Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

I am one of those individuals with no health insurance.

My retail job used to offer it to part-time people. They do not anymore. It was one of the biggest perks of working there so it actually it kind of a blow.

I still go to Planned Parenthood for all of my feminine preventative health needs. Funding however has been dramatically cut to them in the past couple of years. They are now only open for 2 days a week and only do same-day appointments. No calling and trying to schedule ahead of time or anything. So when you call, you get put on hold. If they get to you, you get an appointment. Once they are full for the day, they are full and that is it. You have to try again the next day.

I am out of birth control and they will not issue another prescription without a yearly check-up first. I tried to make an appointment today and did not get in. Maybe I will tomorrow, but if I don’t, then I have to have them “float” me another pack until I can make it in. I understand that they can’t magically make money/appointments appear. And I am incredibly grateful to their services. But damn…they make it really hard to not get pregnant. 😦

Breakfast:

Orange Yogurt Pancakes

Something fast and not overly complicated.

Adaped from: http://foodcomablog.com/2011/05/greek-yogurt-honey-pancakes/

 

Greek Yogurt + Honey Pancakes, makes 4-6 medium/large pancakes

8 tablespoons flour, 1 teaspoon baking soda, 1/2 teaspoon salt, 1 cup greek yogurt, 1-2 tablespoons honey, 2 eggs and butter or oil for cooking. Added: Orange Juice, orange zest

I only used about half the amount of yogurt and filled in the other half of the liquid with the orange juice. I also only used 1 egg. These turned out not so pretty, but tasted great! The texture with the yogurt was really good! I liked these a lot, I used sugar-free maple syrup on top.

Lunch:

In between all the INSANE amount of running around I had to do today, I was able to stop at home to feed myself and the cat. I quickly made this PB&J sammich and an apple. I ran back out the door to finish my errands.

I stopped at the house to pick up a couple more things and look after the fish. I grabbed the mail as well. I’ve got a letter from ex-idiot.

Lovely.

In it he write about how much he misses me and how much he hates jail and he thinks of me all the time.

I KNEW this was going to happen. I KNEW that he was going to get all this free-time in prison to think about what a complete and utter moron he is. And having no one else that truly gives a flying fuck, he writes to me.

I hope he doesn’t think this changes a damn thing.

Dinner:

Chicken and Cauliflower in Banana Coconut Sauce

Ok kids, pay attention because this was RE-FUCKING-DICULOUS!

Adapted from: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/south-of-the-sea-chicken-and-bananas/

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup lemon juice
  • 1 (14 ounce) can sweetened condensed milk
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup flaked coconut
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground cardamom
  • 6 very firm bananas, halved lengthwise
  • 3 cups cornflakes cereal
  • 6 pounds skinless, boneless chicken breast halves
  • 3/4 cup butter, melted
  • 1 kiwi, peeled and sliced for garnish

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
  2. In a food processor or blender blend the lemon juice, condensed milk, milk, coconut and cardamom until smooth. Pour into a large bowl. Put cornflakes in a shallow dish for rolling.
  3. Dip bananas in milk mixture, roll in cornflakes and set aside. Dip chicken pieces in remaining milk mixture and roll in the remaining cornflakes. Place the bananas in one 9 x 13 inch dish. Place the chicken pieces in another 9 x 13 inch dish. Drizzle both the bananas and the chicken with 1/2 cup of the melted butter and bake in the preheated oven, uncovered, for 1 hour.
  4. Remove both dishes from the oven and arrange the bananas over the chicken in one dish. Drizzle with the remaining butter and bake for 15 more minutes or until the chicken juices run clear. Garnish with kiwi and pineapple slices if desired, and serve.

*NOTE I did not use the cornflake dredge and I did not bake this. I made a sauce out of the “milk mixture” instead of using it as a dredge. I just cut a skinless chicken breast into strips and cooked them with some olive oil and about 1/2 T of butter along with some cauliflower. I blended the other ingredients in my food processor (including the banana) and added them after the chicken was done cooking. I allowed it to heat through and simmer for just a LITTLE bit, but did not want a repeat of yesterday’s lunch. So I was very careful not to overcook the milk. I served this on top of sticky rice. OH MY GOD! Desert for dinner people, dessert for dinner! It was CRAZY delicious!! I just bought some bananas today and figured I should use them immediately. Little did I realize what an excellent idea this was!

I am EXHAUSTED after my insane day of running from here to there and back. I got to go work off some aggression over that damn letter at the gym. I love him. I will always love him. But I cannot be with him. He’s not going to last long when he figures this out. He is not allowed to take his depression meds in jail, so his brain is working overtime telling him what a fuck-up he is. I hope when he gets back on his meds on Friday he will be ok. I do care about him even though he doesn’t deserve it. I hope he doesn’t kill himself.

Exercise: 1/2 hour of yoga, 1 hour at the gym

Comments on: "Run run run, also Planned Parenthood" (6)

  1. You have a good point about Planned Parenthood not really making it easy to not get pregnant! Here at least a GP can (and most often does) prescribe birth control.
    I have never heard of bananas in the sauce for chicken and cauli before… that is bizarre. But often we don’t expect the very things that taste great to taste that good – I have to open my mind a bit more. I don’t think I’m brave enough to try it just yet though 🙂
    I don’t know the story about your ex, but stands to reason that if he’s in jail he’s there for a reason and no you can’t let him come back to you for your own good. It sounds like a very hard situation. Is there a way you can ask them to not allow any mail to you from him?
    Hope you have a good weekend.

    • It also REALLY REALLY fucks with my body to not be on it. I went off of it for 2 months recently and it was just terrible. So I’m trying hard to get everything fixed. But with PP only being open 2 days a week…man…it’s really really hard.

      The banana sauce was seriously fantastic! Fruit and chicken go incredibly well together, you won’t be disappointed! I obviously love to experiment with food, I don’t want to miss out on anything!

      Oh he is just crazy manipulative. A true sociopath. He doesn’t actually care about anyone, but pretends he does (and pretends well) just to get what he wants out of you. I’m very much done dealing with it. He just got out of prison yesterday, a day early. There’s a story about that too that I’ll have to update with later. It’s ok, I’ve moved on to a guy who ACTUALLY cares about me and has for years and years. ^_^

      I thought I had email notifications turned on for your blog, but I’m gong to double-triple-check!

      • A lot of my email notifications have turned themselves off!
        I hope you get to PP soon – that’s not good at all 😦
        There are too many sociopaths in this world. I hope that you will be safe now that he’s free? I am so glad you have a GOOD man as you deserve 🙂 xxx

      • and pork goes so well with apple, I bet chicken DOES go well with fruit 🙂 must try it 🙂

  2. Don’t worry, he was only there for 2 weeks. It wasn’t incredibly serious. We’re going to be working on divorce papers tomorrow, so I’m hoping to have this all done and over with extremely soon. I have a date next week after all! ~_^
    Yes! Another “white” meat, pork, also goes well with fruit! I’ve made lots of different fruit sauces for pork too! Apple is a good one, blueberry, even raisins go great with pork!

    • So glad it sounds like things are going to work out for you.
      Yum yum yum now I’m hungry for pork, applesauce and crackling 🙂 xxx

Leave a Reply

