Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

My brother came over today and fixed my Internets. 😉

I can now talk to you from INSIDE MY KITCHEN!!!

The most important room of my apartment, of course.

My brother is so smart, to test the connection from the kitchen he cued up AB’s cupcake episode. Smart, smart brother.

And as a small housewarming present (because he saw it at a garage sale and knew I’d adore it) he brought me a ceramic candle holder (WITH chocolate-scented candle!) shaped like, you guessed it, a cupcake.

Smart, smart, oh so smart brother.

I am lucky to have family who loves me much and knows me well.

Breakfast:

AB-Style Banana Bread with Strawberries and Orange Zest

I did adapt his recipe a LITTLE hehehe…I just didn’t feel like melting butter over my stove today (no microwave and all) and usually prefer the moistness of using oil anyway. (Just don’t tell him I changed it!)

Adapted ever-so-slightly from: http://lovecakerelationship.tumblr.com/post/7749302524/banana-bread-ab-style

Yield: One 9-inch loaf

The Wet Works 1:

  • 3-4 overripe bananas
  • 1 cup sugar

The Dry Goods:

  • 1 2/3 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup oat flour (Don’t have this, so I actually just used some standard Oats instead!)
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt

The Wet Works 2:

  • 8 tbsp (1 stick) unsalted butter (I used vegetable oil, SHHHH!)
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tsp almond extract

The Options:

  • 1 cup chopped nuts (walnuts, pecans, or almonds)
  • ALSO ADDED: Strawberries (sliced’n’diced) a little fresh squeezed Orange Juice and grated Orange Zest

Directions:

  1. Place an oven rack 2/3 of the way up from the bottom of the oven. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. Prep a loaf pan and set aside.
  3. Place the bananas and sugar in a large mixing bowl and mash them together with a potato masher until smooth (obviously this is impossible with all but the most overripe of bananas).
  4. Proceed with the Muffin Method. Combine the Wet Works 1 and then the Wet Works 2 in separate bowls, then combine together before adding the Wet Works to the Dry Goods.
  5. Fold in the nuts, if using, then pour the batter into the prepared loaf pan and bake for 50 minutes to 1 hour, until temperature measures 210 degrees F, or a toothpick inserted in the center comes out more or less clean, but banana bread should come out of the oven a little moister than most.
  6. Allow the bread to cool in the pan for 15 minutes, then remove it from the pan and place on a rack to cool completely before slicing.
  7. Tightly wrapped, this bread will keep at room temperature for 5 days.

To feel less like a fatty fat pig, I made a half-recipe. Though I ate half of this for breakfast, I shared 2 big slices with my brother and sister-in-law and put the rest in the fridge! Ok ok…I honestly will have to try this AB’s way with the butter and oat flour for comparison, but JESUS H! This was SO moist and delicious, I can’t imagine making it any other way!

Lunch:

When my brother stopped by, it was taking slightly longer than we though it would to get my Internets up and running properly, so I nearly forgot to eat! I whipped up a quick PB&J along with an apple. That was it!

Dinner:

The ex-husband and I went to our friends wedding reception/party thing. We really did have a very good time. He bought me a beer and I got pretty drunk off of it. (Yes…1 beer…I don’t drink nearly as much as I used to and you can tell by how quickly I get drunk.) They had a buffet with fruits and sliders and chicken wings where I proceeded to eat till I was full! Not overly full, not binge-full…just regular full. ^_^ I did take a picture of the MOST IMPORTANT part of dinner:

I eated 3 of these, yes I did! While nowhere near the “gourmet” style cupcakes that I make, they were still yummy enough to go back for more! I was quite content and my tummy was happy!

 

One thing about my ex, his is fun to have around as long as he’s not too drunk. He only had 3 beers I believe in the entire 3 hours we were there, which for him is really not much. I am proud that he is drinking less and trying to better himself. I wish it didn’t take a divorce for him to start trying, but at least it’s getting done. We had fun. Maybe we’ll have fun again someday, we’ll see.

Exercise: 1/2 hour of yoga (Watching the muffin method episode of Good Eats as it was how I made my bread ^_^)

Comments on: "Internets, wedding parties and ex-husbands" (2)

  1. I love your sparkle green nail polish. Tres chic.
    I love your pretty cupcake. Although I couldn’t eat one (I’d never be satisfied, and I’d want to binge), I do have a very cute photograph from1986 where I am eating a “Cookie Monster” cupcake, and blue icing appears all over my mouth. So very cute. This made me think of that moment. 😀

Leave a Reply

