Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Prison

Not certain I’ve mentioned this yet, but my husband is going to prison for 2 weeks starting next Saturday.

He’s very pompous. Very sure of himself. Confident that he will never get caught for the dumbass stunts that he pulls. Even when he does get caught he likes to brush it off as “shit happens” and is certain he won’t be severely punished for his actions. He was actually sentenced to 3 months, which I secretly wish he got as it’s what he deserves. His amazing lawyer was able to talk them down to 2 weeks plus 80 hours of community service.

So this means I take care of the cat for 2 weeks.

I must admit that I am excited about this. Jack Donaghy the cat will get to live with me in my new place for a period of time. I will not have much yet. I don’t have any furniture save for my bed and work table. I hope he is not too bored. I love him. I hope to get to take care of him more often in the future. I know my ex-idiot likes to take random trips to Vegas, I am certain I will be able to take care of him during those times as well. I don’t often take pictures of my animals, I feel no one really cares and no one really wants to see them, but in this case I will make ONE exception.

P.S. I did not eat the kitteh.

Maybe more to come?

Breakfast:

Strawberry Rhubarb Muffins

FINALLY! I get to do what I do best for my family! Cooking breakfast!!!

Ingredients

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour + 1 Tb. to coat the berries
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • ½ tap. Salt
  • ¼ cup butter
  • ¼ cup vegetable oil
  • ¾ cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup plain yogurt
  • ½ tsp. almond extract
  • ¾ cup chopped rhubarb (one large piece)
  • 1 cup chopped strawberries
  • ¼ cup brown sugar r for the top

Instructions

  1. Preheat the oven to 450 degrees F.
  2. In the bowl of an electric mixer, cream together the butter, sugar and oil until smooth.
  3. In a separate bowl, combine the first four dry ingredients.
  4. Add the egg, yogurt and almond extract to the sugar mixture and mix well. Slowly add the dry mixture into the wet mixture.
  5. Add the chopped rhubarb and strawberries and lightly mix in.
  6. Place paper muffin liner in your muffin tins.
  7. Use a ¼ cup scoop to fill the liners. Sprinkle a little brown sugar on the top of each muffin.
  8. Bake for 12-14 minutes until golden on top.

Preparation time: 15 minute(s)

Cooking time: 12 – 14 minute(s)

*OK kids, I realize I make my muffins MASSIVELY huge. I fill those damn cups all the way and put LOTS of fruit inside! So I did a half recipe that made 6 muffins. 2 of each of us! I also made a crumble topping out of brown sugar, flour and butter. Put a ton of that on top as well. My brother and sister-in-law were NOT disappoint! There were so many “Mmmmm!’s” during breakfast I thought my little heart would esplode with happiness! I’m always able to get them nice and golden crispy on top with the sugar and butter topping and beautifully light and fluffy on the inside. These were NO exception! YESSSS! I love when I can really show people what I can do!

Lunch:

Egg Salad Sandwich

My brother made it. Not sure how. But it was magical! I also had 5 or 6 baby carrots and 5 or 6 little squares of whatever was left of the chocolate cheese. Delicious!!!

Dinner:

My brother made a gorgeous stir fry with some green pepper that I bought, some chicken, onions and mushrooms. I know he made a pineapple ginger sauce for it. All on top of some sticky rice. Sounds like something I would make, no? He is definitely my brother!

 

So this is my last weekend here! I’m going to start packing up my stuff tomorrow most likely. I meet with the landlord on Monday to sign the lease and exchange money. I’m going to miss it here so much, I love my family. It has been such a joy living with them. I’m going to do a weekly girly manicure night with my sister-in-law as I’ve had so much fun with it! I don’t want to lose that with her! I do hope to find a couch soon! I also need to make some curtains!

Exercise: 1 hour at the gym

Comments on: "Prison" (6)

  1. You totally rock! I found your blog through some recipes and was instantly hooked with your personality and good spirits. You are the type of person that everyone needs to have around to remind us that we can’t give up in this life, keep up the good work!

  2. I actually love seeing pictures of your pets! But I think cats are the four-legged Gods and Goddesses of this Earth, so perhaps I’m biased 😉

    xxx

Leave a Reply

