Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Broken

The day started out awesome enough. Simple breakfast so I could get shit started. Jumped right into work and got a little less than halfway done with my project. Made a break for a little lunch, then went back to work. Then the unthinkable happens. My machine breaks.

Shit shit shit shit.

Yeah, I’ve worked on it every day for 3 years and have never had it properly serviced. Sure, it’s broken before and I’ve been able to sort of fix it. No, it doesn’t work completely right, but it WORKS and I’ve never had to PAY someone else to fix it.

This time it was unavoidable.

Fuck fuck fuck fuck.

I take it onto the shop and BEG them not to charge me too much as I won’t be able to pay it if they do. I have a “situation” I call it. It’s not good. And I have no money and I need my machine to live. They promised they would get it in and out and quickly and as cheaply as they could.

They ask if I know of anyone I could possibly…borrow a machine from in the meantime?

Uhg. Husband. Yes, I know someone who I think will let me borrow theirs.

Well he’s in prison so he doesn’t have much of a choice. I am borrowing it. Not like he’s getting any use out of it right now anyway. If I play my cards right he wouldn’t know I had it at all. It doesn’t matter that much, he’d be happy to let me borrow it. But I just don’t like relying on him for anything at all at this point.

I drive all the way to his house on the other side of town and grab it. Take it home. Realize I forgot a very important attachment. Godfuckingdammitalltohell. I waste MORE gas and MORE time driving back again. The gas light comes on. It can wait. I drive home and get everything proper set up. I fuck around with it until its working the way I want it to. It is now 7:00PM and I am tired. And done.

What a complete and utter waste of a day.

I am sad and pissed.

Breakfast:

Simple cereal. Changing it up a bit now with Frosted Shredded Wheat yo!!

Lunch:

Turkey, cheese, light mayo and honey mustard on an onion bun stolen from husband’s house. (He asked me to take any perishables) and an apple.

Dinner:

Goat’s Cheese Marinara Sauce with Zucchini, Mushrooms and Eggplant on Whole Wheat Linguini

You can tell for once I had an early dinner as it is still daylight out. I didn’t measure anything. And I also realized that I don’t have dried basil or oregano (those were his). So I used a basic “chicken seasoning” that smells like it had both. Then I also added sage. Goats cheese and sage work well together. I made this out of crushed tomatoes, olive oil, Pepper Jack and Goat’s cheese, water…uh…I dunno. Whatever I felt like throwing in. It was good! Just throw in what you like and make a sauce out of it haha! That’s what I always do!

 

So I’m hoping tomorrow won’t be the heaping pile of unproductive shit that it was today. At least I got some good meals in there if nothing else. Once again, spent the entire day romping around so no gym time or anything. I want to try for that walk again tomorrow. I’ll be overly excited if I get it in.

 

Comments on: "Broken" (3)

  1. The day’s food is simple, but sometimes all you need is something simple to hit the spot. Although your dinners always seem to be something culinarily-complicated (this coming from the girl who can’t cook much more than eggs and beans).
    What was the machine that broke?

  2. I can only liken the breakdown of your machine to when my world seems to fall apart when my laptop breaks, but for you it’s your creative outlet as well as a practical one. So to create recipes that sound so gourmet to me out of nowhere, with all of that going on around you? Amazing 🙂

    xxx

    • Thank you! Both of you! ^_^ Jo, I thought I couldn’t cook. Then I became a control freak with my food and HAD to learn to cook so I could count every calorie that went into my food. Now I do it because I love it and I love food. Jessica, I’d also be pretty SOL without my computer haha. Luckily if that happens I do have a backup plan with a library that is close by. It’s cool to think that I cook “gourmet” food BTW. I just use whatever ingredients I have! Whatever is on sale or clearance. I never feel like it’s anything special until someone says that it is. Hehe.

Leave a Reply

