Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

That’s right, I’m finally settled in enough that I can spend my morning doing a real update! (Instead of making myself a real breakfast…but it’s ok! At the moment this is more important than making myself some sugar-packed fruit cobbler.) Settled down? Absolutely not. Settled in, yes.

I’ve got everything I really need unpacked and set up. My bedroom looks amazing. My bathroom ain’t too shabby either (even though Jack Donaghy the cat has already put a couple snags in my brand new fabric shower curtain, I got them back out for the most part, so they’re not very noticeable…) and my kitchen? Well, everyone knows my kitchen is my sanctuary. I scrubbed that son of a bitch from top to bottom. From my tippytoes to my hands and knees. What other people consider clean and what I consider clean are clearly two very, very different things. While there was an obvious attempt at cleaning the fridge (as occasionally you could see Ajax residue in the corners), when you pulled the crisper drawers out, there was literally a layer of red. Dried blood and small chunks of rotting meat coating the bottom of it. It was absolutely horrid. I changed out all the contact paper in the cabinets, which took the better part of 3 hours or so. Measuring and cutting each piece, tearing out the old shit, sticking the new stuff on just perfectly. It looks great. Then the floor I spent 2 hours scrubbing. Anything labeled as “floor cleaner” is garbage. Toss is aside and grab a $1 canister of Comet. That shit cures ground-in dirt like unicorns cure cancer. Lucky for me the oven was the easiest part. The previous tenant obviously had little to no interest in using it. It was practically still brand new. I do not wish to own a microwave, so this pleased me. I plan on doing a vintage-feel cupcake theme in my kitchen. I purchased a wooden sign from work that says “Carry On and Eat Cupcakes” and a beautiful cupcake towel from Walmart. I will replace the cabinet handles with cupcake-shaped pulls in the near future.

My living room is still completely empty. Save for when the cat is sitting in the window that I’ve left open for him. I literally have nothing in there. I have no furniture. No pictures on the walls. No lamps. Nothing. And I’m OK with this. I’ll accumulate stuff as I find it and as I can afford it. My mum and grandma want to help me buy couches. I found a set that I don’t hate on Craigslist that are pretty close to me. So if I can find someone with a truck willing to help, I may have couches very soon!

I have a couple pictures of food I’ve made in the past couple days, but not enough to warrant real updates, so I will post them here for the hell of it:

Breakfast 2 days ago:

Lemon pancakes with strawberry rhubarb compote/syrup. I just added a tablespoon of lemon pie filling mix and a little lemon juice to this batter recipe. To make the compote, I just created a simple syrup (equal parts water and sugar) and thew in some strawberries and rhubarb, let that cook and thicken for about 10-15 minutes.

Breakfast yesterday:

Strawberry Rhubarb baked oatmeal.

Breakfast today:

Orange Rhubarb Scones

Adapted from: http://hopieskitchen.blogspot.com/2008/06/sunday-baking-orange-rhubarb-scones.html

2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup plus 2 Tbsp sugar
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup butter, cut into pieces
1 Tbsp orange zest
2/3 cup plus 1 Tbsp heavy cream (I just used 2% milk)
1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Added:
Brown sugar, butter and flour crumble for the top

For the scones: Preheat the oven to 375F and line a cookie sheet with parchment paper.

In a large bowl, combine the flour, 1/2 cup sugar, baking powder, and salt. Using a pastry blender (or whatever you can get your hands on), cut the butter into the dry ingredients until crumbly. Add orange zest and mix well.

In a small bowl, combine 2/3 cup cream and vanilla extract (the original recipe uses orange extract. I didn’t have any, but if that inspires you, go ahead and substitute it back in). Add cream mixture to dry ingredients, stirring until dry ingredients are just moistened.

From here, I just molded it into a 1/2 inch thick round and cut it into 3 pieces. Bake for 18-20 minutes, until lightly browned.

*I’m still getting used to my new oven. It heats RIDICULOUSLY too cold. If I set it to 350 it only heats it to like 300. I have to bump up the heat or else nothing cooks!! When I finally did get these to bake, they were of course, delicious. ^_^ A little crispy on the outside, soft and moist on the inside.

Lunch:

I snacked on some cheese that my husband left in the house that he told me to eat while running some errands. When I finally got home I had a PB&J sammich and an orange.

Dinner:

Chicken in Cardamom-Yogurt Sauce

Adapted from:  http://www.food.com/recipe/chicken-in-cardamom-yogurt-sauce-377382?scaleto=1&mode=null&st=true

Ingredients:

1/4 cup plain yogurt
1/4 cup tomato puree, canned
1/2 tablespoon cumin
1/3 tablespoon coriander
1/3 tablespoon canola oil
2/3 teaspoon paprika
1/4 tablespoon celery seed
1/4 teaspoon cayenne
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon ginger
1/8 teaspoon cardamom
1/16 teaspoon clove
7/8 garlic cloves, minced
1/3 lb chicken thighs, skinned and trimmed
1/2 cup cooked basmati rice

Added:
Raisins

Directions:

1
Preheat oven to 350°F
2
Whisk first 13 ingredients in a 2-quart baking dish. Add chicken; stir to coat.
3
Bake until chicken is cooked through, about 40 minutes.
4
Divide rice among bowls. Top with chicken and sauce.

 

*This was not the recipe I was looking for. I took a chance on this one because it was a little different than what I would normally do. I am SO GLAD I did! I will be making this for my family at some point. It was SO good. I made a ridiculous amount of food. I didn’t have any veggies with this, which is unusual for me. I had 2 bone-in chicken breasts that I peeled the skin off of before cooking. And just baked that with the yogurt sauce and some raisins and put it on top of white rice. I was BLOWN AWAY at how good this was. If you love Indian food, you will love this!

 

Well there you go! Finally an update! I have not gone to the gym or done my yoga in a week. I’ve been completely exhausted. Moving and cleaning are incredibly hard work. I’ve not needed a workout. I want to try to go walking tomorrow. I need to go to the post office, so a walk is definitely in order!

Comments on: "FINALLY! A real update!!!" (6)

  1. You know, i really shouldn’t bake because i am terrible at it but those lemon pancakes with strawberry rhubarb compote/syrup look amazing! Glad you’re more settled 🙂 xx

    • Hey I thought for the LONGEST time that I couldn’t cook or bake, you just gotta jump in and make a few mistakes! Hell, one of those pancakes is a little burned on the bottom! LOL! You just keep trying till you get it right.

  2. Ain’t nothing like a clean kitchen. I’m the same. When I come home for the holidays, there’d better not be a pile of dirty dishes in the sink, or there *will* be trouble.
    As always your meals look delicious! Could you possibly be as enamoured with Peanut Butter and Jelly sandwiches/sammiches (:D) and pancakes as I am?

    • I do all of my dishes immediately after using them, dry them and put them away. I didn’t even buy a drying rack because I don’t want any reason to leave them laying around. And I’m going to say YES!! Was it weird that I was absolutely ecstatic when I bought apricot preserves yesterday for my PB&J because it would be something new and exciting? I also bought turkey and ham lunch meat but didn’t think twice about them as I slathered on some crunchy peanut butter and NEW preserves onto my bread. Pancakes are so amazingly versitile, whatever I’ve got that needs using up, by god, you can make a pancake out of it!!

  3. I love how you say ‘sammich’ 🙂

    Your kitchen sounds lovely! I’m a cupcake nut!!!
    X

Leave a Reply

