (who happen to be a couple now, I am Miss Matchmaker as well!) but had to turn them down as well. I was stuck alone working all night.

Breakfast:

If nothing else, I had a fabulous breakfast.


Parsnip Pancakes with Banana Brown Sugar syrup

Pancakes:

1/3 cup AP flour
1 T Sugar
1 Parsnip, grated
Nutmeg
1/4 cup Yogurt (I used Greek)
1/2 t Baking Soda
1 Egg

Mix dry ingredients plus parsnip. Mix wet ingredients in a separate bowl. Add wet to dry. Mix until just combined, lumps are not only okay, but encouraged. I think I dumped them out in 1/4 cups. It made 4.

Banana Brown Sugar syrup

Taken from: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/sandra-lee/french-toast-with-brown-sugar-banana-syrup-recipe/index.html

Syrup:

  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1/2 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
  • 2 tablespoons molasses
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 2 bananas, cut into 1/2-inch slices

For Syrup:

In a small saucepan, combine butter, pumpkin pie spice, molasses, brown sugar and 1/2 cup of water. Bring to a boil, add bananas then lower heat and let simmer for 3 minutes. Remove syrup from heat, cover and keep warm. Serve over French toast.

*I’ve learned something about syrup. I allowed this to simmer for the time allotted instead of freaking out thinking it’s not thick enough and letting it cook too long. I turned it off and let it sit and it thickened up beautifully on its own. No extra help from me! I burned the pancakes a bit because I was using a new griddle I’d never used before and didn’t know how hot to make it. BUT luckily all the other flavours are so intense, I didn’t even notice! It was wonderful! Like carrot cake pancakes, but with the nuttiness of parsnip instead, which went BEAUTIFULLY with the bananas!

Lunch:

I have no idea what happened, I totally took a picture of my lunch and can’t seem to locate it. Bpttttth. I had a big bowl of cottage cheese and an English muffin again with jelly. I was busy busy busy today. Per usual lately eh?

Dinner:

Cilantro Mustard Sausage over Sauerkraut

I sauteed some onions and green peppers in oil and a little butter. I added the sausage and let it cook for a couple minutes. Added a big splash of red wine vinegar, some fresh chopped cilantro and this awesome jalapeno cilantro  mustard that my sister in law bought for me on clearance. I pushed all that off to the side of the pan and added the sauerkraut on the other, also splashed with a little red wine vinegar, and topped it all with some S&P. Let the sauerkraut cook until it started to brown just a little. Then served it up! YUM! I wanted an excuse to use that mustard, so this was perfect! I wanted to keep dinner flour and pasta-free since I had some for breakfast, so the sauerkraut was perfect!

 

I spent the day once again working my ass off because I want to go to a party tomorrow night. I got one project completely done and another half done. If I can finish the other half in the morning I get to party. It would make me so very happy. I never get to party. I might even get to have a couple drinks! *WHAAA?* That’s right! I won’t have to drive (we live a block away from this guy’s place) and don’t have to feel bad about myself anymore for drinking the “empty calories” for one freakin night. We shall see!

Exercise: 6 mile walk

 

Leave a Reply

